Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 7, 2011, 03:34 PM   #1
ThomasJL
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Does the MDM6600 chip support 1700 MHz AWS?

Does the Qualcomm "Gobi" MDM6600 wireless chip support the 1700 MHz AWS band that T-Mobile USA and some other foreign carriers use for 3G?
ThomasJL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 03:35 PM   #2
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasJL View Post
Does the Qualcomm "Gobi" MDM6600 wireless chip support the 1700 MHz AWS band that T-Mobile USA and some other foreign carriers use for 3G?
Google... you already have the part number, which is the hardest part. The rest is downhill.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 04:13 PM   #3
ld1023
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Cool yes it does supprt aws 1700

http://www.docin.com/p-52040727.html
page 105
ld1023 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 09:52 PM   #4
Tarzanman
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I don't think T-mobile can afford the iPhone
Tarzanman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 04:24 AM   #5
macingman
macrumors 68020
 
macingman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
It may support the frequency but the Verizon won't work with T-Mobile 3G
macingman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2011, 07:50 AM   #6
samwise
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Salt Lake, Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by macingman View Post
It may support the frequency but the Verizon won't work with T-Mobile 3G
Although it does open the possibility of a T-Mobile USA version of the iPhone in a future iteration.
__________________
Ben
Mac Mini 1.66CD, 2Gb Ram, 320Gb 7200 HD MBP 13", 2.26C2D, 4Gb Ram, 500Gb 7200 HD iPhone 3G[S] 16Gb Black
samwise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 06:53 PM   #7
superflush
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by macingman View Post
It may support the frequency but the Verizon won't work with T-Mobile 3G
That doesn't make any sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarzanman View Post
I don't think T-mobile can afford the iPhone
Doesn't matter. If it has AWS, then I can use it with T-Mobile.
__________________
Core i7 MacBook Air
iPad Air, 32gb
iPhone 5s, 64gb
superflush is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2011, 07:17 PM   #8
Goldinboy17
macrumors 65816
 
Goldinboy17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Quote:
Originally Posted by macingman View Post
It may support the frequency but the Verizon won't work with T-Mobile 3G
Huh? It supports the frequency. Apple would more than likely use the same chip in it's next phone. That means the AT&T model. What else does that mean? An iPhone on AT&T that can be jailbroken/unlocked and used on T-Mobile while using their 3G network. Equals? Very happy T-Mobile customers who have been dying to use a proper iPhone on their network. I don't see why Apple shouldn't offer T-Mobile the phone. Their commercials make it obvious they want it pretty badly.
Goldinboy17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 08:11 AM   #9
Tarzanman
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Doesn't matter. If it has AWS, then I can use it with T-Mobile.[/QUOTE]

It does matter. If apple hasn't turned on that frequency in the radio chip firmware, then you certainly won't be able to use it.


If apple doesn't have a reason to turn it on (AKA, no business/licensing agreement with t-mobile), then you're up a creek.
Tarzanman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2011, 11:04 AM   #10
apprunner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarzanman View Post
Doesn't matter. If it has AWS, then I can use it with T-Mobile.
It does matter. If apple hasn't turned on that frequency in the radio chip firmware, then you certainly won't be able to use it.


If apple doesn't have a reason to turn it on (AKA, no business/licensing agreement with t-mobile), then you're up a creek.[/QUOTE]

The baseband can support all frequencies but you need the corresponding RF chip and power amps for those frequencies...that is decided by Apple. VZW doesn't have C2K deployed in AWS so i doubt the VZW iPhone can use those frequencies.
apprunner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 07:51 PM   #11
ThomasJL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
iPhone 4S

If the iPhone 4S will use the MDM6600 chip, how come it's tech specs on Apple's Web site mentions nothing about 1700 MHz nor AWS?

http://www.apple.com/iphone/specs.html
ThomasJL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 07:58 PM   #12
kdarling
macrumors Demi-God
 
kdarling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Device engineer 30+ yrs, touchscreens 23+.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasJL View Post
If the iPhone 4S will use the MDM6600 chip, how come it's tech specs on Apple's Web site mentions nothing about 1700 MHz nor AWS?
Because it doesn't matter what a chip _can_ support, if the device it's inside wasn't built and programmed to use it.

For instance, the first Verizon iPhone had a dual mode GSM+CDMA chipset, but there were no parts (filters, power amps) or software to enable the GSM side to work.

Likewise, the iPhone 4S must/might be lacking the same for the GSM 1700 band.
kdarling is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 10:44 AM   #13
Drewbster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasJL View Post
If the iPhone 4S will use the MDM6600 chip, how come it's tech specs on Apple's Web site mentions nothing about 1700 MHz nor AWS?

http://www.apple.com/iphone/specs.html
It's probably disabled in the iOS. Ask the hacking community for help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kdarling View Post
Because it doesn't matter what a chip _can_ support, if the device it's inside wasn't built and programmed to use it.

For instance, the first Verizon iPhone had a dual mode GSM+CDMA chipset, but there were no parts (filters, power amps) or software to enable the GSM side to work.

Likewise, the iPhone 4S must/might be lacking the same for the GSM 1700 band.
On the contrary, the iPhone 4S has both the sim card slot feature and a new MDM6610 chip. An upgrade from the iPhone 4.

Last edited by Drewbster; Oct 23, 2011 at 11:21 AM.
Drewbster is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the old MacBook support the 24-inch LED ACD? stephenc92 Mac Peripherals 3 Nov 27, 2008 09:00 AM
For the Uninitiated, What Does the Penryn Chip Bring to the iMac? rayward iMac 17 Feb 29, 2008 11:10 AM
Does the new MBP support HDCP? MGLXP MacBook Pro 2 Jun 8, 2007 09:46 AM
Why oh why does the nano NOT support FireWire?? King Elessar iPod 49 Sep 16, 2005 03:32 PM
Does the latest powerbook support dual channel memory? xcalibur Macintosh Computers 2 Feb 1, 2005 08:39 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC