Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 31, 2011, 07:19 PM   #1
green86
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly, PA
Radeon 6870 confirmed working in Mac Pro 1,1

Hey guys,

I can confirm personally that the 6870 does work in Mac OS X in the 1,1s without flashing using the downloadable drivers. The model I got was an XFX for $200 from CompUSA. Geekbench and DVD Player don't work (oddly enough) but everything else does. I tested it extensively in Aperture, and I've been playing STO with it in Windows 7 64-bit (all settings on high, in HD, with 8x AA). Hope this helps if any one was wondering.
__________________
Mac Pro 1.1, 2.33Ghz x8, 4 GB Quad-Channel, 1 TB WD Black HD, Radeon 6870 w/1GB GDDR5
Power Mac G5, Dual 1.8Ghz, 5 TB Total HD, 3GB RAM, nVidia 6800 GT w/256 MB DDR3, iPhone 3GS 32GB
green86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 11:23 AM   #2
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
What apps do you mean when you say everything else? I've read, so far, that the following don't work:

Geekbench
DVD Player
Steam games
Cider based games
Wrapper games
Star Wars The Force Unleashed
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 11:27 AM   #3
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Send a message via ICQ to Cindori Send a message via AIM to Cindori Send a message via MSN to Cindori Send a message via Yahoo to Cindori Send a message via Skype™ to Cindori
it should be noted though, before this starts a mass-buying-wave of PC 6870 with mac pro users, that we really don't know why it's working without being flashed, and that this special support might very well be removed in the finished version of Lion.
__________________
Groths.org - new website!
Mac Pro Graphics
Mac hacks and news!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 01:36 PM   #4
green86
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
What apps do you mean when you say everything else? I've read, so far, that the following don't work:

Geekbench
DVD Player
Steam games
Cider based games
Wrapper games
Star Wars The Force Unleashed
Well I obviously didn't run every program under the sun. I mean it's stable. I'd never run a Mac version of any game, since every game will run faster/better in windows under boot camp, so I won't be checking that out. I use the Mac OS for everything productive I do, and it's been stable thus far
__________________
Mac Pro 1.1, 2.33Ghz x8, 4 GB Quad-Channel, 1 TB WD Black HD, Radeon 6870 w/1GB GDDR5
Power Mac G5, Dual 1.8Ghz, 5 TB Total HD, 3GB RAM, nVidia 6800 GT w/256 MB DDR3, iPhone 3GS 32GB
green86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 01:45 PM   #5
green86
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
it should be noted though, before this starts a mass-buying-wave of PC 6870 with mac pro users, that we really don't know why it's working without being flashed, and that this special support might very well be removed in the finished version of Lion.
Ha I'm ot concerned about that at all. IF that happens, there will most likely be a flash for it. I refuse to buy old tech (5000 series) if I can run something current. These cards arent that expensive in the grand scheme of things. That said, I'm keeping my old 4870 for now.

I mean, what's the worse that can happen? You can always sell the card if support is truly broken. And your assuming everyone who buys a 6870 will run lion. I'm banking on this being permanent. Hackentoshes are pretty popular these days, and apple doesn't support them. Even if support is broken.. The fact that I works now means it isn't impossible.
__________________
Mac Pro 1.1, 2.33Ghz x8, 4 GB Quad-Channel, 1 TB WD Black HD, Radeon 6870 w/1GB GDDR5
Power Mac G5, Dual 1.8Ghz, 5 TB Total HD, 3GB RAM, nVidia 6800 GT w/256 MB DDR3, iPhone 3GS 32GB
green86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 01:56 PM   #6
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Send a message via ICQ to Cindori Send a message via AIM to Cindori Send a message via MSN to Cindori Send a message via Yahoo to Cindori Send a message via Skype™ to Cindori
Quote:
Originally Posted by green86 View Post
Ha I'm ot concerned about that at all. IF that happens, there will most likely be a flash for it. I refuse to buy old tech (5000 series) if I can run something current. These cards arent that expensive in the grand scheme of things. That said, I'm keeping my old 4870 for now.

I mean, what's the worse that can happen? You can always sell the card if support is truly broken. And your assuming everyone who buys a 6870 will run lion. I'm banking on this being permanent. Hackentoshes are pretty popular these days, and apple doesn't support them. Even if support is broken.. The fact that I works now means it isn't impossible.
Sorry dude, but you're not alone on this forum. If there is a major possibility of support being cut, this should not be kept in the dark.

"most likely be a flash for it" - Who's gonna make that happen? You? You don't know who you just quoted...look at my signature... Seriously I get pissed of when people assume they can just buy anything and be spoonfed with support and hacks.
__________________
Groths.org - new website!
Mac Pro Graphics
Mac hacks and news!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 02:10 PM   #7
green86
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
Sorry dude, but you're not alone on this forum. If there is a major possibility of support being cut, this should not be kept in the dark.

"most likely be a flash for it" - Who's gonna make that happen? You? You don't know who you just quoted...look at my signature... Seriously I get pissed of when people assume they can just buy anything and be spoonfed with support and hacks.
Just because I don't feel the need to flaunt my nerdism in my sig doesn't mean I don't know what Im talking about. Of course running an unsupported card means uncertainty.

Bottom line though, I'm running a unflashed pc card in my 1,1 right now. You made your point but this has been mentioned multiple times.. And even if it wasnt anyone who has moderate knowledge of computer hardware shouldn't find it surprising.

But yes, bravo. Thank you for saving us all. I get pissed at people who think they know it all. And guess what? I bought this hardware and got it working without being spoon fed support and hacks. So you must be pissed. I'm sorry.
__________________
Mac Pro 1.1, 2.33Ghz x8, 4 GB Quad-Channel, 1 TB WD Black HD, Radeon 6870 w/1GB GDDR5
Power Mac G5, Dual 1.8Ghz, 5 TB Total HD, 3GB RAM, nVidia 6800 GT w/256 MB DDR3, iPhone 3GS 32GB
green86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 02:35 PM   #8
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Send a message via ICQ to Cindori Send a message via AIM to Cindori Send a message via MSN to Cindori Send a message via Yahoo to Cindori Send a message via Skype™ to Cindori
Quote:
Originally Posted by green86 View Post
Just because I don't feel the need to flaunt my nerdism in my sig doesn't mean I don't know what Im talking about. Of course running an unsupported card means uncertainty.

Bottom line though, I'm running a unflashed pc card in my 1,1 right now. You made your point but this has been mentioned multiple times.. And even if it wasnt anyone who has moderate knowledge of computer hardware shouldn't find it surprising.

But yes, bravo. Thank you for saving us all. I get pissed at people who think they know it all. And guess what? I bought this hardware and got it working without being spoon fed support and hacks. So you must be pissed. I'm sorry.


Flaunt my nerdism - or provide useful links for searching forum users.
But of course you need to insult me, I pointed out your egoism.

People won't find it surprising if they download a combo update and their screen goes black? Right. Except that we're still seeing loads of posts from users asking how to fix that exact issue with the 4870 / 4890.

You get pissed at people who think they know it all? Wow, cause I am getting the impression that you're trying to prove that you do. According to you, everyone who doesn't know everything about 6870 in MP is suddenly an complete idiot with not even moderate computer knowledge.

You were able to get it working because netkas discovered the whole thing, and I guess you even the downloaded drivers from his server.
__________________
Groths.org - new website!
Mac Pro Graphics
Mac hacks and news!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 02:59 PM   #9
green86
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
Flaunt my nerdism - or provide useful links for searching forum users.
But of course you need to insult me, I pointed out your egoism.

People won't find it surprising if they download a combo update and their screen goes black? Right. Except that we're still seeing loads of posts from users asking how to fix that exact issue with the 4870 / 4890.

You get pissed at people who think they know it all? Wow, cause I am getting the impression that you're trying to prove that you do. According to you, everyone who doesn't know everything about 6870 in MP is suddenly an complete idiot with not even moderate computer knowledge.

You were able to get it working because netkas discovered the whole thing, and I guess you even the downloaded drivers from his server.
Yes but it wasn't spoon-fed to me though (Although they were just extracted from 10.6.7, so... nothing that I couldn't have done myself). And when did I say "Everyone who doesn't know everything about 6870 in MP is suddenly an complete idiot with not even moderate computer knowledge?" Ridculous claims are ridculous. Don't be dumb.

No matter though. After this post your on ignore. You made your point. I made mine. I'm willing to spoon-feed help to anyone with a Mac Pro 1,1. That would like to try this. I didn't ask for your help, you shouldn't be pissed. However if anyone does need help or want advice, I'm here. Thats why I created this thread.

troll/fail.

As I said, the issues are well documented. This post is about the 6870 on a 1,1. Sorry that your mad about this
__________________
Mac Pro 1.1, 2.33Ghz x8, 4 GB Quad-Channel, 1 TB WD Black HD, Radeon 6870 w/1GB GDDR5
Power Mac G5, Dual 1.8Ghz, 5 TB Total HD, 3GB RAM, nVidia 6800 GT w/256 MB DDR3, iPhone 3GS 32GB
green86 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 03:06 PM   #10
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by green86 View Post
But yes, bravo. Thank you for saving us all. I get pissed at people who think they know it all. And guess what? I bought this hardware and got it working without being spoon fed support and hacks. So you must be pissed. I'm sorry.
Wow dude, chill out. Cindori has been very helpful to a lot of people over the years. He spends a lot of his free time working to solve problems and then providing tools and instructions so others can benefit as well.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 04:51 PM   #11
chrisj2110
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quite Mysterious indeed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
it should be noted though, before this starts a mass-buying-wave of PC 6870 with mac pro users, that we really don't know why it's working without being flashed, and that this special support might very well be removed in the finished version of Lion.
I have seen this here, and other sites. As great as it sounds, and it works NOW, we sure as hell DONT want to go out buying these great and latest cards, Using them in our now unsupported MacPro boxes, then Apple removes that support or changes something that makes it no longer work that way. We dont want this happening to us. I sure dont want it to happen to me.

There is a nice radeon 6870 staring at me out of a display case in a PC shop round the corner from where I live, its a nice price $170 (AUD) And my MacPro is screaming for a new card.

You are certainly right there. Who wants to waste their money? Not me!

Last edited by chrisj2110; Apr 12, 2011 at 05:17 PM. Reason: fix a spelling mistake.
chrisj2110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 05:05 PM   #12
Vylen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
What a polite way to behave with the person who actually created the Mac GPU flashing tool.
__________________
Mac Pro 2010: 3.33Ghz Hexacore + 24GB RAM + PNY GTX 760 2GB OC + Dell U2711 + 2xDell U2311H

Vylen is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 05:17 PM   #13
chrisj2110
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Second Time I have seen this rudeness on the net today. And I only just woke up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Wow dude, chill out. Cindori has been very helpful to a lot of people over the years. He spends a lot of his free time working to solve problems and then providing tools and instructions so others can benefit as well.
Yep. This is just plain rudeness, and also a personal attack. I have seen this TWICE today, But on the first instance it was me it was directed at by some silly person, for NO reason at all, all over a politely written opinion on something. This type of behaviour and snide rudeness they indulge in just peeves me of major. It even sometimes makes me fearful of trying to help someone out on a forum or YouTube etc. Thats how much I hate it.

I just refused to carry it on.

Good on cindori for this work, it is always appreciated. The information he has put up on his site is extremely useful. This GPU card stuff is important to some of us (like me for instance), and we DO want to know what works and what DONT. These things cost us money!
chrisj2110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 05:22 PM   #14
chrisj2110
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
mmm, Yeah. very polite indeed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vylen View Post
What a polite way to behave with the person who actually created the Mac GPU flashing tool.
yeah very polite.

You just gotta love these net nasties.
chrisj2110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 05:32 PM   #15
Vylen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisj2110 View Post
yeah very polite.

You just gotta love these net nasties.
Yep. Cindori just mentioned something that other people might be interested in - the possibility of the card not working right out of the box.

Fine.

But OP here... instead of saying "Yes, that's a good point - others be warned", went on with about himself... I this.. I that... I'm banking on this being permanent. Fine for OP, not so fine for others who may not have the same confidence.

But, that's fine. Cindori made his point as OP said - it's just that it was needlessly escalated.

-----------------------------------------

To get back on topic and to make this thread a little more useful.

Can the OP at least try some GPU dependent applications and confirm if they work or not - if he has them on his computer.

Afaik, the card is stable in the Mac Pro, but without a Framebuffer ID or something (mentioned on Netkas' blog) there are applications that do not work (this is not relating to stability!).
__________________
Mac Pro 2010: 3.33Ghz Hexacore + 24GB RAM + PNY GTX 760 2GB OC + Dell U2711 + 2xDell U2311H

Vylen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 07:28 PM   #16
100Years
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by green86 View Post
Ha I'm ot concerned about that at all. IF that happens, there will most likely be a flash for it. I refuse to buy old tech (5000 series) if I can run something current. <snip>
I wouldn't generalize and put down the 5k series. I've got a 5870 in my tower, and have to say that this card still more than holds its own. In Windows, I can max out games (plus, in 2560x1440 res) like Crysis 2, MLB 2k11, and NFS: Shift 2 --- they all play smooth as silk.
100Years is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2011, 08:27 PM   #17
goMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
Sorry dude, but you're not alone on this forum. If there is a major possibility of support being cut, this should not be kept in the dark.
I've heard things that imply that this is likely to stay, and is something that is coming from ATI to get around some.... issues.

Apple doesn't really care if drivers work with a PC card anyway.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 10:02 AM   #18
geenome
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Removed because of prejudice.
Quote:
Originally Posted by green86 View Post
Hey guys,

I can confirm personally that the 6870 does work in Mac OS X in the 1,1s without flashing using the downloadable drivers. The model I got was an XFX for $200 from CompUSA. Geekbench and DVD Player don't work (oddly enough) but everything else does. I tested it extensively in Aperture, and I've been playing STO with it in Windows 7 64-bit (all settings on high, in HD, with 8x AA). Hope this helps if any one was wondering.
Hi could you tell me where the downloadable drivers are located?

Thanks
__________________
Powermac G5 dual 1.8, Macbook, iPod
geenome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 11:12 AM   #19
handheldgames
macrumors 6502a
 
handheldgames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by geenome View Post
Hi could you tell me where the downloadable drivers are located?

Thanks
here ya go: http://groths.org/zeus/ATI_updated_drivers.zip
__________________
2009 MacPro i7-990x, XP941 SATA Express Boot, 32GB RAM, AMD 7950/GTX 680, Seiki 4k, Dual 30" Dell 3007wfp-hc, VelocityX2-Samsung840, FrescLogic USB3, Software Developer/Hardware Designer
handheldgames is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2011, 02:17 PM   #20
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Send a message via ICQ to Cindori Send a message via AIM to Cindori Send a message via MSN to Cindori Send a message via Yahoo to Cindori Send a message via Skype™ to Cindori
Quote:
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
I've heard things that imply that this is likely to stay, and is something that is coming from ATI to get around some.... issues.

Apple doesn't really care if drivers work with a PC card anyway.

I heard a post about it possibly being ATI cards starting to ship with EFI firmware since new PC motherboards are coming out with EFI.

But I dont recall that the ROM chip is larger, so I dont know if this is true. (or would have the effect we are seeing - that it works in our MP's)

you are right, apple probably would not care if it works. but that works both ways - they wont stop it, but won't try to keep it either
__________________
Groths.org - new website!
Mac Pro Graphics
Mac hacks and news!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 11:30 AM   #21
geenome
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Removed because of prejudice.
Quote:
Originally Posted by handheldgames View Post
Thanks
__________________
Powermac G5 dual 1.8, Macbook, iPod
geenome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 11:58 AM   #22
goMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
I heard a post about it possibly being ATI cards starting to ship with EFI firmware since new PC motherboards are coming out with EFI.

But I dont recall that the ROM chip is larger, so I dont know if this is true. (or would have the effect we are seeing - that it works in our MP's)

you are right, apple probably would not care if it works. but that works both ways - they wont stop it, but won't try to keep it either
What cards? I've heard most of the problem is that ATI doesn't want to do OEM Mac cards, but Apple only wants to do new cards every refresh, hence the Lion driver changes to "solve" that problem. But if ATI actually started adding EFI ROMs that would be new...
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 10:59 PM   #23
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
I heard a post about it possibly being ATI cards starting to ship with EFI firmware since new PC motherboards are coming out with EFI.

But I dont recall that the ROM chip is larger, so I dont know if this is true. (or would have the effect we are seeing - that it works in our MP's)

you are right, apple probably would not care if it works. but that works both ways - they wont stop it, but won't try to keep it either
Funny you should say that because I recently bought an XFX 5770 and put it in my hackintosh, low and behold look what the info says about the graphics card....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	new vid card 2.jpg
Views:	950
Size:	104.5 KB
ID:	283742  
__________________
Iphone 5 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
Mac Pro 5,1, 24GB of RAM, GT120, GTX 670, 256GB SSD, 4x3TB HD, 3x Dell 23" LED
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 02:37 AM   #24
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Send a message via ICQ to Cindori Send a message via AIM to Cindori Send a message via MSN to Cindori Send a message via Yahoo to Cindori Send a message via Skype™ to Cindori
I don't see anything special in that screen..?


btw, about my last post, here is an explanation from rominator:

"The 6870 cards aren't working due to any EFI in BIOS.

They are working due to changes in APple's ATI drivers, which are now functioning as if they have an "ATY_Init" built in.

They are setting their own keys, with or without EFI."
__________________
Groths.org - new website!
Mac Pro Graphics
Mac hacks and news!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 10:25 AM   #25
Gomff
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Please excuse my ignorance on this, but does the 6870 even display a boot screen when the mac is first switched on, when connected to a DVI-D or MDP monitor?

Potentially intriguing developments with Mac Pro GPU's. I hope this is a product of Apple getting so much flack for not keeping up with PC graphics capabilities.
__________________
If in doubt, use a car analogy.
Gomff is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6 Displays on Mac Pro 1.1 w/ Dual Radeon 5770 Ibrin Mac Pro 13 Feb 28, 2014 03:28 AM
Mac pro 2008 8-Core vs 2011 MBP 4-Core klazer MacBook Pro 2 Apr 3, 2012 10:00 AM
Backup drives in Mac Pro bLiss Mac Pro 4 May 29, 2011 03:49 PM
When will the next Mac Pro be announced jtmacb Mac Pro 55 Feb 24, 2011 05:23 AM
My Mac Pro doesn't want to get out of bed in the morning MotleyPete Mac Pro 5 Nov 25, 2010 11:08 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC