Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 29, 2011, 08:58 AM   #1
MBX
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
What cable do I need to see my iPhone screen on TV or Cinema Display/ Laptop Screen?

What cables can do that???

Thanks
MBX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 09:33 AM   #2
Interstella5555
macrumors 603
 
Interstella5555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBX View Post
What cables can do that???

Thanks
TV - A/V cables
Laptop - USB and Xcode
Interstella5555 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 09:50 AM   #3
MBX
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interstella5555 View Post
TV - A/V cables
Laptop - USB and Xcode
Thanks, Captain Obvious

But what A/V cable? It needs to somehow connect to the iPhone's dock plug/ connector. What A/V cable is like that?
MBX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 10:12 AM   #4
walie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBX View Post
Thanks, Captain Obvious

But what A/V cable? It needs to somehow connect to the iPhone's dock plug/ connector. What A/V cable is like that?
The Apple Component AV Cable or The Apple Composite AV Cable
walie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 11:20 AM   #5
allaboutmusic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by walie View Post
The Apple Component AV Cable or The Apple Composite AV Cable
It only displays output from certain apps, is that correct? Such as the iPod player or Youtube?
allaboutmusic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 11:28 AM   #6
ZMacintosh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I thought somehow there was a way to mirror the iphone screen to a larger one.
Someone made a iPhone costume that pretty much did that.
ZMacintosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 11:33 AM   #7
MBX
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by walie View Post
The Apple Component AV Cable or The Apple Composite AV Cable
These cables are pretty much useless, only if you wanted to stream iTunes. Also the cable is way too short and not intended for what i'm looking for.

What i need is for when i wanna stream everything else, like for gaming (to see it on the big screen).
MBX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 11:44 AM   #8
Mlrollin91
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBX View Post
These cables are pretty much useless, only if you wanted to stream iTunes. Also the cable is way too short and not intended for what i'm looking for.

What i need is for when i wanna stream everything else, like for gaming (to see it on the big screen).
There is a dock connector to VGA plug that is made for the iPad, but I believe it works with iPhone as well. But the app has to be setup for video out, otherwise it is useless, same with Composite or Component cables. The app must be specifically coded to do so. Like Netflix recently added video out.
__________________
iMac 21.5", 2.7 i5 Quad, 8GB, 1TB; 11" MBA 1.7 i5, 4GB, 64GB; Black 64GB 3G iPad 2; Space Grey 32GB iPhone 5S; Red 8GB iPod Nano 5G, and ATV 3
Mlrollin91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2011, 01:06 PM   #9
Roessnakhan
macrumors 68040
 
Roessnakhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Albuquerque, USA
To see non-video out applications on your computer screen, there's a jailbroken app called iDemo that does just that. DemoGod (the previous version) used to use the Apple Component AV Cable for output to a TV, so I imagine the same is true for iDemo. On the computer it works over WiFi.
__________________
"I reject your reality and substitute my own." - Adam Savage
portfolio | twitter | flickr | last.fm
Roessnakhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2011, 10:15 AM   #10
Steven Jobson
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Do you still need help with this, OP? I could have helped you sooner but MR thought it'd be cool to put me in time-out.
Steven Jobson is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What cables do I need to connect my Macbook Pro to my HD TV? Pepper Pot MacBook Pro 8 Nov 7, 2010 09:37 AM
What equipment do I need to display my MacBook on my tv cfernandes MacBook 4 Aug 7, 2010 09:00 PM
do I need to unlock my iPhone 3G on 3.0 to use ATT Gophone plan? lilvenom Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jun 22, 2009 12:57 AM
What type of cable do I need to hook my iphone up to keyboard amp? PhaserFuzz iPhone 3 Oct 2, 2008 01:16 PM
What cable do i need to connect my MacBook to Plasma? LondonGooner MacBook Pro 5 Feb 3, 2007 10:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC