Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 30, 2010, 01:32 AM   #1
bpl323
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Moving CS5 Applications to another folder?

Quick CS5 question... can I move all of the apps into a different folder? Not a fan of having a dozen Adobe application folders at the top of my main Applications folder.
bpl323 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 01:35 AM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
I recently did that and it seemed to work, but I returned to status quo, as some applications might get confused, if they are not in the Applications folder.

But I get what you mean, Adobe takes up quite a lot of visual real estate for their applications.

Why don't they have one Adobe folder where all that stuff goes into?
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 01:49 AM   #3
FourCandles
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England
Not tried it, but I think it may cause problems with Auto-update (or whatever the Adobe updater is called now), as it may expect to find apps in the default location.

And, ironically, there is a folder within my Applications folder just called "Adobe", but it currently just contains Adobe Help, AdobePatchFiles and Flash Player.
FourCandles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 02:33 AM   #4
bpl323
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
It wouldn't be that hard for them to put everything in that Adobe folder, no?

(Ironically enough, this is the opposite problem I have with iWork installing into a folder instead of straight into the Applications folder)
bpl323 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:16 AM   #5
sTEALtooth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Choose different on install

Unfortunately, reinstalling is the best option for this. I moved my CS3 apps into the Adobe folder and got the "application has moved" error every time I opened an app, but when I installed CS6 on my laptop, I remembered to choose a different folder and it worked fine.
sTEALtooth is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Utilities Folder missing from Applications Dock Folder stonewall777 Mac Basics and Help 2 Jan 20, 2014 12:52 PM
Help with moving applications hollywood334 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Jun 3, 2013 01:59 PM
Moving files/applications/etc. keithp57 iMac 2 Dec 17, 2012 05:46 PM
moving my applications folder in itunes Dive-P Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Aug 24, 2012 12:58 PM
moving a folder from applications to HD Rhetro MacBook Pro 0 Jul 23, 2012 02:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC