Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 9, 2010, 08:44 PM   #1
mario24601
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Did you do a fresh install?

I have been using my Air for a couple weeks now, when you guys got your new 2010 Air did you do a fresh install with the USB drive?

I am reading you can save space and maybe speeds it up, is that right? What are your thoughts? And what is the process? Thanks.
mario24601 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 08:56 PM   #2
T4R06
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mario24601 View Post
I have been using my Air for a couple weeks now, when you guys got your new 2010 Air did you do a fresh install with the USB drive?

I am reading you can save space and maybe speeds it up, is that right? What are your thoughts? And what is the process? Thanks.
as soon as i got my MBA i grab the usb stick the did a fresh install with customization. removing all the language and remove also some of the stuff on iLife that i dont need like iDVD.

no, the speed will remains the same. it is just you will save a lot of space
T4R06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 09:06 PM   #3
kyle.c
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

How did you do it? Just plug it in and reboot? On the first boot up?
kyle.c is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 10:11 PM   #4
Mechinyun
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
yes, same day i got it.
Mechinyun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 10:41 PM   #5
viperGTS
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
how much space is available after the first boot up? without removing anything?
viperGTS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 11:00 PM   #6
fswmacguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by viperGTS View Post
how much space is available after the first boot up? without removing anything?
My MBA is on the way but I can field that.

Formatted space is always less than advertised. This is true with any type of hard drive, whether it be SSD or spinny, even iPods.

From what I can tell, the SL install is ~5GB. So it's easy to do the math here: 128GB - 5GB = ~123GB (give or take a gig or two).

You are effectively getting the advertised amount of space.
fswmacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 11:21 PM   #7
deedas
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Send a message via ICQ to deedas Send a message via AIM to deedas Send a message via MSN to deedas Send a message via Yahoo to deedas Send a message via Skype™ to deedas
Crap I forgot to do this. Ehhh, I can always use monolingual to get almost the same result.
__________________
MBA 13" 2.13GHz, 250GB 4GB | iPad 2 16GB | A workhorse PC | TV (though honestly my Roku XS is worlds better) | iPhone 4 16GB
deedas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 11:25 PM   #8
viperGTS
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by fswmacguy View Post
My MBA is on the way but I can field that.

Formatted space is always less than advertised. This is true with any type of hard drive, whether it be SSD or spinny, even iPods.

From what I can tell, the SL install is ~5GB. So it's easy to do the math here: 128GB - 5GB = ~123GB (give or take a gig or two).

You are effectively getting the advertised amount of space.
so on the 64 GB i could expect about 55 GB+ ?
viperGTS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 11:36 PM   #9
tom vilsack
macrumors 68000
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
Quote:
Originally Posted by T4R06 View Post
as soon as i got my MBA i grab the usb stick the did a fresh install with customization. removing all the language and remove also some of the stuff on iLife that i dont need like iDVD.

no, the speed will remains the same. it is just you will save a lot of space
having always done installs of osx using cd/dvd...how long did it take using usb?
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2010, 11:53 PM   #10
deedas
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Send a message via ICQ to deedas Send a message via AIM to deedas Send a message via MSN to deedas Send a message via Yahoo to deedas Send a message via Skype™ to deedas
Just got rid of 1.35GBs worth of languages and PPC architectures using monolingual. Now how did I use to get rid of printer drivers? Ugh, it's been a long time.
__________________
MBA 13" 2.13GHz, 250GB 4GB | iPad 2 16GB | A workhorse PC | TV (though honestly my Roku XS is worlds better) | iPhone 4 16GB
deedas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2010, 04:53 AM   #11
poobear
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle.c View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

How did you do it? Just plug it in and reboot? On the first boot up?
You have to start Disc Utility in the beginning after the reboot, otherwise you won't have the opportunity to do a custom install.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deedas View Post
Now how did I use to get rid of printer drivers? Ugh, it's been a long time.
They aren't there from the beginning. When you plug in a printer Software Update downloads the driver for that printer.
poobear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2010, 05:47 AM   #12
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Yes, for three reason:
1) always do it to get rid of things like GarageBand which I never use
2) I have normally two partitions on my Mac's and wanted the same
3) wanted to try the USB stick
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2010, 08:11 AM   #13
rmhop81
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dallas, Tx
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
Yes, for three reason:
1) always do it to get rid of things like GarageBand which I never use
2) I have normally two partitions on my Mac's and wanted the same
3) wanted to try the USB stick
same here regarding item 1. takes up like 1.5gb of space. using flash compared to regular hard drive, took me 25 minutes to completely load the OS, was amazing
__________________
MBA|11.6"|128GB iPad rMini|32GB|LTE iPhone 5|16GB Apple TV Time Capsule
rmhop81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2010, 09:10 AM   #14
fswmacguy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by viperGTS View Post
so on the 64 GB i could expect about 55 GB+ ?
You should expect to have ~60GB of readily available space (give or take a gig or two).

MBA owners (or any notebook with SSD for that matter) should stick the included Snow Leopard USB stick in their MBA and do a fresh install as soon as they ensure that the MBA boots up in the first place. I always remove the extra languages, shaves off a good chunk of crap.
fswmacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2010, 09:39 AM   #15
Pete A
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle.c View Post
How did you do it? Just plug it in and reboot? On the first boot up?
Boot up normally first, to make sure the SSD works. Then follow the instructions provided by MacRumors, linked at the top of the MacBook Air forum page. Substitute "USB install stick" for "install disk".
Pete A is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2010, 09:42 AM   #16
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Any computer I buy, the first thing I do is reformat the drive and install the OS as I want it, not as apple thinks I want it. I usually only select the specific printers, and omit, X11, fonts languages that I don't want.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2010, 07:46 PM   #17
mario24601
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I did a fresh install today from the USB drive. Took about 22 mins. I think I saved around 3GB getting rid of all the extra language stuff....guess it was worth it.
mario24601 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2010, 08:06 PM   #18
gwsat
macrumors 68000
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tulsa
I got the 13 inch MBA with 256GB of flash storage so that I wouldn't have to worry about saving storage space. I genuinely admire those of you who can make less storage work by using some of the techniques described in this thread but I lacked the will.

My old Santa Rosa MBP, which the MBA has replaced for most purposes, has a 160GB hard drive, so the MBA's 256GB of storage has been a pleasure. I used Apple's OS X installation as it was out of the box and then migrated the MBP's programs, settings, and data from a Time Machine backup on my Time Capsule. With the exception of a couple of minor glitches, the MBA's setup is now identical to the MBP's. The Migration Assistant is pretty neat.
__________________
Macbook Pro Retina 13", 2.8 GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 512GB flash storage; Macbook Air3,2 13" 2.13Ghz 4GB RAM; Mac Mini 4,1, 8GB RAM; iPad Retina, 16GB; iPhone 5 32GB; Airport Extreme; 3 Airport Express units
gwsat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2010, 09:08 PM   #19
mario24601
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I have the 256GB drive on my 13 too but thought why not delete the "useless" stuff
mario24601 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2010, 11:23 PM   #20
potentpotable
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Toronto
22 mins is damn fast for a re-install!

I just deleted all the apps I didn't want through the Applications folder, then used CleanMyMac and Monolingual to fully delete everything. Such a breeze, Macs!
potentpotable is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2010, 09:58 AM   #21
gloryunited
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I am new to Mac and I have only been using my late 2010 MBA for a couple of days, so a fresh install will not be too much of a hassle to me.

But, I am curious about Time Machine or Carbon Copy Cloner. What if I backup my data, apps and/or settings now with Time Machine or CCC, and then do a fresh install to remove languages and apps I don't need. When I then restore the data, would it put the unwanted languages and stuff back into the system?
gloryunited is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 05:46 AM   #22
gloryunited
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gloryunited View Post
I am new to Mac and I have only been using my late 2010 MBA for a couple of days, so a fresh install will not be too much of a hassle to me.

But, I am curious about Time Machine or Carbon Copy Cloner. What if I backup my data, apps and/or settings now with Time Machine or CCC, and then do a fresh install to remove languages and apps I don't need. When I then restore the data, would it put the unwanted languages and stuff back into the system?
I asked this a while ago and now I really want to do a fresh install.

I backed up via Time Machine and also backed up the boot camp partition as an image file using WinClone, all on an external hard drive.

When I restore from Time Machine, would it restore the unwanted language files back to the system? Do I have to choose which directories/files to be restored?

this is my first mac and my first time using Time Machine, thanks
gloryunited is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 03:00 PM   #23
psirix
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Detroit, MI
I used mine for a week or so and then did a reinstall. I did my reinstall on the copy I made of the Apple USB key because I'd prefer to use that then abuse the one provided by apple
__________________
2012 iMac 27" | 32GB iPad Mini WiFi | 64GB LTE iPad3 | iPhone 5 16GB | MacBook Air 4,2 13" | Airport Extreme
psirix is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If I want to do a fresh install of ML, do I have to install Lion first then upgrade? nvcplus OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Oct 31, 2012 11:50 PM
How to RE-install OSX 10.8 as a fresh install? erkanasu OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Aug 28, 2012 11:41 AM
SSD install and OSX fresh install? gottria iMac 1 Aug 24, 2012 02:51 AM
Help with fresh install camperdown9 OS X 1 Aug 21, 2012 11:42 AM
ML fresh install? Afbar1114 MacBook Pro 6 Jul 25, 2012 11:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC