Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2005, 12:30 AM   #1
Rob587
macrumors 6502a
 
Rob587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
15" pb and dell 2005fpw?

anyone have any pics of a setup of a 15" powerbook plugged into a dell 2005fpw, or just some pics of a dell 2005fpw?
__________________
MBA 13" 1.3GHz dual-core i5 | iPhone 6 Plus 64GB

WatchJudge.com | post and vote on your favorite watches (categorized by price)
Rob587 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2005, 03:18 AM   #2
wrc fan
macrumors 65816
 
wrc fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a world where LPs are made like pancakes
there's a gallery of it here: http://www.2cpu.com/gallery/2005wfp
wrc fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2005, 04:24 PM   #3
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
I should be picking my 2005FPW up from the couriers depot on Saturday morning. I can post some pictures for you if you like. What do you want to see?
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2005, 04:40 PM   #4
Rob587
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Rob587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
prefferably a 15" powerbook, or a powermac, or anything else made by apple. Basically w/e you got. lol.... thanks
__________________
MBA 13" 1.3GHz dual-core i5 | iPhone 6 Plus 64GB

WatchJudge.com | post and vote on your favorite watches (categorized by price)
Rob587 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2005, 04:41 PM   #5
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
I've got a 15" PowerBook so no worries there
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2005, 04:51 PM   #6
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob587
prefferably a 15" powerbook, or a powermac, or anything else made by apple. Basically w/e you got. lol.... thanks
There is a pic like this already in the post your imac g5 thread (in this forum), but it's a pretty dark image, so here's a better one in light



The screen is great
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2005, 07:08 PM   #7
Rob587
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Rob587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
thanks edesignuk, thats much better.... id still be interested in see ur setup robbieduncan. thanks again
__________________
MBA 13" 1.3GHz dual-core i5 | iPhone 6 Plus 64GB

WatchJudge.com | post and vote on your favorite watches (categorized by price)
Rob587 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2005, 05:47 AM   #8
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
OK just picked up the display. It's fantastic. I'll post some pictures in a little bit...
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2005, 06:09 AM   #9
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
OK pictures up.

The display is superb. It's really bright, the colours are good, the response time seems good too. I like the fact that you get a DVI cable in the box (along with the normal 15 pin VGA cable). Watching videos full screen is perfect.

Now all I need is a VESA wall mount and my Mac mini to arrive...
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2005, 07:36 AM   #10
Platform
macrumors 68030
 
Platform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan
OK pictures up.

The display is superb. It's really bright, the colours are good, the response time seems good too. I like the fact that you get a DVI cable in the box (along with the normal 15 pin VGA cable). Watching videos full screen is perfect.

Now all I need is a VESA wall mount and my Mac mini to arrive...
It is a lovely display, nice pic's

I have an 17" TOPCON LCD monitor and it is also DVI but as I noticed on yours is it a USB hub as well
__________________
Aluminium Macbook | 20" iMac G5 (iSight)
Platform is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2005, 07:50 AM   #11
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Platform
It is a lovely display, nice pic's

I have an 17" TOPCON LCD monitor and it is also DVI but as I noticed on yours is it a USB hub as well
Some screens have USB hubs, some don't. Apple ones have firewire hubs as well iirc. It doesn't run the USB over DVI though. You need to run a separate USB cable from your computer to the display as well as power and DVI.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2005, 07:59 AM   #12
Platform
macrumors 68030
 
Platform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan
Some screens have USB hubs, some don't. Apple ones have firewire hubs as well iirc. It doesn't run the USB over DVI though. You need to run a separate USB cable from your computer to the display as well as power and DVI.
Thanks
That is what I tought I saw
__________________
Aluminium Macbook | 20" iMac G5 (iSight)
Platform is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2005, 08:30 PM   #13
Rob587
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Rob587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
sweet, awsome pics... thanks alot
__________________
MBA 13" 1.3GHz dual-core i5 | iPhone 6 Plus 64GB

WatchJudge.com | post and vote on your favorite watches (categorized by price)
Rob587 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2005, 11:05 PM   #14
shuurajou
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bristol, England.
The 2005FPW is a cracking display, wouldn't hesitate to get one. It's a steal at the price and it compares to the Apple cinema displays quite easily (in my opinion anyway ).
shuurajou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2005, 01:40 AM   #15
wwooden
macrumors 68000
 
wwooden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Send a message via AIM to wwooden Send a message via Skype™ to wwooden
I am looking at possibly upgrading my external display ( Samsung SyncMaster 170MP LCD) to a 20". With my educational discount, I can get the Apple one for $899. Even though the Dell is cheaper, I like the option of having more firewire ports. I have an external harddrive, my iPod and my iSight and it is a pain in the butt only have one on the computer. With the screen, I can leave the iSight always plugged in and then connect the harddrive and the ipod together. I was already considering a firewire hub, so the difference between the two displays (sorta) cancels out a bit. And the fact that I could get an Apple one makes it that much better.
__________________
13" MBP 2.9GHz, 3rd Gen 32gig iPad, iPhone 5 16gig Black; Nikon D50; 60gig iPod Video; 250gig PS3 - wwooden
wwooden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2005, 09:11 AM   #16
shuurajou
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bristol, England.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wwooden
I am looking at possibly upgrading my external display ( Samsung SyncMaster 170MP LCD) to a 20". With my educational discount, I can get the Apple one for $899. Even though the Dell is cheaper, I like the option of having more firewire ports. I have an external harddrive, my iPod and my iSight and it is a pain in the butt only have one on the computer. With the screen, I can leave the iSight always plugged in and then connect the harddrive and the ipod together. I was already considering a firewire hub, so the difference between the two displays (sorta) cancels out a bit. And the fact that I could get an Apple one makes it that much better.
As depressing as it is to say, seeing the apple cinema 20" and the 2005fpw next to each other - I feel the 2005fpw is a superior display, although not as sexy.



Yeah, I know that's an iMac G5 but the thing on the left is a 200fpw .
shuurajou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 08:05 PM   #17
romone0517
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
powerbook and the dell 2005fpw

does anybody know if you can operate the powerbook in close lid mode and use the dell 2005fpw? Basically, can you operate your powerbook without having it open and use the dell as the screen only?

I also wanted to know can you display 1680x1050 with a mac powerbook on the dell display?

Last edited by romone0517; Mar 14, 2005 at 08:10 PM.
romone0517 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 08:33 PM   #18
debroglie
macrumors 6502a
 
debroglie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by romone0517
does anybody know if you can operate the powerbook in close lid mode and use the dell 2005fpw? Basically, can you operate your powerbook without having it open and use the dell as the screen only?

I also wanted to know can you display 1680x1050 with a mac powerbook on the dell display?
yes

and yes
debroglie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 09:17 PM   #19
SonComet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Is it true that you can damage the screen of the powerbook by operating it closed lid on an external display. I heard that the heat could dmg it, but I'm not sure if that's true.
SonComet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 09:22 PM   #20
Rob587
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Rob587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
I also have the same question. Is that why ppl like dariuslatamus in the setup pics thread has his slightly open? or is it b/c it goes to sleep?
__________________
MBA 13" 1.3GHz dual-core i5 | iPhone 6 Plus 64GB

WatchJudge.com | post and vote on your favorite watches (categorized by price)
Rob587 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 09:50 PM   #21
ChrisBrightwell
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
I'm not sure what the actual operating temp of the G4 in my Powerbook is, but I noticed that the avg CPU temp was a good 10-15 degrees (F) cooler with the lid open.

That's why I leave mine open. The second display doesn't hurt, either.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2005, 03:38 AM   #22
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Apple certifies 15" and 17" PowerBooks for lid closed operation (not sure about the 12"). You obviously need an external keyboard and mouse to wake the sleeping machine up.
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2005, 04:06 AM   #23
ChrisBrightwell
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob587
anyone have any pics of a setup of a 15" powerbook plugged into a dell 2005fpw, or just some pics of a dell 2005fpw?
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell U2713HM 27" Ultra Sharp vs Seiki 39" 4K Display bomberaia Mac Pro 1 Mar 11, 2014 08:09 AM
Cnn the current mini drive the new Dell 24" 3840x2160 "4K" Ultra HD monitor? glitch44 Mac mini 4 Dec 4, 2013 09:44 AM
2012 MBP 13" (w/ KVM and Henge) and Dell 27" or Thunderbolt 27"??? tna10006 Mac Peripherals 4 Sep 4, 2012 06:54 PM
27" iMac Vs. 27" Dell AIO sukai iMac 28 Jul 16, 2012 12:12 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC