Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 22, 2010, 12:54 PM   #1
iMacBoy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
iMac G3...

If i bought an iMac G3 off ebay, and ugraded the ram to 1GB (someone told me that's all they could hold) and upgraded the memory to highest i could, would i be able to do what i do on my current 09 iMac, e.g facebook, web browse.

Someone who has one please tell me what it's like
__________________
21.5" iMac
13" MacBook
iPhone 5
iMacBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 01:50 PM   #2
macdudeguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Comfortably? No.

Even the fastest 700MHz models under 10.3 or 10.4 are really suffering nowadays. Anything slower, say 450MHz or less... you'd learn a lot about patience.

And it isn't even so much the G3 CPU that's the problem, it's the fact that it has to do everything since the old Rage graphics chipset is too old to take on any of the workload under OS X. The 1GB memory ceiling would be issue #2.

Hunt for an eMac. I don't think they cost much more at this point.
macdudeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 01:59 PM   #3
iMacBoy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Okay thanks, i guess i was just looking for something to waste my money on...
I have the 21.5" '09 iMac already, but i just wanted another to join this one. (But a cheap one obviously, not another 1000 one).

Anyway thanks, i'll check out the eMac, is it newer than the G3?

Thanks!!
__________________
21.5" iMac
13" MacBook
iPhone 5
iMacBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 02:05 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
eMacs are like the G3 iMac except they have a faster G4 in them, can hold more ram, have a flat 15" CRT, weigh 50 pounds, and are white.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:24 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 02:23 PM   #5
macdudeguy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
And have have massively better graphics chipsets.

^Screens are 17", BTW.
macdudeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2010, 03:10 PM   #6
d88co88
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MN
[please remove, no longer relavent]
__________________
A bunch of Macs, some audio equipment, and an iPhone.
d88co88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen Flickering on iMac G3 DV after upgrade to Mac OS X Coolmatt49 PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 19, 2011 02:43 AM
imac g3 350 converting to imac g3 600 MacHamster68 PowerPC Macs 8 Nov 25, 2009 09:24 PM
WTT: Graphite iBook G3 and Tangerine iMac G3 for iBook G3 t300 Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 3 Mar 7, 2005 07:25 PM
iMac G3 600 faster than iBook G3 600?? chanoc Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 0 Feb 2, 2005 07:55 PM
FS: iBook G3/466 - iMac G3/500 w/ Airport BS & 2 Cards nickyj182 Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 0 Sep 10, 2003 01:15 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC