Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 2, 2011, 12:48 PM   #1
Tigersoup
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Unhappy No ringtone tab in my itunes - Device. HELP!

hey all, please help me with this problem:

My itunes has the Ringtone Tab under library, but when i plug in my iphone 4, there is no ringtone tab for the device. When i click under Device, on my Xx's iphone, these are the only tabs that appeared:

Summary - Info - App - Music - Movies - TVShows - Photos

How do i get the ringtone tab to appear??

And how do i change my .m4a file to m4r? i'm using windows XP.
Tigersoup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2011, 01:09 PM   #2
webbuzz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigersoup View Post
hey all, please help me with this problem:

My itunes has the Ringtone Tab under library, but when i plug in my iphone 4, there is no ringtone tab for the device. When i click under Device, on my Xx's iphone, these are the only tabs that appeared:

Summary - Info - App - Music - Movies - TVShows - Photos

How do i get the ringtone tab to appear??

And how do i change my .m4a file to m4r? i'm using windows XP.
It sounds like you have never added a custom ringtone. Is that correct? Simply drag a ringtone into your itunes library, it will create the ringtone tab.

Try audiko.net to find a ringtone.
webbuzz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2011, 01:23 PM   #3
Tigersoup
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by webbuzz View Post
It sounds like you have never added a custom ringtone. Is that correct? Simply drag a ringtone into your itunes library, it will create the ringtone tab.

Try audiko.net to find a ringtone.
Hey webbuzz! Thanks for the help! Now everything is good! Thank you!
Tigersoup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2011, 01:28 PM   #4
X2thaP
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigersoup View Post
And how do i change my .m4a file to m4r? i'm using windows XP.
You need to make sure windows is showing you the file extensions, so that you can see xxx.m4a or xxx.m4r and so on.
If that's the case you just click the song you need to change the extension from, click it again (so no double-clicking,
just two clicks say a second from each other, whatever) so that you can change the filename.
Then you just change the 'a' in xxx.m4a into an 'r' for xxx.m4r, that should be it. You can now drag your song/ringtone to iTunes.

Do make sure your song/ringtone is no longer than 30 seconds, if not iTunes will not accept it as a ringtone I believe.

Hope this helps.

*edit* just reloaded the page and see you you already got it.
X2thaP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2011, 01:33 PM   #5
Tigersoup
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by X2thaP View Post
You need to make sure windows is showing you the file extensions, so that you can see xxx.m4a or xxx.m4r and so on.
If that's the case you just click the song you need to change the extension from, click it again (so no double-clicking,
just two clicks say a second from each other, whatever) so that you can change the filename.
Then you just change the 'a' in xxx.m4a into an 'r' for xxx.m4r, that should be it. You can now drag your song/ringtone to iTunes.

Do make sure your song/ringtone is no longer than 30 seconds, if not iTunes will not accept it as a ringtone I believe.

Hope this helps.

*edit* just reloaded the page and see you you already got it.
Hey! thanks for the help too! but how do i make them show me the file extension? they don't show me the .m4a when i try to rename, so i can't rename it no matter what i did. That was my MAIN problem actually.
Tigersoup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2011, 01:48 PM   #6
X2thaP
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigersoup View Post
Hey! thanks for the help too! but how do i make them show me the file extension? they don't show me the .m4a when i try to rename, so i can't rename it no matter what i did. That was my MAIN problem actually.
ohkay, well, I'm not on windows, but as far as I remember you have to open any folder on your hard drive, like 'My Computer' for example. Then select from 'Tools', 'Folder Options', then click the 'View' tab. There you should see 'Hide extensions for known file types' somewhere, uncheck the box (so windows DOESN'T hide them), and then save/ok.

Click here for the full info with pictures (but what I said is basically it).
X2thaP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2011, 02:52 PM   #7
Tigersoup
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by X2thaP View Post
ohkay, well, I'm not on windows, but as far as I remember you have to open any folder on your hard drive, like 'My Computer' for example. Then select from 'Tools', 'Folder Options', then click the 'View' tab. There you should see 'Hide extensions for known file types' somewhere, uncheck the box (so windows DOESN'T hide them), and then save/ok.

Click here for the full info with pictures (but what I said is basically it).
okay! i got it now! thanks! Thanks for the pictures too (i did use it :x). haha.
Tigersoup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2011, 04:57 PM   #8
X2thaP
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Well, they're not my pictures and it's not my website or anything, just looked it up for you in order to make life easier.

Glad I could help.
X2thaP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 12:00 PM   #9
Bojo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
No ringtone tab

I have itunes 10.2 and and new iphone 4 and the ringtone tab is not appearing in itunes. Help please
Bojo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 12:09 PM   #10
milani
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bojo View Post
I have itunes 10.2 and and new iphone 4 and the ringtone tab is not appearing in itunes. Help please
Again, import a ringtone into iTunes and it will automatically create the necessary tabs.
milani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 02:58 PM   #11
Bojo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Again

I just bought 30 of them from itunes and there just sitting there!! No tab yet!
Bojo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2011, 09:18 PM   #12
nanaloveby
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thumbs up Thank You!

Hello webbuzz,

I'm just a passerby trying to look for a solution for the same problem as Tigersoup raised ("no ringtone tab in iTunes/ the device").

Your reply is so clear and helpful, thank you so much.
Have a great weekend.

Regards,
nana
nanaloveby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2011, 09:19 PM   #13
nanaloveby
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thumbs up Thank You!

Hello webbuzz,

I'm just a passerby trying to look for a solution for the same problem as Tigersoup raised ("no ringtone tab in iTunes/ the device").

Your reply is so clear and helpful, thank you so much.
Have a great weekend.

Regards,
nana
nanaloveby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 01:06 AM   #14
sonu delhi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
i m not able to find ringtone tab i. my i tunes

----------

[QUOTE=sonu delhi;16228703]i m not able to find ringtone tab i. my i tunes
sonu delhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 01:29 AM   #15
airynmanj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Well, they're not my pictures and it's not my website or anything
airynmanj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 07:56 AM   #16
d0eb0y
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I too was having the same issue with the tones tab, and everyone saying that dragging into itunes will create the tab..i created my tone in itunes and now where do i drag it too if its allready in there??? hmm???

Answer!
In itunes you have to click on EDIT > PREFERENCES
And under the General option..in Sources...check off the Ringtones (Tones) option, along with any other option you may want under your itunes library and there you have it.

Keep the change and have a nice day!
LACE UP
d0eb0y is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ITMS not showing in my iTunes - SOLVED bedifferent Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Dec 30, 2010 09:28 AM
No Summary Tabs in iTunes justchill3131 iPod touch 2 Apr 13, 2009 12:59 PM
I've got no sound in my iTunes! Help! skiwhitman Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jul 12, 2008 11:50 PM
Dowloaded 7.4, but no ringtones tab? tjespo22 iPhone 6 Sep 9, 2007 11:36 AM
Ringtones Tab In 7.3 Or No? OldSkoolNJ iPhone 2 Jun 29, 2007 10:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC