Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2010, 05:52 AM   #1
mrt209
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA/Germany
Running Mac Os 9 (Classics) Apps in Snow Leopard

Hi,

my parents are researchers and have been using Macs for many years now. They are dependent on a couple of Mac OS 9 programs and are therefore using G5s with Tiger.

The problem with using the G5s is that whenever they have classics programs open in tiger (all day), the CPU runs at 99% and the computers get extremely hot. My dad, who uses classics the most, is on his 4th or 5th G5 now in the last 4 years. It doesn't help that he always has 10 million windows open and never restarts his mac... I barely got him to start putting his mac to sleep

I know that my parents would benefit a lot from using Snow Leopard and getting the 2010 Mac Pros, so my question is if there's a reliable/stable way of emulating Mac Os 9 in Snow Leopard. I looked into this a couple of years ago, and although there were a couple of emulators, none of them seemed very stable.

If there are stable emulators, does anyone know if the CPU will still run at 99% when using classics programs? Are there any other options for running Classics apps that I might have missed?

Thanks for your help
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.33Ghz Hexacore, ATI Radeon HD 5780, 120gb SSD + 1TB HDD, 12gb RAM + 27" ACD;
iMac 7,1; Macbook Pro (2008); Apple iPod 20 GB White (4th Generation). Proud Mac User Since 1992
mrt209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 06:01 AM   #2
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
The only way is to use SheepShaver ... but it is going to be slow and the apps may not run well.

If they NEED classic, they NEED to stick with PPC.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 06:40 AM   #3
MacDawg
macrumors P6
 
MacDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: "Between the Hedges"
What programs are they using that are dependent on Classic?
Perhaps there are some alternatives they haven't considered
MacDawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 07:47 AM   #4
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
I never got sheepshaver working well.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 08:04 AM   #5
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
None of the emulators I have ever used were particularly stable.
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.
velocityg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 08:15 AM   #6
jzuena
macrumors 6502a
 
jzuena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Burlington, MA, USA
SheepShaver has been pretty stable for me, but it is a pain in the a** to get set up.
__________________
Pilot, greyhound walker, retired bartender extraordinaire.
jzuena is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 08:24 AM   #7
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
Come to think of it they would probably be better off getting the top dual CPU G4 that can natively boot into OS 9 for the classic apps, if I recall correctly that would be the Dual 1.25Ghz Mirror Drive Door not the FW800 G4. Then use an Intel Mac for modern apps.

Edit: Since you say they are researchers I would not fiddle around with those emulators. I assume they are doing critical research for their work and can't afford to have the computer crash in the middle of a workload. Those emulators are also slow.
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.

Last edited by velocityg4; Dec 29, 2010 at 08:40 AM. Reason: other thoughts
velocityg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2010, 08:26 AM   #8
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
I have a G4 cube, that I used for that reason. Its now collecting dust. I think its time for me to unload that baby :/
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 03:31 AM   #9
mrt209
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA/Germany
Thanks for the help, I tried Sheepshaver before and had a lot of issues with it so I guess its best to just stick with the G5s.
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.33Ghz Hexacore, ATI Radeon HD 5780, 120gb SSD + 1TB HDD, 12gb RAM + 27" ACD;
iMac 7,1; Macbook Pro (2008); Apple iPod 20 GB White (4th Generation). Proud Mac User Since 1992
mrt209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Tags
classics, emulator, mac os 9

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Snow Leopard, security risk? 2012Tony2012 OS X 13 Apr 21, 2014 07:56 PM
iMac was running Snow Leo; Genius put Mtn Lion; I NEED Snow Leopard back; have disk SophiaSapphire Mac Basics and Help 14 Oct 20, 2013 12:17 PM
Running Lion Apps on Snow Leopard Tissue Paper MacBook 2 Apr 22, 2013 02:30 PM
For those still running Snow Leopard imanidiot Mac Applications and Mac App Store 24 Dec 8, 2012 08:02 PM
Running Lion, want to go back to Snow Leopard ame8199 MacBook Pro 7 Nov 12, 2012 06:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC