Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 25, 2011, 10:32 PM   #1
jbg232
macrumors 65816
 
jbg232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Wait a sec... no more iCal to do items? Please tell me it's not true!

I've been looking at all the videos of the new iCal and where the heck is the to do item list? Does it exist anymore?
__________________
iMac | MacBook | iPad | iPhone | Apple TV
5D Mark III | 24-105L | 100-400L | 50 f/1.4 | 50 f/2.8 Macro
jbg232 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 10:33 PM   #2
Steve Ballmer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
Cmd+K
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2011-02-25 at 20.32.53 .png
Views:	28
Size:	29.8 KB
ID:	272926  
Attached Images
 
__________________
Where do you want to go today?
Steve Ballmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 10:34 PM   #3
jbg232
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
jbg232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
How do you view your list of to do's?
__________________
iMac | MacBook | iPad | iPhone | Apple TV
5D Mark III | 24-105L | 100-400L | 50 f/1.4 | 50 f/2.8 Macro
jbg232 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 10:37 PM   #4
Steve Ballmer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
It's in a sidebar now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2011-02-25 at 20.35.55 .png
Views:	234
Size:	92.5 KB
ID:	272928  
__________________
Where do you want to go today?
Steve Ballmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 12:30 AM   #5
hollerz
macrumors 6502a
 
hollerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ballmer View Post
It's in a sidebar now.
Excellent! I too was worried they had removed it!
hollerz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 12:31 AM   #6
Steve Ballmer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
It's still tied into Mail as well, so as soon as you make/edit/update/delete a to-do in iCal, it is instantly reflected in Mail. The inverse is true, as well.
__________________
Where do you want to go today?
Steve Ballmer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2011, 04:31 PM   #7
ajvizzgamer101
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
They need to add To Do's to iPhone as well. Whats the point of a to do if I can't edit it from anywhere!
__________________
500GB Macbook Pro 2007 (OS X Mavericks)
250GB Retina Macbook Pro 2013 (OS X Mavericks)
16GB iPhone 5 (iOS 7)
32GB iPad 2 (iOS 7)
ajvizzgamer101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2011, 01:58 PM   #8
perryke
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Repeating to do items?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ballmer View Post
It's in a sidebar now.
Does iCal support repeating to do items now?
perryke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 04:33 AM   #9
kdum8
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by perryke View Post
Does iCal support repeating to do items now?
This is a question that I seriously want to know the answer to. Repeating to do are probably the most important improvement for me that Apple could make to iCal...
__________________
15" MBP 4.1, 2.5 GHz C2D, 4GB RAM 750GB HD, OS 10.8.3 - iPad 3. iOS 6.1.3 - iPad Nano 6G.
Have a question? First run a search!
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 07:25 AM   #10
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajvizzgamer101 View Post
They need to add To Do's to iPhone as well. Whats the point of a to do if I can't edit it from anywhere!
I kind of gave up on Apple ever doing anything on their own with this. I had a damn Palm V is 1997 that came with a to do app!

What does work now though is Apple has moved the MobileMe iCal to the open standard CalDAV, so you iCal to dos can be accessed OTA with an iPhone to do app. I use BusyToDo and it works perfectly. You can add/edit/delete your tasks using BusyToDo on the iPhone and any changes go OTA to Apple's MobileMe iCal CalDAV server and are updated realtime to your desktop iCal app.

http://www.busymac.com/busytodo/index.html
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2011, 03:05 PM   #11
palebluedot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ballmer View Post
It's still tied into Mail as well, so as soon as you make/edit/update/delete a to-do in iCal, it is instantly reflected in Mail. The inverse is true, as well.
Will it actually work with Mail.app and MobileMe in Lion? Right now in Mail.app I have a to do for my username@me.com that = my iCal to do list. Then I have a "MobileMe" todo for my username@me.com email in Mail.app - Basically Apple replicated the to-do's twice and it double creates a Calendar in your iCal that won't sync.

Ugh!
palebluedot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2011, 03:05 PM   #12
perryke
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
The problem with BusyToDo is that, although it requires a MobileMe account work, BusyToDo repeating todos do not sync with MobileMe. What I mean is that when you mark a BusyToDo item complete and sync, this status change is not synchronized with MobileMe. BusyMac's website says that BusyToDo's repeating todo feature "Works best with BusyCal". I work in an office that doesn't allow cell phones on site. I depend on accessing my accurate MobileMe information. Needless to say, the site only provides access to Windows machines.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
I kind of gave up on Apple ever doing anything on their own with this. I had a damn Palm V is 1997 that came with a to do app!

What does work now though is Apple has moved the MobileMe iCal to the open standard CalDAV, so you iCal to dos can be accessed OTA with an iPhone to do app. I use BusyToDo and it works perfectly. You can add/edit/delete your tasks using BusyToDo on the iPhone and any changes go OTA to Apple's MobileMe iCal CalDAV server and are updated realtime to your desktop iCal app.

http://www.busymac.com/busytodo/index.html
perryke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2011, 04:15 PM   #13
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by perryke View Post
The problem with BusyToDo is that, although it requires a MobileMe account work, BusyToDo repeating todos do not sync with MobileMe. What I mean is that when you mark a BusyToDo item complete and sync, this status change is not synchronized with MobileMe. BusyMac's website says that BusyToDo's repeating todo feature "Works best with BusyCal". I work in an office that doesn't allow cell phones on site. I depend on accessing my accurate MobileMe information. Needless to say, the site only provides access to Windows machines.
My completed todo's sync to MM just fine. Are you referring to repeating todo's don't sync completed status? I don't use any repeats, so not an issue for me.

I was just thrilled to have something to manage tasks on my phone that synced to iCal.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2011, 08:23 PM   #14
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Just a little note...now referred to as "Reminders" as of the software update released earlier today.
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 01:59 AM   #15
kdum8
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by celticpride678 View Post
Just a little note...now referred to as "Reminders" as of the software update released earlier today.
What does this mean? Reminders are repeating to-dos?
__________________
15" MBP 4.1, 2.5 GHz C2D, 4GB RAM 750GB HD, OS 10.8.3 - iPad 3. iOS 6.1.3 - iPad Nano 6G.
Have a question? First run a search!
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2011, 11:07 PM   #16
palebluedot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdum8 View Post
What does this mean? Reminders are repeating to-dos?
Are they different than to-dos are now. Or are they just getting a fancy new name?
palebluedot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2011, 11:18 PM   #17
BigJohno
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco
Sorry to change the subject but a quick ?. How can I change back to the old style ical instead of the leather?
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 Hex, GTX 670, Haswell RMBP, iPhone 5, iPad air
Flickr
BigJohno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 05:24 PM   #18
theBigD23
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Looks like ToDos and/or Reminders has been removed from DP3 in Mail. Reminder only appears in iCal. In Mail, I don't see it anywhere. It's not in preferences either. I can only see how to create Notes.
theBigD23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QuickTime stops recording in 20 Sec drmajor Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Feb 4, 2014 12:11 PM
Skype 6.6/ML: data sent at only 120/sec Racineur Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Aug 21, 2013 08:43 PM
Not all items being tagged when tagging multiple items in iTunes willryan42 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 8, 2012 06:44 PM
Decompressing a .sec file for Mac nwkiff Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jul 19, 2012 10:11 AM
Quake running at 1 frame/sec Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 24, 2012 11:11 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC