Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2010, 09:03 AM   #1
jowie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
Best replacement hard drive for Time Capsule

Hi all,

I'm thinking of upgrading my Time Capsule 500GB to 1TB and I'd like some recommendations on replacement drives. I've heard Western Digital do a 'green' low-power drive, but I think they're only 5400 rpm. I'd like something that is quiet, reliable and low-powered, but I don't want it to be any slower than the one I already have. I'd prefer WD or Seagate because I've always found them to be the most reliable...

Any suggestions greatly appreciated, thanks!

:-Joe

PS I'm in the UK so need a product available over here...
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 09:59 AM   #2
Dolorian
macrumors 65816
 
Dolorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
I recently got the WD MyBook for Mac of 1TB and I could easily set it up with Time Machine and it performed the long initial backup with no problem and has been doing the hourly backups fine since then. I would recommend this one.
Dolorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 10:08 AM   #3
jowie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
Thanks, but I'm talking about the Time Capsule so I'm looking for an internal hard drive... Hopefully a slightly quieter one...
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 10:17 AM   #4
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowie View Post
Thanks, but I'm talking about the Time Capsule so I'm looking for an internal hard drive... Hopefully a slightly quieter one...
Be careful with the WD drives. Most recent large ones are "Advanced Format" drives and may not be happy in an older Time Capsule.

I moved from Time Capsule to an HP Mediasmart so I've been paying some attention to the drives for that. Hitachi's GP drives (e.g. the 7K1000) are always well recommended as are the Samsung F1/F2/F3/F4 drives (though consensus says the Sammys are louder).

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2010, 10:51 AM   #5
jowie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
I moved from Time Capsule to an HP Mediasmart so I've been paying some attention to the drives for that. Hitachi's GP drives (e.g. the 7K1000) are always well recommended as are the Samsung F1/F2/F3/F4 drives (though consensus says the Sammys are louder).
Thanks for the advice... I'm happy to steer clear of WD if they're not compatible. But I would prefer something that was quieter not louder. Will look into the ones you mentioned.

Are there any good online articles about this? I should look on Macworld...

Thanks

:-Joe
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2010, 07:21 PM   #6
Brian33
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA (Virginia)
By my experience, I'd say get a WD Green drive.

I have a 1st gen 500 GB Time Capsule, purchased in May 2008. A month ago I upgraded the internal drive to a 2 TB WD Caviar Green "advanced format" drive (model WD20EARS).

The result has been excellent: *much, much* quieter than the Seagate drive that was in there. I've been extremely pleased with it. Yes, it is a 5400 rpm drive, but I can't tell any performance difference. I may be wrong but I don't think drive is the limiting factor for backup speed to the TC.

It was an easy upgrade; I followed the directions I found here: http://www.applefritter.com/node/23907 (They also report a good experience with a WD Green drive.)

Regards,
Brian33
__________________
Alu iMac: early '08 24" Core2Duo w/DIY Fusion Drive; MacBook Pro: early 2011 15" ; and a 1st-gen Time Capsule (working just fine, thank you)
Brian33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 08:36 AM   #7
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian33 View Post
I have a 1st gen 500 GB Time Capsule, purchased in May 2008. A month ago I upgraded the internal drive to a 2 TB WD Caviar Green "advanced format" drive (model WD20EARS).
That alleviates my concern above partially.

NOTE: The guide is for a EADS (pre "Advanced Format") drive and as such doesn't have to worry about 4K clusters. I highly recommend EADS and EACS drives if you can still find them.

Did you jumper your drive for "XP" compatibility or install it as-is? From what I've read on the WHS forums the performance issues when the drive is not "aligned" properly are easy to miss. The TC is so slow anyways that it may simply not matter.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 08:56 AM   #8
Brian33
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA (Virginia)
Oops -- you're right, the applefritter article describes using a EADS rather than the EARS drive I used.

No, I didn't set/remove any jumpers. My understanding was that any version of OS X (and presumably the "smarts" in the TC?) could handle advanced format drives.

My backups seem to be just as fast, but I haven't done any sort of testing.

Regarding performance, here's a quote from the above-mentioned applefritter article from Jan31, 2009:

"... in the case of Time Capsule's hard drive, speed doesn't matter at all, as any drive you put in it will never reach its maximum throughput. This is because all of the data in and out of Time Capsule goes through gigabit Ethernet, which has a theoretical maxmimum of 125MB per second. In reality, though, that figure is much lower. In a real-life test, I got a maximum of 12.58MB per second in a transfer of 700MB of data from my iMac to Time Capsule via gigabit Ethernet. Even the slowest SATA drive on the market won't impede backup performance..."
__________________
Alu iMac: early '08 24" Core2Duo w/DIY Fusion Drive; MacBook Pro: early 2011 15" ; and a 1st-gen Time Capsule (working just fine, thank you)
Brian33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 09:04 AM   #9
Brian33
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA (Virginia)
To the OP -- I might point out that Seagate also has a low-power drive that spins 5900 rpm, so that might be a good route if you're wary of the WD green drives. I definitely recommend a low-power drive because of the lower heat and lower noise advantages.

Here's an in-depth review of the Seagate Barracuda LP 2TB:
http://www.storagereview.com/seagate..._lp_2tb_review

And here's an equivalent review of the drive I used, the Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB (WD20EARS):
http://www.storagereview.com/western...eview_wd20ears

I decided from the reviews that they were pretty equivalent for TC use. I went with the WD because I had seen several reports of people putting a WD green into their Time Capsules. Not sure if I have the links anymore, though.

Regards,
Brian33
__________________
Alu iMac: early '08 24" Core2Duo w/DIY Fusion Drive; MacBook Pro: early 2011 15" ; and a 1st-gen Time Capsule (working just fine, thank you)
Brian33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 09:12 AM   #10
Moocher
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NE Atlanta area
I have a Time Capsule I bought shortly after they came out. A few months ago I replaced the drive with a WD green 1.5TB. I did not do anything fancy, just opened the TC, dropped in the new drive, and closed it up. No thought of jumpers or anything else. The TC is very quiet and cooler. There have been no problems. The green drives are quite fast enough for Time Machine. There are no advantages and several disadvantages to going for a higher rpm drive. I bought mine from Amazon, I think, because I get free shipping. Newegg was my first choice.

Moocher
Moocher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 12:42 PM   #11
jowie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
Thanks for all your help here!

I guess I'm just a little concerned about the speed thing, since Apple put a 7200 rpm drive in not a 5400 (mine is Early 2009 model), so you'd think it was for a reason...? Also I'm not so sure about the argument that the speed of a SATA drive is never going to be a bottleneck on a gigabit connection... The speed of a drive is more to do with how quickly it can randomly access different sectors, and so if it becomes fragmented (which I'd have thought is pretty likely when it becomes full and starts deleting old backups) then I'd suggest that a 5400 rpm drive could be significantly slower than a 7200 rpm one...

Remember that Time Machine deals with a lot of very small files as well as all the big ones, so I'd think there could quite easily be a bottleneck from 5400 rpm on a drive, even over a wireless connection (think of all the time Time Capsule & Time Machine take to prepare and clean-up backups, lots and lots of random access going on!)

Am I being overly cautious here?

Thanks all!
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 12:55 PM   #12
jowie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian33 View Post
I decided from the reviews that they were pretty equivalent for TC use. I went with the WD because I had seen several reports of people putting a WD green into their Time Capsules. Not sure if I have the links anymore, though.
Thanks! That's really good to hear that a lot of people have chosen the WD Green for their TCs. How long has yours been in your TC? Have you had any problems at all?
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 01:03 PM   #13
jowie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
I use Ebuyer here in the UK... Just noticed this:

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/168435

Caviar Green, 7200 rpm, but only 8MB cache... Compared with:

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/182435

5400 rpm, 64MB cache... I would've thought the larger cache would make much more difference for a slower drive... Didn't realise they did a 7200 rpm Green drive though!
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 01:37 PM   #14
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowie View Post
Also I'm not so sure about the argument that the speed of a SATA drive is never going to be a bottleneck on a gigabit connection...
The Time Capsule is just slow as a general purpose NAS, which is one of the reasons I switched over to the HP MediaSmart. The "brains" just can't pump the bits fast enough from the drive.

Under ideal situations, typical transfer rates over GbE should be ~3X faster than the max Brian33 reports ~40 MBps. I was never able to get that from the Time Capsule and have never seen reports of anything close to that. However, I have seen reports that mis-aligned WD "Advanced Format" drives will perform ~2 MBps which frankly sucks.

I finally took my dead Gen 1 TC500 apart. Now, considering what I will do to replace the dead PSU.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 02:01 PM   #15
jowie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
However, I have seen reports that mis-aligned WD "Advanced Format" drives will perform ~2 MBps which frankly sucks.
You seem very sceptical of Advanced Format drives. Do you have any links to any of the reports you're talking about?

Quote:
I finally took my dead Gen 1 TC500 apart. Now, considering what I will do to replace the dead PSU.
Doh... 1st Gen Time Capsules, not good :-( did Apple not offer a replacement?
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 02:26 PM   #16
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowie View Post
You seem very sceptical of Advanced Format drives. Do you have any links to any of the reports you're talking about?

Doh... 1st Gen Time Capsules, not good :-( did Apple not offer a replacement?
Again the root of my skepticism is with WHS and XP based OSes not liking these drives. Whatever OS the Time Capsule runs may be smart enough to handle it (or not). By some of the reports here it may be a non-issue. (EDIT: This from WDC seems to imply 10.4 and on "get it" and using GPT makes it OK http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc....p?p_faqid=5655 I can confirm that the drive I pulled from the TC used a GPT table).

Here's a link for WHS http://www.wegotserved.com/2010/01/3...s-home-server/ One guy was reporting drops below 1 MBps.

Apple offered a replacement, but they were unwilling to do anything to address my privacy concerns with the data on the drive in the dead system (no hard drive with my private data on it leaves my possession without being mechanically disabled or submitted to a data wipe). Ultimately they shipped me a refurb and let me keep the dead one too. I have not had a need to deploy the refurb yet and am extremely skeptical that it will last more than 18 months without modification. So, I'm playing with the dead one and keeping the refurb on the shelf.

I think using an internal PSU for the Time Capsule and TV 1.0 was a BAD idea. I owned both and they ran WAY too hot and really didn't need to. Hope they learned something for the latest Mac Minis. I would have bought one in a heartbeat if they hadn't internalized the PSU. They certainly have a winning design with TV black.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme

Last edited by balamw; Dec 6, 2010 at 02:33 PM.
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 03:09 PM   #17
jowie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
Whatever OS the Time Capsule runs may be smart enough to handle it (or not).
From what people are saying here it is? But I will see if I can find other people out there who have used it on the TC.

Quote:
I have not had a need to deploy the refurb yet and am extremely skeptical that it will last more than 18 months without modification. So, I'm playing with the dead one and keeping the refurb on the shelf.
If it helps any, I've had mine for getting on for 2 years now with no *touches wood* problems. ...There I just heard it whizz up for another backup...
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 03:46 PM   #18
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
If you only want 1 TB, you should consider a notebook drive. Otherwise the Time Bomb, er, I mean, Time Capsule might overheat just as fast.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 04:14 PM   #19
Brian33
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA (Virginia)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowie View Post
How long has yours been in your TC? Have you had any problems at all?
My 2 TB WD20EARS has been in the Time Capsule two months, I guess. Had zero problems, don't even remember how it got formatted (I think it asked me if I wanted it formatted, or something).

I didn't try to carry forward any of the old backups; after installing the new drive I just had Time Machine do a full backup again (over ethernet).
__________________
Alu iMac: early '08 24" Core2Duo w/DIY Fusion Drive; MacBook Pro: early 2011 15" ; and a 1st-gen Time Capsule (working just fine, thank you)

Last edited by Brian33; Dec 6, 2010 at 04:30 PM.
Brian33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 04:34 PM   #20
jowie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
If you only want 1 TB, you should consider a notebook drive. Otherwise the Time Bomb, er, I mean, Time Capsule might overheat just as fast.
To recap... I already have a Time Bomb/Capsule, so I'm just looking for a replacement drive.
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 04:47 PM   #21
jowie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian33 View Post
My 2 TB WD20EARS has been in the Time Capsule two months, I guess. Had zero problems, don't even remember how it got formatted (I think it asked me if I wanted it formatted, or something).

I didn't try to carry forward any of the old backups; after installing the new drive I just had Time Machine do a full backup again (over ethernet).
Sure... I'm hoping to 'clone' my existing TC drive when I take it out, so I can continue on with my backups (if possible). Hopefully that should be okay, I'll plug it into the PowerMac and use SuperDuper... Hope that the whole Advanced Format thing doesn't cause me any problems (I'm running Leopard so that should be okay!)
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 05:13 PM   #22
Brian33
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA (Virginia)
I am running Snow Leopard, and was when I made the TC disk change. I sorta wanted to start again because I had changed my iMac's name and it was still called by its old name on the backup disk. (I guess letting that bother me is a bit OCD or something!)

I must admit I'm always puzzled that people go to some trouble to preserve the old backup history. Why, I wonder? Afraid of a crash before you can make a new complete backup? Have important files that only exist on the backup volume? Think you might need an older version of a file? This I can kind of understand, I guess.
__________________
Alu iMac: early '08 24" Core2Duo w/DIY Fusion Drive; MacBook Pro: early 2011 15" ; and a 1st-gen Time Capsule (working just fine, thank you)
Brian33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 05:34 PM   #23
jowie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian33 View Post
I must admit I'm always puzzled that people go to some trouble to preserve the old backup history. Why, I wonder? Afraid of a crash before you can make a new complete backup? Have important files that only exist on the backup volume? Think you might need an older version of a file? This I can kind of understand, I guess.
LOL... Love the way you answered your own question

Yes... I'd like to know that the file I might have accidentally deleted a year ago might still be available. It's what I love about Time Machine, so it'd be a crying shame to have to start from scratch. I'm actually that crazy that I'm even using the backups I was before I bought the Time Capsule - Yes that's right - I set up each Mac in the house so it backed up to another Mac over the network
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 05:38 PM   #24
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowie View Post
To recap... I already have a Time Bomb/Capsule, so I'm just looking for a replacement drive.
If I understood correctly, you're looking to replace the TC's internal 500 gb 3.5" drive? If so, why not a 1 TB 2.5" drive? I'm sure it's a SATA interface. It'll certainly produce a lot less heat than a 3.5" drive.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2010, 05:45 PM   #25
jowie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London ish
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
If I understood correctly, you're looking to replace the TC's internal 500 gb 3.5" drive? If so, why not a 1 TB 2.5" drive? I'm sure it's a SATA interface. It'll certainly produce a lot less heat than a 3.5" drive.
Oh sorry, I see what you mean. I'd be worried about fitting it, to be honest. I'd much rather just take one drive out and replace it with another drive... I'm not that much of a tinkerer! Also 2.5" 1TB drives, are they as reliable as their 3.5" counterparts?
jowie is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AE+ hard drive...or Time capsule? Cbdboz Mac Peripherals 5 Mar 15, 2014 02:42 AM
Time Capsule hard drive question? Waynec Mac Peripherals 2 Nov 6, 2013 12:23 PM
Time Capsule Hard Drive ebev1234 Mac Peripherals 7 Oct 12, 2013 10:21 PM
Time Capsule vs External Hard Drive shahrezsyed OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Apr 12, 2013 04:38 PM
Time capsule hard drive - does it sleep? cappers Mac Peripherals 2 Apr 7, 2013 03:42 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC