Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 25, 2011, 12:46 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Apple Releases Xcode 4.0.1






Alongside today's release of iOS 4.3.1, Apple has also pushed out Xcode 4.0.1, updating the company's tools for iOS and Mac OS X development.
Quote:
What's New in Version 4.0.1

- Improved Assistant editor logic when switching among different file types
- Fixed a bug in "Install Xcode.app" that hangs at 99% complete, never finishing
- Fixed a bug that prevented indexing of some projects
- Fixed a bug related to nil settings in the Core Data model editor
- Fixed a bug that prevented automatic download of iOS documentation
- Fixed a bug in LLVM GCC 4.2 and LLVM compiler 2.0 for iOS projects
- Additional bug fixes and stability improvements
Xcode 4.0.1 is available free of charge to members of Apple's paid developer programs, and non-members can purchase the application for $4.99 in the Mac App Store.

Article Link: Apple Releases Xcode 4.0.1
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 12:56 PM   #2
CMelton
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, UK
Really not liking the 4gb download again...

Though the app store is great, this really is a flaw. Can't believe they can't patch through it.
CMelton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 01:04 PM   #3
Menge
macrumors 6502a
 
Menge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brazil
The 4.something GB download is horrible, I agree.

Hopefully this makes Xcode 4 better! The crashfest that were previous versions is still imprinted in my memory!
__________________
Menge - 2011 2.3GHz 13" MBP - 16GB iPhone 5 - 32GB iPad WiFi+4G - 8GB iPod Nano - AEBS
Menge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 01:06 PM   #4
Ted13
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
My App Store app is telling me I have "no updates", and if I go to the Xcode page directly, it tells me it is "installed" and doesn't let me re-download. (yes I go Xcode 4 through the App store).

Anyone else experiencing this?
__________________
Macintosh owner since March 3rd 1984
Ted13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 01:44 PM   #5
Aduntu
macrumors 6502a
 
Aduntu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
^^^

Shows up as an update in the app store for me.
Aduntu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 01:49 PM   #6
critter13
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
no update

neither software update nor app store says there is an update available... shouldn't software update take care of this as a patch?
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, 2.8 Quad; 2007 MBP 2.4; tv2; iPhone 4S
critter13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 01:58 PM   #7
ghostlyorb
macrumors 6502a
 
ghostlyorb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia, USA
Too large of a file to update anytime soon. Waiting an hour+ for update is crazy.
__________________
2011 15.4" High Res MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad, 8GB RAM, 500GB 7200 RPM HD
iPhone 5 16GB White AT&T
iPad (3rd gen) 32GB
iPad mini 16GB +AT&T
ghostlyorb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 02:39 PM   #8
Branskins
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Wait so you are suppose to keep the Install Xcode 4 file?? I deleted mine and no update is appearing. That seems like a massive fail. So I have to keep around a 4 GB file for NO reason than to tell the App Store that I have the app??
Branskins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 02:41 PM   #9
Stella
macrumors 603
 
Stella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted13 View Post
My App Store app is telling me I have "no updates", and if I go to the Xcode page directly, it tells me it is "installed" and doesn't let me re-download. (yes I go Xcode 4 through the App store).

Anyone else experiencing this?
Does the 4bg xcoder install.app need to be in the /Applications directory (where Apple chose to leave it ) in order for AppStore to recongize you have XCode 4?

( edited: ah, I see Branskins post above - the same comment )
__________________
Hardware / Software: The right tools for the job - be it Apple or otherwise.
Stella is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 02:44 PM   #10
Branskins
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella View Post
Does the 4bg xcoder install.app need to be in the /Applications directory (where Apple chose to leave it ) in order for AppStore to recongize you have XCode 4?
I believe this is the problem. But does it really matter since we have to install the whole 4.5 GB again and again lol!
Branskins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 03:38 PM   #11
parapup
macrumors 65816
 
parapup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Ugh. My Install Xcode.app is in its place. I get nothing in the updates tab. In the Purchased tab I see a update button and upon clicking it I get - "To update this application, sign in to the account you used to purchase it."

To top it all I now know that for 4 fixes I have to download the WHOLE FREAKING 4.5GB AGAIN!

This should be submitted to Failblog.
parapup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 04:06 PM   #12
Ted13
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by parapup View Post
Ugh. My Install Xcode.app is in its place. I get nothing in the updates tab. In the Purchased tab I see a update button and upon clicking it I get - "To update this application, sign in to the account you used to purchase it."

To top it all I now know that for 4 fixes I have to download the WHOLE FREAKING 4.5GB AGAIN!

This should be submitted to Failblog.
Yup, that was exactly the error I was getting. After an hour + on the phone with AppleCare, I suggested to them that we should try deleting Install Xcode.app and reinstalling -- that worked. They were claiming never to have seen this bug before -- I guess they don't read MacRumors
__________________
Macintosh owner since March 3rd 1984
Ted13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 04:31 PM   #13
parapup
macrumors 65816
 
parapup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted13 View Post
Yup, that was exactly the error I was getting. After an hour + on the phone with AppleCare, I suggested to them that we should try deleting Install Xcode.app and reinstalling -- that worked. They were claiming never to have seen this bug before -- I guess they don't read MacRumors
Yeah, that worked. Just deleted the Install Xcode.app and now I am offered a fresh download and install.
parapup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 06:40 PM   #14
Stella
macrumors 603
 
Stella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Branskins View Post
I believe this is the problem. But does it really matter since we have to install the whole 4.5 GB again and again lol!
Yes, because Apple have decided I need a redundant 4.5G file hanging around in order to get updates.

Apple need to fix this, it just plain retarded, not to mention lazy - and finally, breaking their own rules..

