Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 13, 2010, 09:19 AM   #1
cliko
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Question "Unable to connect to network"

Every now and again, once every few months or so, my Time machine doesn't back up. Usually, unplugging my Airport Extreme and replugging fixes it just fine. Well, it fixed it, but ever since then my iPod touch 4g and my friend's iPhone 4 don't connect. I have tried:

Resetting the network settings
Re configuring the Airport Extreme
And a whole lot of other stuff that I can't remember because I'm tired.

The strange thing is that my Macbook pro can connect.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

PS on my Nintendo Wii the network doesn't show up at all... weird...
PPS My iPod touch is jailbroken but the iPhone isn't
PPPS dont you hate it when people keep writing more 'PS's' at the end of their posts?
cliko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 10:28 AM   #2
Mr Slippy IV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
What's your password configuration?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Early 2011 2.2 GHz
iPhone 4 32GB Black (CDMA)
Mr Slippy IV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 10:30 AM   #3
cliko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
WPA/WPA2 personal. i think thats what you mean, right?
cliko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 07:57 PM   #4
Mr Slippy IV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliko View Post
WPA/WPA2 personal. i think thats what you mean, right?
Yes. Sure is. That's odd, it should be working. I'll do some research and see what I can tell you.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Early 2011 2.2 GHz
iPhone 4 32GB Black (CDMA)
Mr Slippy IV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 09:56 PM   #5
cliko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Thanks Mr S
cliko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 12:52 AM   #6
Mr Slippy IV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Step one since I just realized you have an AirPort:

Update its firmware.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Early 2011 2.2 GHz
iPhone 4 32GB Black (CDMA)
Mr Slippy IV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 12:56 AM   #7
cliko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
OK, I went to Software Updates, it said there are no updates available.
cliko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 12:12 PM   #8
Mr Slippy IV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
The first thing to try is to assign each device an IP address from http://192.168.0.1

After that, set up each device manually using the same IP addresses you put in the modem config. Also, forward the following ports on each IP address. This should increase connectivity.

88 UDP
3074 UDP
3074 TCP

Let me know how it works!
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Early 2011 2.2 GHz
iPhone 4 32GB Black (CDMA)
Mr Slippy IV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 05:10 AM   #9
cliko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
I'm not sure how to do that, could you please walk me through it? You've been a great help so far, thanks!
cliko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 06:55 PM   #10
Mr Slippy IV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Yes, but this will involve a little bit of back and forth. Visit my link first and look for a port forwarding settings tab.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Early 2011 2.2 GHz
iPhone 4 32GB Black (CDMA)
Mr Slippy IV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 11:11 PM   #11
cliko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
I clicked it and it said:

Safari can’t open the page “http://192.168.0.1/” because Safari can’t connect to the server “192.168.0.1”.

Hmmm.
cliko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 05:54 PM   #12
Mr Slippy IV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliko View Post
I clicked it and it said:

Safari can’t open the page “http://192.168.0.1/” because Safari can’t connect to the server “192.168.0.1”.

Hmmm.
That's very odd. What kind of modem (not router) do you have?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Early 2011 2.2 GHz
iPhone 4 32GB Black (CDMA)
Mr Slippy IV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 08:01 PM   #13
cliko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
The only box that I use to connect to the internet, besides my Airport Extreme, is a router. It's a D-Link DSL-504T ADSL2+, if that helps.
cliko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 09:48 PM   #14
Mr Slippy IV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliko View Post
The only box that I use to connect to the internet, besides my Airport Extreme, is a router. It's a D-Link DSL-504T ADSL2+, if that helps.
That would indicate that one of your routers is also functioning as a modem. Which is directly connected to the internet, and which is bridging the signal?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Early 2011 2.2 GHz
iPhone 4 32GB Black (CDMA)
Mr Slippy IV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 09:53 PM   #15
cliko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
I only have one router, the D-Link one.
Geez I feel like such a n00b... lol
cliko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2010, 04:57 PM   #16
Mr Slippy IV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliko View Post
I only have one router, the D-Link one.
Geez I feel like such a n00b... lol
I'm pretty sure you just said you have an Airport Extreme.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Early 2011 2.2 GHz
iPhone 4 32GB Black (CDMA)
Mr Slippy IV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2010, 10:28 PM   #17
cliko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
An airport is a router? See, I'm a noob . Anyway, the D-link one is connected straight to the internet, which then goes to the Airport.
cliko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2010, 10:02 PM   #18
cliko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
If anyone wants to know, about a week after my last post the wifi just started working again with no warning. Anyway, today i updated the firmware for the airport and now it has stopped working again. I guess I will just wait for a few weeks again :/
cliko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2010, 01:53 PM   #19
Mr Slippy IV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliko View Post
An airport is a router? See, I'm a noob . Anyway, the D-link one is connected straight to the internet, which then goes to the Airport.
Yes. Go to AirPort Utility. What "mode" is the extreme in?

(Create a new Wireless Network, etc.)
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Early 2011 2.2 GHz
iPhone 4 32GB Black (CDMA)
Mr Slippy IV is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Tags
airport extreme, iphone, ipod touch, macbook pro, time machine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Unable to connect to Steam network" gohome190 Mac and PC Games 72 Feb 25, 2014 10:24 PM
Why does Mac OS say 3 users are connected to my shares? I'm the only one connected? alexreich Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 7 Oct 2, 2011 02:16 PM
"Unable to Connect To Cellular Network" scouser75 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Jun 19, 2009 05:18 PM
"Unable to Connect to the Network _____" cheekybobcat iPod touch 0 Jan 15, 2008 08:57 PM
Compressor: "Unable to connect to background process." thvudragon Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Sep 16, 2005 11:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC