Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 22, 2010, 12:54 PM   #1
iMacBoy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
iMac G3...

If i bought an iMac G3 off ebay, and ugraded the ram to 1GB (someone told me that's all they could hold) and upgraded the memory to highest i could, would i be able to do what i do on my current 09 iMac, e.g facebook, web browse.

Someone who has one please tell me what it's like
__________________
21.5" iMac
13" MacBook
iPhone 5
iMacBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 01:50 PM   #2
macdudeguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Comfortably? No.

Even the fastest 700MHz models under 10.3 or 10.4 are really suffering nowadays. Anything slower, say 450MHz or less... you'd learn a lot about patience.

And it isn't even so much the G3 CPU that's the problem, it's the fact that it has to do everything since the old Rage graphics chipset is too old to take on any of the workload under OS X. The 1GB memory ceiling would be issue #2.

Hunt for an eMac. I don't think they cost much more at this point.
macdudeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 01:59 PM   #3
iMacBoy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Okay thanks, i guess i was just looking for something to waste my money on...
I have the 21.5" '09 iMac already, but i just wanted another to join this one. (But a cheap one obviously, not another 1000 one).

Anyway thanks, i'll check out the eMac, is it newer than the G3?

Thanks!!
__________________
21.5" iMac
13" MacBook
iPhone 5
iMacBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 02:05 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
eMacs are like the G3 iMac except they have a faster G4 in them, can hold more ram, have a flat 15" CRT, weigh 50 pounds, and are white.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 02:23 PM   #5
macdudeguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
And have have massively better graphics chipsets.

^Screens are 17", BTW.
macdudeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 03:10 PM   #6
d88co88
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MN
[please remove, no longer relavent]
__________________
A bunch of Macs, some audio equipment, and an iPhone.
d88co88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac SMC Firmware Update 1.1 - Fan Noise - Late 2013 27 iMac alksion iMac 139 Jan 17, 2014 09:51 AM
Help, Erased iMac HDD volume drive trying reset my iMac to factory conditions trueq iMac 12 Dec 23, 2013 09:27 AM
iMac clicking/static sound when screen if off but iMac still working in background MartinAppleGuy iMac 0 Dec 12, 2013 09:41 AM
Late 2009 27" iMac Graphics Card DYING AGAIN. Which new iMac to replace it? DracoDWS iMac 0 Sep 29, 2013 08:50 PM
Just got an email from apple about my new iMac? I didnt buy a new iMac lol wtf? aPple nErd Community Discussion 7 Mar 30, 2013 01:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC