Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 19, 2010, 03:19 AM   #1
joeblogg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
iPhone sync not working

Hi,

Today I purchased a second-hand iPhone 3G 16GB. I already had an iPod Touch and had many songs and apps on my iTunes.

Anyway, I plug my iPhone in and firstly try to restore it which doesn't work. Then I try and sync it which "works" but none of my existing apps and songs (which I had on my iPod touch) copied over.

In the "devices" section of my iTunes my iPhone is listed and underneath where it says the name of my iPhone there are three subsections "Music", "Movies" & "TV Shows" but no "Apps" listing. Due to there being a "Music" subsection in the devices section I was able to manually copy my songs from the "Music" subsection of the "Library" section. But because there is no "Apps" subsection in "Devices" I can't copy my apps manually like I did with my songs.

Sorry about my post being long but hopefully someone can help. Most of my apps were free so I can download them again but I am not so keen on the hastle of doing all of that.
joeblogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2010, 09:44 AM   #2
PsstGreek
macrumors 68040
 
PsstGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeblogg View Post
Hi,

Today I purchased a second-hand iPhone 3G 16GB. I already had an iPod Touch and had many songs and apps on my iTunes.

Anyway, I plug my iPhone in and firstly try to restore it which doesn't work. Then I try and sync it which "works" but none of my existing apps and songs (which I had on my iPod touch) copied over.

In the "devices" section of my iTunes my iPhone is listed and underneath where it says the name of my iPhone there are three subsections "Music", "Movies" & "TV Shows" but no "Apps" listing. Due to there being a "Music" subsection in the devices section I was able to manually copy my songs from the "Music" subsection of the "Library" section. But because there is no "Apps" subsection in "Devices" I can't copy my apps manually like I did with my songs.

Sorry about my post being long but hopefully someone can help. Most of my apps were free so I can download them again but I am not so keen on the hastle of doing all of that.

Put the iPhone in DFU mode and restore. Should fix your issues.
__________________
iMac + iPhone 6 (4.7) + rMini
PsstGreek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2010, 03:57 PM   #3
joeblogg
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
I just did that but I still get the same error message. When I put my iPhone into DFU mode the Apple logo briefly appeared - does that mean it didn't properly enter DFU mode? I watched a video online showing you how to put your iPhone into DFU mode and the screen stayed blank for the whole time.

Here is the error message I always get when I try and restore my iPhone (with or without DFU mode).


Last edited by joeblogg; Nov 19, 2010 at 04:14 PM.
joeblogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2010, 07:15 PM   #4
joeblogg
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Does anyone know if the problem will be fixed when Apple releases it's next iPhone operating software and I update it on my iPhone?

Or will I just have to live with the fact that I can't restore my iPhone?
joeblogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2010, 01:01 AM   #5
Anapplecsr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
As for the syncing issue you just click on the name of your iphone under devices and that will take you to the summary page . If you look further up on the page you will see the tabs summary/info/apps/ ect. You would just click on the apps tab, choose the option to sync apps and choose the apps u wanna sync.

As for other issue. Why are you trying to restore?

As for connection issue, that has nothing to do with the iphone. Disable any anti-virus/firewalls u have running. Reset modem/router. Try bypassing router completely and connect to modem driectly. Uninstall/reinstall itunes. Try other pc. Try someone elses pc with a different internet connection. Go to an apple store. Freak out. Die.
Anapplecsr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 05:20 AM   #6
joeblogg
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Thanks, I've now successfully been able to sync my apps onto my iPhone.

I'm trying to restore my iPhone because I bought it second-hand and jailbroken. I would like my iPhone to not be jailbroken.

I'm not sure why I'm not able to restore my iPhone or upgrade the operating software. I upgraded my operating software on my iPod Touch numerous months ago with the same PC and the same iTunes (I never uninstalled and reinstalled iTunes) but now I'm not able to upgrade the iOS on both my iPod Touch and my iPhone so it must be a problem with my iTunes or something. Just not sure why it's not working now.

Will reinstalling my iTunes delete my library? I know I can just sync the reinstalled version of iTunes with my iPhone anyway.
joeblogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 07:22 AM   #7
markphone
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Smile Unlock iPhone

You must contact to the officials of iphone appliances or directly go to the Show room or service center and remember one thing warranty voids if you try to open it so never do such thing.
markphone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 08:50 AM   #8
-aggie-
macrumors Demi-God
 
-aggie-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Where bunnies are welcome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by markphone View Post
You must contact to the officials of iphone appliances or directly go to the Show room or service center and remember one thing warranty voids if you try to open it so never do such thing.
Uh, yeah.
__________________
Google with site:macrumors.com as a parameter.
DFU Mode
-aggie- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 10:59 AM   #9
CSMchris376
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Illinois
The error that you posted is one that is generally received if there is a problem with Windows security software. Anti-virus and firewall software will interfere with the connection if it takes too much time and will result in that timeout.

If you are using a Windows computer, disable the firewall, anti-virus and any other security software (i.e. anti-malware, etc.) that you are using and try again.

See if that helps. One other issue that I have seen on another site is that a security software called Kaspersky will really interfere with downloads of Apple software and it needs to be disabled to accomplish it.
CSMchris376 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2010, 01:33 AM   #10
joeblogg
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Interesting that, thanks CSMchris376. I currently have Kaspersky on my computer. I will try and restore my iPhone with Kaspersky removed from my computer.
joeblogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WiFi Sync Not Working iOS7, Working iOS6 kramden88 iOS 7 0 Jan 2, 2014 03:45 PM
Wifi sync not working if iPhone 5 is sleeping POX iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Mar 13, 2013 01:59 AM
iPhone 5 wifi sync not working jdaniel iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 8 Nov 23, 2012 06:50 PM
Resolved: Sync to iPhone not working jjk454ss iCloud and Apple Services 1 Aug 2, 2012 11:27 PM
Sync Notes with iPhone now not working with ML aircanman OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 6 Jul 26, 2012 08:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC