Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 9, 2011, 06:09 PM   #1
Sugi209
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Angry Help!!!! New mba set up problem!!!

I just got my new MBA, not refusrbished. But when I turn it on for the first time to do the set up, there's a big line across the screen (about 2 inches wide). Now I have to send the whole thing back and wait for the replacement. Any ideas?

Last edited by Sugi209; Feb 9, 2011 at 11:23 PM.
Sugi209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 06:29 PM   #2
jksu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugi209 View Post
I just got my new MBA, not refusrbished. But when I turn it on for the first time to do the set up, there's a big line across the screen (about 2 inches wide). Now I have to send the whole thing back and wait for the replacement. Any ideas?
take it to an apple store. they'll give you a new one.

jksu
jksu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 06:33 PM   #3
zenio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jksu View Post
take it to an apple store. they'll give you a new one.

jksu
If it's BTO be prepared for a wait.
zenio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 06:56 PM   #4
Sugi209
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jksu View Post
take it to an apple store. they'll give you a new one.

jksu
I ordered it from J&R.com because it saved me almost $200 for the tax. I'm just going ot send it back to them and I just ordered a replacement with one day shipping.
Sugi209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 06:57 PM   #5
Sugi209
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenio View Post
If it's BTO be prepared for a wait.
What's BTO? Sorry, I am newbie here.
Sugi209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 07:00 PM   #6
neko girl
macrumors 6502a
 
neko girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Did you add any customizations to your MBA? Then it's a BTO or "Built to Order".
__________________
Fighting crime in a future time
neko girl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 07:03 PM   #7
Doc750
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugi209 View Post
I ordered it from J&R.com because it saved me almost $200 for the tax. I'm just going ot send it back to them and I just ordered a replacement with one day shipping.
doesn't matter .. take it to apple store and see if they'll switch it out for ya
Doc750 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 07:03 PM   #8
hcho3
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: May 2010
As long as they are willing to exchange it, then do it thru your seller. But, apple store will take care of it as well.
hcho3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 07:10 PM   #9
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc750 View Post
doesn't matter .. take it to apple store and see if they'll switch it out for ya
Apple won't switch it, they didn't sell it!
__________________
27" iMac i5, 24 GB RAM; MBA 11.6" 1.4GHz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD; Multiple HP Printers; OWC & Lacie EHDs; iPhone 5S; Nikon DLSR
rkaufmann87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 07:11 PM   #10
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by hcho3 View Post
As long as they are willing to exchange it, then do it thru your seller. But, apple store will take care of it as well.
Apple Store won't exchange it, they have zero incentive to do so and how do they accept it in their inventory?
__________________
27" iMac i5, 24 GB RAM; MBA 11.6" 1.4GHz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD; Multiple HP Printers; OWC & Lacie EHDs; iPhone 5S; Nikon DLSR
rkaufmann87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 07:15 PM   #11
Sugi209
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by neko girl View Post
Did you add any customizations to your MBA? Then it's a BTO or "Built to Order".
I don't know if you consider this BTO. Here's the specs:

13.3 inch
Intel Core 2 Duo
2.18GHz Processor
4GB DDR3 SDRAM
256GB Flash Storage
Sugi209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 07:17 PM   #12
Sugi209
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
To All that suggest to take it to the apple store:

The closest Apple store is about one hour away from me. And I am also afraid that they will just repair it instead of exchanging it, and who kows if they have the one that I want it in stock. So I just ordered the exact same one from the same company and pay an extra $30 for expedited shipping. The total was $1,779.98, and I think its still worth it.
Sugi209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 07:59 PM   #13
hcho3
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkaufmann87 View Post
Apple Store won't exchange it, they have zero incentive to do so and how do they accept it in their inventory?
.......


I wonder which store you need to go to get your warranty claim. I think it's apple store.

Yes, I bought my iphone from best buy and had issues. Apple store took it back and exchanged for a new one without any questions.
Same thing goes for my MBP.
hcho3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2011, 11:21 PM   #14
TheRealDamager
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugi209 View Post
I just got my new MBA, not refusrbished. But when I turn it on for the first time to do the set up, there's a big line across the screen (about 2 inches wide). Now I have to send the whole thing back and wait for the replacement. Any ideas?
For future reference, this probably didn't require 4 "helps" and an "asap". Nobody's dying.
TheRealDamager is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Tags
air, macbook air, problems, set up, start up

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBA and External Monitor Set-Up stockcerts MacBook Air 2 Jul 17, 2013 10:50 AM
Trying to set up a testing server & MySQL Problem mripah Web Design and Development 7 Jul 6, 2013 10:31 AM
Resolved: MBA 2012 insert SD card set default app? eopix MacBook Air 0 Apr 11, 2013 05:46 PM
MBA 11" as your only set up (e.g. no external monitor) Eggtastic MacBook Air 12 Nov 13, 2012 08:31 PM
Airport Express set up problem tombee Mac Peripherals 5 Jul 30, 2012 09:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC