Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 2, 2013, 08:30 PM   #1
Solenz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: U.S.A
iOS 7 Beta 2 Reboot Loop

Is anyone getting reboot loops on iOS 7 beta 2? I tried it on my iPhone 4 and 4S and both of them have iOS 7 beta 2 clean installed. After turning them on and off they get stuck in a reboot loop. They are both registered in the iPhone Developer Program. It was working perfectly fine yesterday. Any fixes? Thanks.
Solenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 08:36 PM   #2
nanolife
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pasadena
Send a message via ICQ to nanolife Send a message via Skype™ to nanolife
The only fix I found for that was downgrading to IOS 6.
__________________
☣ rMBP 2.6/16/512
☢ iPhone 5s / 5 / 4S / 4 / 3gs
☢ iPad Air / 4 / 2

"You can only get smarter by playing a smarter opponent."
nanolife is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 08:38 PM   #3
frankdogg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
i had the same prob. but the phone would make its way to the lock screen then reloop. the way i got out of it was by pressing the lock button before it would loop again.
frankdogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 09:34 PM   #4
Solenz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: U.S.A
I wonder why though? It was working fine since beta 1 and now, just today. It chooses to reboot loop me? I know it's a beta but it was working perfectly fine before. I could reboot at will and hard reset without any problems. Same for beta 2 until today. Only today, now both of my devices get into reboot loops even after a clean install. I hope this gets fixed in beta 3. Had to downgrade back to iOS 6. The iOS 7 look grew on me already. I miss the green buttons and the flat interface!
Solenz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 09:57 PM   #5
cdcrowell
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: nashville,tn
my ipad and iphone 5 both have done this a couple of times.on my iphone i just put beta 1 back on it until 3 drops.so far so good
__________________
(Space Gray) iPhone 5s 32gb,(white) iPad 2 32gb (gave to wife), (slate)iPad mini lte 32gb
cdcrowell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 10:54 PM   #6
Solenz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: U.S.A
Thanks for the feedback guys. Can I ask that this thread be updated with more feedback from other users? Thanks. Let's see if other users get this reboot loop until beta 3.
Solenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 03:24 AM   #7
Solenz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: U.S.A
When beta 3 drops, can someone please add the results to this thread like, if the reboot loops stopped? Thanks. Try a hard reset and a normal power on/off cycle. I would do it myself but the day the beta drops I'm off to somewhere without wifi!
Solenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 04:03 AM   #8
BlankStar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Belgium
This is the 5th time I'm posting the solution. People are obviously to lazy to do a search on the forum before posting a new topic.

- Get to the latest 6.1.X for your device with all apps and settings in tact.
- make a back-up
- update to 7.0b1 (I repeat update as in: not restore)
- on the iDevice go to settings > General and reset the settings. (not data; just settings)
This will NOT reset the settings of your apps, just the iPhone settings like the wallpaper and ringtones, etc.
- turn off "Find my iPhone"
- update to 7.0b2 OTA or update via iTunes

All done

Last edited by BlankStar; Jul 3, 2013 at 04:12 AM. Reason: typo
BlankStar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 02:28 PM   #9
Solenz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: U.S.A
Exclamation

Can anyone test BlankStar's solution? Like I said, I don't have internet at the place I'm going to. Thanks again. ATM I'm downgraded at 6.1.3 on my 4s so Step 1 is already done.

----------

I did a forum search (sorry BlankStar, forgot about that function) and I found this thread. They are having the same issues as me. Can anyone verify their solution? Thanks. It appears that they found the culprit for the reboot loops.
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...+7+reboot+loop
Solenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 04:51 PM   #10
cdcrowell
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: nashville,tn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solenz View Post
Can anyone test BlankStar's solution? Like I said, I don't have internet at the place I'm going to. Thanks again. ATM I'm downgraded at 6.1.3 on my 4s so Step 1 is already done.

----------

I did a forum search (sorry BlankStar, forgot about that function) and I found this thread. They are having the same issues as me. Can anyone verify their solution? Thanks. It appears that they found the culprit for the reboot loops.
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...+7+reboot+loop
tried bankstars solution and it still reboot loops. if anything freezes on screen and you reboot it, it will go into loop with restore the only option.ive went back to beta 1 for now
__________________
(Space Gray) iPhone 5s 32gb,(white) iPad 2 32gb (gave to wife), (slate)iPad mini lte 32gb
cdcrowell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 05:19 PM   #11
nanolife
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pasadena
Send a message via ICQ to nanolife Send a message via Skype™ to nanolife
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlankStar View Post
This is the 5th time I'm posting the solution. People are obviously to lazy to do a search on the forum before posting a new topic.

- Get to the latest 6.1.X for your device with all apps and settings in tact.
- make a back-up
- update to 7.0b1 (I repeat update as in: not restore)
- on the iDevice go to settings > General and reset the settings. (not data; just settings)
This will NOT reset the settings of your apps, just the iPhone settings like the wallpaper and ringtones, etc.
- turn off "Find my iPhone"
- update to 7.0b2 OTA or update via iTunes

All done
Cool down man, your "solution" obviously doesn't apply as a rule so why don't you just cool down a bit and move on to the next thread?

I've tried this "solution" as well as others users here and doesn't work. It may work for you and a few others but as I said, it doesn't apply as a rule or solution.

Anyway... OP, you can try DFU restoring your device and reinstalling Beta 2. It worked for me, no more boot loop.
__________________
☣ rMBP 2.6/16/512
☢ iPhone 5s / 5 / 4S / 4 / 3gs
☢ iPad Air / 4 / 2

"You can only get smarter by playing a smarter opponent."
nanolife is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 05:20 PM   #12
thegrants82
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Huntsville
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlankStar View Post
This is the 5th time I'm posting the solution. People are obviously to lazy to do a search on the forum before posting a new topic.

- Get to the latest 6.1.X for your device with all apps and settings in tact.
- make a back-up
- update to 7.0b1 (I repeat update as in: not restore)
- on the iDevice go to settings > General and reset the settings. (not data; just settings)
This will NOT reset the settings of your apps, just the iPhone settings like the wallpaper and ringtones, etc.
- turn off "Find my iPhone"
- update to 7.0b2 OTA or update via iTunes

All done
Now this is funny....
thegrants82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 05:48 PM   #13
Solenz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: U.S.A
@nanolife,
I already tried that. It boot looped on the second reboot. On this link: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1602855&highlight=ios+7+reboot+loop
it says that time zone settings might be the culprit. Can anyone test? Thanks. It's another macrumors thread.

Last edited by Solenz; Jul 3, 2013 at 05:49 PM. Reason: Added Link
Solenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 05:48 PM   #14
Bobajobbob
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
You can go direct from 6.1.4 to beta 2. You don't have to install beta 1 first. Just reset all setting and turn off find my iPhone first and then perform an update/install. Worked for me.
Bobajobbob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 11:06 PM   #15
cdcrowell
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: nashville,tn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobajobbob View Post
You can go direct from 6.1.4 to beta 2. You don't have to install beta 1 first. Just reset all setting and turn off find my iPhone first and then perform an update/install. Worked for me.
I tried that also and still if your screen ever freezes and you reboot it does nothing but loop I'm stating on beta 1 until 3 comes out
cdcrowell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2013, 07:04 AM   #16
BlankStar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Belgium
Quote:
Originally Posted by nanolife View Post
Cool down man, your "solution" obviously doesn't apply as a rule so why don't you just cool down a bit and move on to the next thread?

I've tried this "solution" as well as others users here and doesn't work. It may work for you and a few others but as I said, it doesn't apply as a rule or solution.

Anyway... OP, you can try DFU restoring your device and reinstalling Beta 2. It worked for me, no more boot loop.
Well, then people should start their topic with: "i found this solution in topic X but doesn't work for me" or post in that topic. There are at least 9 topics concerning the reboot loop when upgrading to beta 2.

Now there are 9 topics like this with the boot loop as subject. Would be nice if people used the search function and everyone post in one topic.

Anyhow, beta 3 is here. So /care on the boot loop of beta 2.
BlankStar is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: reboot loops on iphone 5s iOS 7.1 beta 2 lancia832 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Jan 15, 2014 09:39 AM
Reboot loop with iOS 7 GM on dev iPhone 4 tipp iOS 7 1 Sep 12, 2013 03:14 PM
iPhone: iOS 7 Beta 4 Reboot Loop ASmitty iOS 7 2 Aug 5, 2013 01:53 PM
IOS 7 Beta 2 OTA Failing (block and loop) Be. iOS 7 7 Jul 3, 2013 04:12 AM
iOS Beta 6 Boot Loop jmantn iOS 6 0 Jun 16, 2012 03:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC