Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 8, 2010, 03:22 PM   #1
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Does an HDMI splitter exist? No more HDMI ports on my TV : /

Hi guys,

I have a PS3, Cable Box, and Apple TV. All three use HDMI. My TV only has two HDMI ports and a DVI port so I thought I'd just buy a DVI to HDMI adapter to solve the problem. Anyway I forgot that DVI doesn't carry audio :/ (Too bad I forgot about that before the adapter arrived).

Anyway is there a way to hook up all three systems with only two HDMI and one DVI port? Any suggestions on how to do this?
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2010, 03:26 PM   #2
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Of course there are, here is one. I got one for my dad as Christmas present as his projector has only one HDMI port and DVI cuts some of the picture for some reason.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2010, 03:30 PM   #3
Queso
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
You're lucky. Our supposedly "HD Ready" TV only has one DVI port, meaning that we have to use optical audio cables into our surround sound system to get any audio at all
Queso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2010, 03:34 PM   #4
macman05
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrono1081 View Post
Hi guys,

I have a PS3, Cable Box, and Apple TV. All three use HDMI. My TV only has two HDMI ports and a DVI port so I thought I'd just buy a DVI to HDMI adapter to solve the problem. Anyway I forgot that DVI doesn't carry audio :/ (Too bad I forgot about that before the adapter arrived).

Anyway is there a way to hook up all three systems with only two HDMI and one DVI port? Any suggestions on how to do this?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ACAF5B1M3UCTZ

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...t=1#largeimage
__________________
2010  iMac 27" Quad Core i5 2.8GHz 8GB DDR3 HD5750 1TB Seagate ATV 3
macman05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2010, 05:19 PM   #5
jcschlic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
No offense, but why didn't you just google "HDMI splitter"?
jcschlic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 05:30 PM   #6
jimglidewell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcschlic View Post
No offense, but why didn't you just google "HDMI splitter"?
Well, if he had done so, he would have bought the wrong thing.

"Splitters" take one input and provide multiple outputs

"Switches" take multiple inputs and provide one output.

He wants a switch, in this case.

My advice is to get one that:

1) has at least one extra input
2) has an remote control

Monoprice is where I got my (older) HDMI switch.

This one looks like a good bet:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?p_id=5081
jimglidewell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2010, 06:39 AM   #7
jmmo20
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
just make sure the switch/hub you buy is HDCP-complaint otherwise the appleTV will refuse to play some rented content.

I bought the cheapest one from Amazon and it works just great.
jmmo20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2010, 06:30 AM   #8
chrono1081
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Thanks guys for all the suggestions! I could not re-find this thread for the life of me.

@jcschlic - None taken. I googled but came up with all sorts of stuff and checking ratings of things they were all getting 1 - 2 star ratings so I figured I may be looking at the wrong type of thing.
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody running Mac Mini to HDMI Splitter to a monitor and receiver? gundam83 Mac mini 1 Jan 14, 2013 09:46 AM
using HDMI switcher/splitter causing flickring? tbluhp Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Dec 28, 2012 05:08 PM
thunderbolt to hdmi splitter erger7373 Digital Video 2 Aug 17, 2012 11:37 AM
Will an HDMI splitter work on Xbox 360? SteelBlueTJ Console Games 3 Jul 25, 2012 09:38 AM
No video on HDTV with Mac mini plugged in via an HDMI splitter Jimbo7 Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Jul 14, 2012 01:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC