Apple Releases Xcode 4.0.1

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    Alongside today's release of iOS 4.3.1, Apple has also pushed out Xcode 4.0.1, updating the company's tools for iOS and Mac OS X development.
    Xcode 4.0.1 is available free of charge to members of Apple's paid developer programs, and non-members can purchase the application for $4.99 in the Mac App Store.

    Article Link: Apple Releases Xcode 4.0.1
     
  2. macrumors regular

    CMelton

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Really not liking the 4gb download again...

    Though the app store is great, this really is a flaw. Can't believe they can't patch through it.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Menge

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #3
    The 4.something GB download is horrible, I agree.

    Hopefully this makes Xcode 4 better! The crashfest that were previous versions is still imprinted in my memory!
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    My App Store app is telling me I have "no updates", and if I go to the Xcode page directly, it tells me it is "installed" and doesn't let me re-download. (yes I go Xcode 4 through the App store).

    Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Aduntu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #5
    ^^^

    Shows up as an update in the app store for me.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #6
    no update

    neither software update nor app store says there is an update available... shouldn't software update take care of this as a patch?
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    ghostlyorb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #7
    Too large of a file to update anytime soon. Waiting an hour+ for update is crazy.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #8
    Wait so you are suppose to keep the Install Xcode 4 file?? I deleted mine and no update is appearing. That seems like a massive fail. So I have to keep around a 4 GB file for NO reason than to tell the App Store that I have the app??
     
  9. macrumors 603

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Does the 4bg xcoder install.app need to be in the /Applications directory (where Apple chose to leave it ) in order for AppStore to recongize you have XCode 4?

    ( edited: ah, I see Branskins post above - the same comment )
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #10
    I believe this is the problem. But does it really matter since we have to install the whole 4.5 GB again and again lol!
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    parapup

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #11
    Ugh. My Install Xcode.app is in its place. I get nothing in the updates tab. In the Purchased tab I see a update button and upon clicking it I get - "To update this application, sign in to the account you used to purchase it."

    To top it all I now know that for 4 fixes I have to download the WHOLE FREAKING 4.5GB AGAIN! :mad:

    This should be submitted to Failblog.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    Yup, that was exactly the error I was getting. After an hour + on the phone with AppleCare, I suggested to them that we should try deleting Install Xcode.app and reinstalling -- that worked. They were claiming never to have seen this bug before -- I guess they don't read MacRumors ;)
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    parapup

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #13
    Yeah, that worked. Just deleted the Install Xcode.app and now I am offered a fresh download and install.
     
  14. Stella, Mar 25, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011

    macrumors 603

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    Yes, because Apple have decided I need a redundant 4.5G file hanging around in order to get updates.

    Apple need to fix this, it just plain retarded, not to mention lazy - and finally, breaking their own rules..

    Apple: "Do as I say, not as I do... "
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #15
    That's crazy. I'd like to add that I don't like having to launch the App Store to check if there are any updates available. It's much easier if the app itself checks, like most of them always used to. It's a cheap way to lure you to the store. You might be tempted to make some impulse purchases.
     
  16. macrumors 603

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    I can't upgrade now.

    I copied back the "XCode installer", AppStore found that XCode required upgrading. Unfortunately the download failed half way.. now I can't upgrade at all - Appstore is unable to see that I still have XCode 4.00 installed.

    I suppose I'll have to go looking on torrent sites in order to upgrade, thanks to the crApp Store.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #17
    I just finished installing and it cracks me up because after all of that, it just says 4.01. Too funny.

    This seems like this could hurt the updating process. Why would they want to introduce frequent updates when all 4.5 GBs have to be redownloaded? Seems like it defeats the purpose of moving it to the App Store where it is more accessible.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    thelonelylimo

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Location:
    Gahanna, OH
    #18
    yes, I am. Exact same issue. Have you resolved it?
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    als522877

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #19
    I can't believe Apple is making us redownload the entire 4.5GB installer just for updates. Can't they just push it via Software Update? I'm sure they can set it so it only shows the Xcode 4 update if it's installed on our system. I couldn't care less if they put the update as a separate app in the Mac App Store that will only install/download if you have bought Xcode 4 originally. I'm sure people who have capped internet usage or DSL users are going to have a field day having to redownload 4.5GB for every update.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #20
    How do you re-download the installer so that those of us who didn't feel like keeping a 4.5 Gb installer around? The AppStore only has a "Buy" button but I've already bought it and I don't want to pay twice.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    als522877

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #21
    You go to the "Purchased" section of the Mac App Store & choose install. It will download the Xcode installer again but it will be he 4.0.1 version. Thats what I did & it was the updated version & it didn't charge me.
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #22
    Thanks. That was a lot more hidden then the old "Check for Updates" option that is in most applications.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    #23
    I don't know why you guys are so worked up about the size of the download file...
    Apple has always required full downloads for most program updates. Prior Xcode versions were no different.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #24
    Yes, delete the installer from Applications. Go to the "Purchased" tab on App Store and click Install for Xcode.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #25
    For the guys who downloaded this from ADC, do we need to redownload a new image or the update will appear on the Sys Update?
     

Share This Page