Apple: "Do as I say, not as I do... "
__________________
Hardware / Software: The right tools for the job - be it Apple or otherwise.

Last edited by Stella; Mar 25, 2011 at 07:01 PM.
Stella is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 08:29 PM   #15
Erwin-Br
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella View Post
Yes, because Apple have decided I need a redundant 4.5G file hanging around in order to get updates.

Apple need to fix this, it just plain retarded, not to mention lazy - and finally, breaking their own rules..
That's crazy. I'd like to add that I don't like having to launch the App Store to check if there are any updates available. It's much easier if the app itself checks, like most of them always used to. It's a cheap way to lure you to the store. You might be tempted to make some impulse purchases.
__________________
Mac Pro - 2x 2.8GHz Quad Core Xeon, 16GB, 8800GT Mac Mini - 1.83GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GB iPod Touch - Gen 2, 16 GB
Erwin-Br is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 10:54 PM   #16
Stella
macrumors 603
 
Stella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
I can't upgrade now.

I copied back the "XCode installer", AppStore found that XCode required upgrading. Unfortunately the download failed half way.. now I can't upgrade at all - Appstore is unable to see that I still have XCode 4.00 installed.

I suppose I'll have to go looking on torrent sites in order to upgrade, thanks to the crApp Store.
__________________
Hardware / Software: The right tools for the job - be it Apple or otherwise.
Stella is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 11:56 PM   #17
Branskins
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I just finished installing and it cracks me up because after all of that, it just says 4.01. Too funny.

This seems like this could hurt the updating process. Why would they want to introduce frequent updates when all 4.5 GBs have to be redownloaded? Seems like it defeats the purpose of moving it to the App Store where it is more accessible.
Branskins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 04:09 AM   #18
thelonelylimo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Athens, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted13 View Post
My App Store app is telling me I have "no updates", and if I go to the Xcode page directly, it tells me it is "installed" and doesn't let me re-download. (yes I go Xcode 4 through the App store).

Anyone else experiencing this?
yes, I am. Exact same issue. Have you resolved it?
__________________
27" iMac | 17" MacBook Pro | iPhone ⁵ˢ | iPad Air | iPad mini ᴿᴱᵀᴵᴺᴬ | Time Capsule 3ᵀᴮ | AirPort Extreme | AirPort Express | Apple TV
thelonelylimo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 04:35 AM   #19
als522877
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I can't believe Apple is making us redownload the entire 4.5GB installer just for updates. Can't they just push it via Software Update? I'm sure they can set it so it only shows the Xcode 4 update if it's installed on our system. I couldn't care less if they put the update as a separate app in the Mac App Store that will only install/download if you have bought Xcode 4 originally. I'm sure people who have capped internet usage or DSL users are going to have a field day having to redownload 4.5GB for every update.
__________________
Early 09 iMac: 21.5, 3.06GHz C2D, 16GB RAM, 500GB HD | Hackintosh 10.9 Server: 3.3GHz i3, 8GB RAM, 4 500GB HDs, 2TB USB3 | Acer 21.5 HDMI/DVI/VGA | Verizon iPhone⁵ 16GB | iPad Air 16GB WiFi | ATVē
als522877 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 06:07 AM   #20
klaxamazoo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
How do you re-download the installer so that those of us who didn't feel like keeping a 4.5 Gb installer around? The AppStore only has a "Buy" button but I've already bought it and I don't want to pay twice.
klaxamazoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 06:46 AM   #21
als522877
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by klaxamazoo View Post
How do you re-download the installer so that those of us who didn't feel like keeping a 4.5 Gb installer around? The AppStore only has a "Buy" button but I've already bought it and I don't want to pay twice.
You go to the "Purchased" section of the Mac App Store & choose install. It will download the Xcode installer again but it will be he 4.0.1 version. Thats what I did & it was the updated version & it didn't charge me.
__________________
Early 09 iMac: 21.5, 3.06GHz C2D, 16GB RAM, 500GB HD | Hackintosh 10.9 Server: 3.3GHz i3, 8GB RAM, 4 500GB HDs, 2TB USB3 | Acer 21.5 HDMI/DVI/VGA | Verizon iPhone⁵ 16GB | iPad Air 16GB WiFi | ATVē
als522877 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 07:29 AM   #22
klaxamazoo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by als522877 View Post
You go to the "Purchased" section of the Mac App Store & choose install. It will download the Xcode installer again but it will be he 4.0.1 version. Thats what I did & it was the updated version & it didn't charge me.
Thanks. That was a lot more hidden then the old "Check for Updates" option that is in most applications.
klaxamazoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 08:31 AM   #23
ortuno2k
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hollywood, FL
I don't know why you guys are so worked up about the size of the download file...
Apple has always required full downloads for most program updates. Prior Xcode versions were no different.
ortuno2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 09:12 AM   #24
Ted13
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by thisisahughes View Post
yes, I am. Exact same issue. Have you resolved it?
Yes, delete the installer from Applications. Go to the "Purchased" tab on App Store and click Install for Xcode.
__________________
Macintosh owner since March 3rd 1984
Ted13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 10:30 AM   #25
Mac Player
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
For the guys who downloaded this from ADC, do we need to redownload a new image or the update will appear on the Sys Update?
Mac Player is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Releases Xcode 4.0.2 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 29 May 17, 2011 07:35 AM
Unlocked IPhone 4 on 4.0.1 to 4.1? cubiewong Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 8 Nov 9, 2010 09:48 PM
Apple Releases Safari 4.0.1 Update SFStateStudent Mac Blog Discussion 57 Jun 29, 2009 07:11 PM
Apple release Safari 4.0.1 Update irnchriz Wasteland 1 Jun 17, 2009 03:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC