Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 29, 2010, 11:28 PM   #1
xXEvanatorXX
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Alaska
Can I put my normal AT&T sim card in an iphone?

A friend gave me his old 3Gs and I want to put my sim card from my HTC Tilt into it. The Tilts data plan is turned off. If i put the card into the iPhone what will happen? Will AT&T start charging me data fees? Or upgrade me to a two year plan?

Thanks.
__________________
750 gig Mac mini 4 gig ram+750 gig mini stack
xXEvanatorXX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2010, 11:30 PM   #2
184550
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
I believe that you'll get a text informing you that your plan has been upgraded or otherwise changed to an iPhone data plan. It'll tell you to contact ATT for more information.
184550 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2010, 12:53 AM   #3
SpaceKitty
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanMuir View Post
I believe that you'll get a text informing you that your plan has been upgraded or otherwise changed to an iPhone data plan. It'll tell you to contact ATT for more information.
This is correct. AT&T doesn't give warnings anymore. They will automatically upgrade a user to an official iPhone data plan or add one if there is no data plan.
SpaceKitty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2010, 07:56 AM   #4
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
If you want to avoid a forced data plan, go with AT&T's pay as you go.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2008 MBP 17" 2.5 GHz Penryn, 4GB RAM, 250GB HD 5400 rpm, 1920x1200 matte LED
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2010, 07:19 PM   #5
ibarnett
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanMuir View Post
I believe that you'll get a text informing you that your plan has been upgraded or otherwise changed to an iPhone data plan. It'll tell you to contact ATT for more information.
So they know it's am iPhone?
Even if you don't tell them the EMEI?
I'm interested as I will be visiting USA with an unlocked iPhone 4 & was planing to use prepaid(pay as you go) & give EMEI from another phone as I heard that if you try to add data on a GoPhone sim it will be denied once they know it's an iPhone!
This leaves no 3G companies for visitors, I would have to go with T-Mobile.
ibarnett is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2010, 08:12 PM   #6
chargit
macrumors 6502a
 
chargit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Evansville, In
well no matter what they CANNOT force you into a 2 year plan. they can put data on your plan but if you do not buy a phone from them or apple the 2 years is out the window! but its worth $15 unless you have 5 phones on your account like I do......
__________________
iUnlock All Cell Phones
iClean Verizon ESN's
chargit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2010, 08:16 PM   #7
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpaceKitty View Post
This is correct. AT&T doesn't give warnings anymore. They will automatically upgrade a user to an official iPhone data plan or add one if there is no data plan.
Yes.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Can an olda, unactivated at&t sim card activate an Iphone 3gs running 4.0.1 fluffyrhinos Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Nov 22, 2012 03:03 PM
Still confused...Can I use a iPad 3G Sim Card on an iPhone 4? WiiDSmoker iPad 4 Dec 9, 2010 11:49 AM
Can I transfer my iPad Micro SIM number to an iPhone Micro SIM? iSamurai iPhone 3 Aug 20, 2010 02:20 PM
Putting a rogers sim card in an iPhone, JR7361 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Mar 29, 2009 04:10 PM
is it possible to use any O2 sim card in an iphone? h2009 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Dec 6, 2008 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC