Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2010, 01:07 PM   #1
melodosgr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
How upgrade Xcode + iOS SDK?

Hello everyone.

I was quite astonished that there is not enough consolidation to Xcode in order to allow an update feauture which will get me from Xcode 3.2.2 to 3.2.4 + iOS sdk 4.1 from 3.x.x

Can someone tell me how to get through the upgrade session? I wish to delete all the prior xcode 3.2.2 folders on my mac as i'm running on low disk space but i thought that the 4.1 replaces the old files which is apparently not? I'm really confused..

Should i delete all the files in the developer folder??

Thanks
melodosgr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 03:40 PM   #2
Comrade Yeti
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
sudo <Xcode>/Library/uninstall-devtools --mode=all

<Xcode> is your SDK install directory (normally /Developer).

Then install the new version.
Comrade Yeti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 03:44 PM   #3
melodosgr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Comrade Yeti View Post
sudo <Xcode>/Library/uninstall-devtools --mode=all

<Xcode> is your SDK install directory (normally /Developer).

Then install the new version.
Thanks, thats what i did. Hopefully Apple will implement an update feature within xcode. I would also like to see a more integrated environment like all the other IDEs and not separated tools: (Interface Builder, Xcode, Iphone Simulator).
melodosgr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 03:46 PM   #4
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
Quote:
Originally Posted by melodosgr View Post
I would also like to see a more integrated environment like all the other IDEs and not separated tools: (Interface Builder, Xcode, Iphone Simulator).
You will, in Xcode 4.
__________________
dejo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 03:50 PM   #5
melodosgr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejo View Post
You will, in Xcode 4.
awesome!

http://developer.apple.com/technolog...whats-new.html

ps. That "time-machine like" source code version control is $@$@$@@!!!
melodosgr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 04:47 PM   #6
cnstoll
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Just out of curiosity, is there anything wrong with just installing a new version (say 3.2.5...) over the current version without first uninstalling it?

I've been wondering the same thing, and it's part of why I haven't installed the new version to test 4.2 features yet.

On the same token, if you do install 3.2.5 beta will you still be able to compile for iOS 4.1 at all? Or does that get replaced by 4.2?
cnstoll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 05:55 PM   #7
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnstoll View Post
Just out of curiosity, is there anything wrong with just installing a new version (say 3.2.5...) over the current version without first uninstalling it?
I've done it a ton of times and never had any issues. But I always keep betas separate from production versions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cnstoll View Post
On the same token, if you do install 3.2.5 beta will you still be able to compile for iOS 4.1 at all? Or does that get replaced by 4.2?
You can't set your Base SDK to 4.1 but you can still set your "iOS Deployment Target" to as far back as 3.0.

Anyways, Apple recommends that you install betas in a separate directory. You are usually not allowed to submit apps compiled with the beta SDK.
__________________
dejo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 10:56 PM   #8
SledgeHammer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: India
But can we install a stable version over another already installed stable version ?
SledgeHammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 11:10 PM   #9
lloyddean
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Des Moines, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by SledgeHammer View Post
But can we install a stable version over another already installed stable version ?
I've read nothing in the last couple of years that indicates not to. And have been doing just that myself with no known consequences.
lloyddean is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2010, 01:17 PM   #10
vanylapep
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
not knowing the consequence does it mean there is no consequence?
vanylapep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2010, 02:02 PM   #11
firewood
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
I just rename the /Developer directory to /Developer_(old_version_number) and install the latest release in /Developer and the latest beta in /Developer_beta.
firewood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2011, 09:00 PM   #12
silverhand31
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
sorry about digging grave
I just notice that there are a new update to Xcode 4.2 -> 4.2.1.
So the apple want me to download the whole install file again(~2g).
Is it always like this, can I personal update by using patch?
I
silverhand31 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2011, 09:18 PM   #13
jiminaus
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sydney
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverhand31 View Post
So the apple want me to download the whole install file again(~2g).
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverhand31 View Post
Is it always like this
Yes
jiminaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2011, 09:52 PM   #14
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jiminaus View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverhand31 View Post
Is it always like this
Yes
Well... They have demonstrated some delta updates...

http://www.macrumors.com/2011/08/04/...n-alert-issue/

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Tags
sdk, xcode

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Device upgrade for new iOS and Xcode question. KarlJay iPhone/iPad Programming 8 Jul 25, 2013 05:58 AM
iPhone: If I develop for iOS 7 in Xcode 5, will the app work for iOS 6? gamerw00t iOS 7 1 Jun 13, 2013 01:04 PM
Sending SMS in ios sdk spilakalb iPhone/iPad Programming 3 Sep 25, 2012 12:08 PM
Standard iOS UI included in SDK? Jorohaco iPhone/iPad Programming 4 Jul 27, 2012 02:10 PM
SDK for nofications apps in ios 6? kristoffer4 iOS 6 0 Jun 11, 2012 04:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC