Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 5, 2010, 06:53 PM   #1
troymdaniels
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Resolution changes in Apple TV

Seems like SD and HD previews keep switching resolution? The little apple logo in the bottom right of the screen is all over the place and sometimes barely visible? I don't see any video settings under audio/video either? What gives?
troymdaniels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2010, 07:51 PM   #2
iggypod
macrumors 6502a
 
iggypod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Same here. We've noticed this too. If we re-plug in the HDMI cable it fixes it, but it is annoying.
__________________
 MBP |  iPhone |  iPad |  tv
iggypod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2010, 03:46 AM   #3
Frosticus
macrumors 6502a
 
Frosticus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, UK
Same here, although only very occasionally - switches to 480p (according to my TV).. think it's a HDMI issue. Seems to have settled down a bit now though..
__________________
iPhone 5S 32GB |iPad (3rd gen.) 4G 32GB | 27" iMac 2.7GHz Core i5 | Apple TV 2 | iPod Nano 8GB
Frosticus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2010, 09:46 AM   #4
troymdaniels
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I'm running an Onkyo receiver that has had other compatibility issues w/ boxes. Are any of you using a receiver or are you experiencing this direct to the TV? It is bothering me to the point of a trip to the Apple store. It seems completely random on which it chooses each time.
troymdaniels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 06:54 AM   #5
iggypod
macrumors 6502a
 
iggypod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
We have an LG receiver to a LG 55 LED" TV. It has popped down to 420 twice so far, both of which were resolved by replugging in the HDMI cable. It hasn't happened since I last posted.
__________________
 MBP |  iPhone |  iPad |  tv
iggypod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 08:18 PM   #6
jeb2u
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I had the same problem last night. It mysteriously popped down to 480. I eventually had to reset it. I hope this is not a recurring problem.
jeb2u is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 08:22 AM   #7
iggypod
macrumors 6502a
 
iggypod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Same here. Again. I've tried playing with sleep settings but that apparently doesn't help. Either a reset or a restart fixes it. Annoying.
__________________
 MBP |  iPhone |  iPad |  tv
iggypod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 02:28 PM   #8
troymdaniels
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
i noticed a few support posts about this issue with no solution yet. Keep us posted if you find anything. jeb2u i saw you had posted the question on apple support as well. This is annoying. I can't wait to hear why it is ultimately my fault or my old TV's fault or my routers fault or my HDMI cables fault or any of the numerous reasons Apple usually tells me their product isnt working right. The old ipad dropping signal issue has left me a bitter man.
troymdaniels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 03:36 PM   #9
jeb2u
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Just got off the phone with AppleCare. The senior tech I spoke with said he had personally heard of one other incident in which this happened. He told me to check my HDMI cable (which has always worked before). He said the ATV2 only outputs at 720, so he wasn't sure what would cause it to output at a different resolution. He said if it happens a second time I should contact Apple and they'll replace it.

In other words, I'm too confident Apple knows exactly what the problems is, but the impression I got was that they believe it may be a hardware issue if they're going to replace the unit. I told him that I had read on the internet (MacRumors and elsewhere) of several other people having the same problem. If it happens a second time I do plan on getting a replacement ATV2 in case it is a hardware issue.
jeb2u is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2010, 09:52 AM   #10
josejrp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Just happened to us too... Apple TV is stuck at 480p,while it had worked fine for a few days. Turning off the AV receiver and putting the Apple TV to sleep doesn't make a difference.
josejrp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2010, 07:55 PM   #11
awdms6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I just hooked up my new Apple TV and I occasionally have the same issue. I've tried and old and new HDMI cables.

I do have mine running through my Denon AVR-2310CI receiver but I haven't tried it directly to the TV.

I hope they figure this out because it is definitely annoying.
awdms6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple's perfect iPhone 6 resolution! iCore24 iPhone 71 Apr 13, 2014 04:53 PM
iPad: Will Apple increase the resolution of the 9.7-in iPad in near future? HarryWarden iPad 9 Oct 3, 2013 10:42 AM
Why doesn't Apple list the true max resolution of the 15" rMBP? HawaiiMacAddict MacBook Pro 8 Jun 4, 2013 04:55 PM
iPhone: Adjusting the screen resolution. How should Apple act? Adutrumque iOS 6 0 Oct 11, 2012 01:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC