Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2011, 11:58 PM   #1
jake4ever
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Does anyone know why "MTMD" is using all my CPU?

Hi all,

I am using a Macbook 5,1. 2.0 Ghz, 2gb ram...

All of a sudden my computer gets super hot and all CPU is being used by "MTMD"
HELP!

Last edited by jake4ever; Mar 1, 2011 at 04:55 PM.
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 12:07 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
"How to maximise your MacRumors troubleshooting experience" created by mad jew in 2006
A more descriptive and precise thread title will help cater to the right audience and get you more responses. (see rule #3 under How do I get help with a hardware or software problem)
To edit your thread title, just click on the button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the "Go Advanced" button below your message.


Have you also taken a look at MRoogle, since that question may have been asked several times?
Which user is running "MTMD"? And are you sure it is called "MTMD" and not "mds"? "mds" is the Spotlight indexing service and runs for a while after first boot.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 09:11 AM   #3
jake4ever
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Which user is running "MTMD"? And are you sure it is called "MTMD" and not "mds"? "mds" is the Spotlight indexing service and runs for a while after first boot.
MTMD. This is the 3rd- 4th boot...
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 09:17 AM   #4
tourada
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Idaho
Send a message via AIM to tourada
Take a screenshot.
__________________
Macbook, Mac Mini, iPhone 4S
tourada is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 09:25 AM   #5
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
It seems to be part of the Time Machine "backupd.bundle". Do you run Time Machine with Mac OS X 10.7?
It seems to be not running in Mac OS X 10.6, but only 10.7, though I don't run TM on 10.7 or 10.6. It is not even part of the 10.6 "backupd.bundle" as it is in 10.7.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 09:28 AM   #6
ayeying
macrumors 601
 
ayeying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to ayeying
you should ask the Apple's Developers Forums instead of asking here. They'll have better answers then us.

that's assuming you didn't just pirate the damned thing...
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" | 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3L, 1TB SSD, Iris Pro + GT 750M 2GB, Retina, 10.9.4, 8.1 Pro Update 1
iPhone 5 | White, 64GB, AT&T, iOS 7.1.2
iPad Mini | White, 32GB, AT&T, iOS 7.1.2
ayeying is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 09:36 AM   #7
tourada
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Idaho
Send a message via AIM to tourada
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayeying View Post
you should ask the Apple's Developers Forums instead of asking here. They'll have better answers then us.

that's assuming you didn't just pirate the damned thing...
Agreed. If you have an account, here's the link:

https://devforums.apple.com/community/mac/lion

If not, well consider getting the account. The developer forums help.
__________________
Macbook, Mac Mini, iPhone 4S
tourada is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2011, 04:05 PM   #8
seajack0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Disable Local Snapshots

1. I have found that this is tied to the new "local snapshot" feature of time machine, which is enabled regardless of whether or not you use TimeMachine.

System Preferences > Time Machine > Options, Deselect Create Local Snapshots, restart. Fixed the problem for me!

2. You just really don't need to question where people are getting their copies of Lion. There's no point other than to just give yourself some sort of false sense of satisfaction. People who put alpha stage software on their machines are all clearly hobbyists. Don't hate your own kind.
seajack0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2011, 04:54 PM   #9
jake4ever
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
Quote:
Originally Posted by seajack0 View Post
1. I have found that this is tied to the new "local snapshot" feature of time machine, which is enabled regardless of whether or not you use TimeMachine.

System Preferences > Time Machine > Options, Deselect Create Local Snapshots, restart. Fixed the problem for me!

2. You just really don't need to question where people are getting their copies of Lion. There's no point other than to just give yourself some sort of false sense of satisfaction. People who put alpha stage software on their machines are all clearly hobbyists. Don't hate your own kind.
Thanks! And no, I do not have a developer account, because I was invited to test the seed from Apple (I know a lot of the people there, and NOBODY answers their phones...)
jake4ever is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why "idle CPU" stays high also during demanding tasks slo-climber MacBook Pro 6 May 6, 2014 06:05 PM
Process "kernel_task" uses 100% cpu gius92 MacBook Pro 3 Nov 6, 2013 05:09 PM
"CPU fail" light on 1.1 running x5355 troutweed Mac Pro 6 Sep 4, 2013 04:00 AM
What is your MacBook Pro / Retina 13" or 15" CPU temperature load and idle? denzdaniel MacBook Pro 21 Apr 13, 2013 04:35 PM
OMG another "will this cpu work in my mac pro" thread minifridge1138 Mac Pro 10 Jun 24, 2012 12:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC