Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2011, 10:15 PM   #1
RiskyMr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Folding@Home GPU3 Console Client

Hi All,

Is there a Folding@Home GPU3 console client? On the downloads page I can only find a system tray client for GPU3.

Cheers,
RiskyMr
RiskyMr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2011, 01:56 AM   #2
rwh202
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Hi,

There are links to Vista and XP clients in the following folding forum thread:
http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.ph...144510#p144510

Are you planning on folding in windows or wine? I had the GPU2 client working briefly under darwine in OS X, but I've only managed to get the GPU3 working with wine in linux.

Hope that helps

Rob
rwh202 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 08:18 AM   #3
RiskyMr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
That works. Thanks.

I'm folding on a Windows 7 machine. (Haven't tried on my MacBook yet.)

Cheers,
RiskyMr
RiskyMr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2011, 04:04 AM   #4
karsten
macrumors 6502a
 
karsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
cant wait for a native os x gpu client :/
karsten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2011, 10:56 PM   #5
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Anyone know how I can make the GPU2 core run on my machine? It has 2 HD5850s. I downloaded the client but it says my GPUs aren't supported....
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 01:51 AM   #6
rwh202
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Hi jav6454,

Have you tried adding the -forcegpu ati_r700 flag?

I'm guessing that the 58 series cards were newer than the GPU2 client, so they aren't recognised by default.

I'm assuming that this is under windows with the latest catalyst drivers?

Hope that helps

Rob
rwh202 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 01:59 AM   #7
RiskyMr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
You can also try using the GPU3 client. According to this thread it has an updated hardware support list:
http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=15359
RiskyMr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 02:13 AM   #8
RiskyMr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Also note that for the the HD 5850 card you'll want to use the -forcegpu ati_r800 flag.

ĽATI 3xxx series: -forcegpu ati_r600
ĽATI 4xxx series: -forcegpu ati_r700
ĽATI 5xxx series: -forcegpu ati_r800 (v6.30 or newer)
RiskyMr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 09:55 AM   #9
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwh202 View Post
Hi jav6454,

Have you tried adding the -forcegpu ati_r700 flag?

I'm guessing that the 58 series cards were newer than the GPU2 client, so they aren't recognised by default.

I'm assuming that this is under windows with the latest catalyst drivers?

Hope that helps

Rob
I downloaded the GUI client version, which doesn't even start because it automatically says "Unsupported GPU". Hence, I don't even get to use the -forcegpu at_r700 flag.

Any links to the console client version (CMD Prompt)? I looked but only saw the GPU and GPU2 GUI clients on the FAH downloads page for high performance clients. I did see GPU3 download but did use that since it said ATI cards are not supported at the moment. But if has been updated I'll give that a try.

Yes, this in in Windows 7 under the latest Catalyst Drivers.

Thanks for the help.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 12:41 PM   #10
rwh202
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
I downloaded the GUI client version, which doesn't even start because it automatically says "Unsupported GPU". Hence, I don't even get to use the -forcegpu at_r700 flag.

Any links to the console client version (CMD Prompt)? I looked but only saw the GPU and GPU2 GUI clients on the FAH downloads page for high performance clients. I did see GPU3 download but did use that since it said ATI cards are not supported at the moment. But if has been updated I'll give that a try.

Yes, this in in Windows 7 under the latest Catalyst Drivers.

Thanks for the help.
Hi,

there looks to be a GPU2 console client for vista (and I assume windows 7 as well) on the downloads page:

http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandeg..._Vista-623.zip

but as RiskyMr says, there should be support in the GPU3 client for the newer ATI cards using the ati_r800 (sorry, it's not _700 that I said earlier). I think that the most up to date list of compatible cards is maintained here:

http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?p=158849#p158849

Hope that helps

Rob
rwh202 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 10:17 PM   #11
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
OK, so I downloaded the client. I am using the Command Prompt. However, the fahgpu client only is making one of my 5850s work, the other is there idle.

Any help how to make that lazy one work? I've read that I need to make another folder and copy/paste the client there and make it run again. However, Catalyst Center says that the 5850 is disabled. However, if I re-enable CrossFire it works fine.

Help?
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2011, 01:59 AM   #12
rwh202
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Yeah, you'll need to run two console clients to use both cards - one with a -gpu 0 flag and the other with a -gpu 1 flag.

I don't know it things have changed with regards to crossfire / SLI, but when I was using windows 7 RC with two nvidia cards, I had to have a monitor plugged into both cards and enable desktop spanning to get both to fold and not use SLI.
However, the later clients / drivers I think support SLI being enabled (although they don't actually use it) - it may well be the same with crossfire.

Hope that helps

Rob
rwh202 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2011, 05:12 PM   #13
RiskyMr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
New GPU3 Client Released

Hi All,

It looks like a new GPU3 client was released today:
http://folding.typepad.com/news/2011...-released.html

Cheers,
RiskyMr
RiskyMr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2011, 06:28 PM   #14
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiskyMr View Post
Hi All,

It looks like a new GPU3 client was released today:
http://folding.typepad.com/news/2011...-released.html

Cheers,
RiskyMr
thanks for the heads up
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding@Home Mobile Monitoring ChristianJapan iPad Apps 1 Sep 11, 2014 12:00 AM
MacRumors Folding@home Team Reaches One Billion Points MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 47 May 22, 2014 12:10 AM
Xserve for Folding phoenixsan Distributed Computing 7 Mar 31, 2013 09:27 PM
Distribution of App to Client of My Client PCConvert2012 App Store Business, Legal and Marketıng 0 Jan 13, 2013 02:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC