Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 10, 2011, 12:02 PM   #1
I AM THE MAN
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
A GOOD MACHINE FOR 1080p Video Editing

I recently became a YouTube Partner, and I will soon be purchasing an HD 1080p Camera. With that, I would like to purchase a new machine (Windows or Mac). I want to purchase a machine in which I can edit the 1080p (60fps) video at a decent amount of speed.

I currently own both Windows and Macs and I use Sony Vegas on Windows, and Final Cut Express + ScreenFlow + iMovie (iMovie VERY RARELY AND ONLY IF I NEED TO GET A FAST EDIT DOWN). My minds are headed towards buying either an iMac (i7) or a Mac Pro.

As far as Windows goes, I really do not know what to buy as far as the specs go, because I currently have an i5 that i use to edit videos on Sony Vegas and CS5 (AfterEffects) and its pretty slow (my graphics card is a Nvidia 9800).

Thanks for the help, and I know I might sound a little unorganized, but im honestly very confused where to start, so thanks for all the help

Last edited by I AM THE MAN; Apr 10, 2011 at 12:09 PM.
I AM THE MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 12:52 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Any current Mac will handle your task, some faster, some slower. But know in order to edit properly, you need to transcode the highly compressive HD footage (using some MPEG-4 codec) to a QuickTime (.mov) using Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC) as the codec for video and Uncompressed as the codec for audio.
You can do such things via the Log & Transfer window in FCE or MPEG Streamclip's batch list (CMD+B).
Using MRoogle you will find hundreds of similar threads.

Anyway, if the budget is there and you make your money with this, the Mac Pro is the safer bet, due to upgradeable GPUs and HDDs and more RAM (if needed).
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 01:01 PM   #3
I AM THE MAN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Any current Mac will handle your task, some faster, some slower. But know in order to edit properly, you need to transcode the highly compressive HD footage (using some MPEG-4 codec) to a QuickTime (.mov) using Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC) as the codec for video and Uncompressed as the codec for audio.
You can do such things via the Log & Transfer window in FCE or MPEG Streamclip's batch list (CMD+B).
Using MRoogle you will find hundreds of similar threads.

Anyway, if the budget is there and you make your money with this, the Mac Pro is the safer bet, due to upgradeable GPUs and HDDs and more RAM (if needed).
Thank you for your reply. Would the iMac 27 (i7) be a good bet or the Mac Pro. I find it hard to chose between them, and I really don't want to exceed a $2000 (I will be purchasing a Refurb iMac).
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II w/ 70-200mm f/2.8 NON IS L, 24-70mm f/2.8 L II, 50mm f/1.4, 28-135mm
I AM THE MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 01:40 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by I AM THE MAN View Post
Thank you for your reply. Would the iMac 27 (i7) be a good bet or the Mac Pro. I find it hard to chose between them, and I really don't want to exceed a $2000 (I will be purchasing a Refurb iMac).
The i7 will totally suffice, but know, that you need to get external HDD storage too, as using the internal HDD (the HDD used for the OS) for video editing is not recommended.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 04:49 PM   #5
martinX
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
The 27" iMac is great. I wouldn't be buying anything until the next one comes out, though. When that could be is anyone's guess.
martinX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 08:17 PM   #6
FroColin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
You may be able to get a 2008 mac pro on craigslist for around 2 grand. Everything else will be crap so your going to have to add ram and hard drive but look around. There are some good deals to be had on the 2008 mac pro and it's a good machine
__________________
rMBP 2.6ghz 16gb RAM
08 Mac Pro 2x2.8 GHz Quad-core 8 GB RAM 3 1 TB HDs;
Canon T2i (50mm 1.4, 70-200mm IS 2.8L, 24-105mm IS 4.0L)
So much software. So much
FroColin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2011, 08:48 PM   #7
Keebler
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Canada
refurb store also has great deals on mac pros. i'm editing 1080P on a quad 2009 pro. edits just fine. no issues.

i'm also using a maxtro max card for outputting to AppleTV, the other i-devices and youtube. Wicked fast card. not cheap, but if you're outputting to youtube, it's a no brainer imho.
Keebler is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2011, 02:11 PM   #8
I AM THE MAN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thank you for all your replies!
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II w/ 70-200mm f/2.8 NON IS L, 24-70mm f/2.8 L II, 50mm f/1.4, 28-135mm
I AM THE MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2011, 03:02 PM   #9
JAWWC
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I edit multi camera 1080p footage on my late 2009 27" core2duo iMac completely fine, just takes longer to render/export.
__________________
iMac 27" 3GHz Core 2 Duo, 4GB; Unibody MacBook 2GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM; iPad 16GB WiFi; 16GB iPhone 3GS; 1 GB 2G iPod Shuffle; AEBS
JAWWC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2011, 06:42 PM   #10
SidBala
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Mac or PC, I would highly suggest you get a higher end sandy bridge i7.

Couple this with a good CUDA card and you can encode H264 quite quickly using the gpu.

That said, the windows option might be cheaper and better performing.
SidBala is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2011, 11:20 PM   #11
Gator24765
macrumors 6502a
 
Gator24765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Texas
Congrats man on being a partner. WHat kind of videos do you do?


As far as a good machine? You can't go wrong with a mac, I love editing video on them. The new Final Cut Pro X would be a cheap and professional addition to the mac for all of your editing needs.
__________________
TechATX YouTube | One Week Fantasy Football Leagues! | Bet on Sports at Bovada! 50% deposit bonus!

13" MBP 2012 2.5 i5; iPhone 5 16gb (Sprint)
Gator24765 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2011, 10:05 AM   #12
stefmesman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Netherlands
i edit on an i7 iMac. does the job well enough. all depends on how large your edits will be. Are you gonna do alot of effects work? or just editing some files together? For most my needs the i7 does more then enough. and i do pretty heavy edits.

a mac pro would be a better choice. but you will spend alot more buck for the amount of bang :P (expandability and external screen are pro's and con's)
stefmesman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 05:33 PM   #13
I AM THE MAN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SidBala View Post
Mac or PC, I would highly suggest you get a higher end sandy bridge i7.

Couple this with a good CUDA card and you can encode H264 quite quickly using the gpu.

That said, the windows option might be cheaper and better performing.
I'm sorry to ask, but what is a CUDA card?
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II w/ 70-200mm f/2.8 NON IS L, 24-70mm f/2.8 L II, 50mm f/1.4, 28-135mm
I AM THE MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 05:34 PM   #14
I AM THE MAN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator24765 View Post
Congrats man on being a partner. WHat kind of videos do you do?


As far as a good machine? You can't go wrong with a mac, I love editing video on them. The new Final Cut Pro X would be a cheap and professional addition to the mac for all of your editing needs.

Thanks! As far as my videos go, Im a Tech-Reviewer.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II w/ 70-200mm f/2.8 NON IS L, 24-70mm f/2.8 L II, 50mm f/1.4, 28-135mm
I AM THE MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 05:35 PM   #15
I AM THE MAN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefmesman View Post
i edit on an i7 iMac. does the job well enough. all depends on how large your edits will be. Are you gonna do alot of effects work? or just editing some files together? For most my needs the i7 does more then enough. and i do pretty heavy edits.

a mac pro would be a better choice. but you will spend alot more buck for the amount of bang :P (expandability and external screen are pro's and con's)
Nothing to big. I just want fast times as far as rendering/importing/exporting times go.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II w/ 70-200mm f/2.8 NON IS L, 24-70mm f/2.8 L II, 50mm f/1.4, 28-135mm
I AM THE MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 06:30 PM   #16
gameface
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
1080p tells us absolutely nothing. There are $200 cameras that shoot that and you could cut it on a 7-8 year old machine. There are $100K+ cameras that shoot that which you couldn't. For speed it is more dependent on your I/O, the codec the camera uses and the bit-rate instead of how much ram you have and what proc you go with.
gameface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 06:49 PM   #17
laurim
macrumors 6502a
 
laurim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Minnesota USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Any current Mac will handle your task, some faster, some slower. But know in order to edit properly, you need to transcode the highly compressive HD footage (using some MPEG-4 codec) to a QuickTime (.mov) using Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC) as the codec for video and Uncompressed as the codec for audio.
You can do such things via the Log & Transfer window in FCE or MPEG Streamclip's batch list (CMD+B).
Using MRoogle you will find hundreds of similar threads.

Anyway, if the budget is there and you make your money with this, the Mac Pro is the safer bet, due to upgradeable GPUs and HDDs and more RAM (if needed).
As a sidenote, isn't ProRes 422 the current preferred editing format? That's what I use now.
__________________
2013 MacPro, 8-core, 32 GB RAM; Two 17" 2011 MacBook Pros; 17" 2008 MacBook Pro; iPhone 5S; AppleTV 2; iPod nano; 3T Time Capsule; 27" Apple Thunderbolt Display
laurim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 06:50 PM   #18
gameface
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurim View Post
As a sidenote, isn't ProRes 422 the current preferred editing format? That's what I use now.
It doesn't work with FCE. And transcoding to prores just for the sake of it is stupid. I do it when working with multiple formats or H.264 footage but if I am cutting a 3 cam shoot from EX-1's there is no way I would transcode all of that for no reason.
gameface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 06:51 PM   #19
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurim View Post
As a sidenote, isn't ProRes 422 the current preferred editing format? That's what I use now.
For Final Cut Pro it is, but the OP was referencing Final Cut Express in his or her OP.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 06:56 PM   #20
laurim
macrumors 6502a
 
laurim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Minnesota USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameface View Post
It doesn't work with FCE. And transcoding to prores just for the sake of it is stupid. I do it when working with multiple formats or H.264 footage but if I am cutting a 3 cam shoot from EX-1's there is no way I would transcode all of that for no reason.
Ah, sorry, I missed the express part.

All of my work involves using multiple formats and my final result movie is ProRes 422 so that's MY world. The OP wanted faster rendering and editing so using ProRes (if he had FCP) could facilitate that. Excuse me for suggesting it.
__________________
2013 MacPro, 8-core, 32 GB RAM; Two 17" 2011 MacBook Pros; 17" 2008 MacBook Pro; iPhone 5S; AppleTV 2; iPod nano; 3T Time Capsule; 27" Apple Thunderbolt Display
laurim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 07:02 PM   #21
gameface
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurim View Post
Ah, sorry, I missed the express part.

All of my work involves using multiple formats and my final result movie is ProRes 422 so that's MY world. The OP wanted faster rendering and editing so using ProRes (if he had FCP) could facilitate that. Excuse me for suggesting it.
HOW DO YOU KNOW? He still hasn't told us what kind of footage he is cutting. There are a lot of formats that are a lot less strenuous than ProRes 422. He could literally be making it harder to cut with the horrible blanket advice that this subforum provides from rank amateurs that don't know their ass from their elbow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by laurim View Post
Excuse me for suggesting it.
Don't get your balls in a twist. It's the internet not a graduate class. And since you've been around so long you should know this place is filled with horrible information and little kids. Harden the hell up.
gameface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 07:09 PM   #22
I AM THE MAN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameface View Post
1080p tells us absolutely nothing. There are $200 cameras that shoot that and you could cut it on a 7-8 year old machine. There are $100K+ cameras that shoot that which you couldn't. For speed it is more dependent on your I/O, the codec the camera uses and the bit-rate instead of how much ram you have and what proc you go with.
Sorry. I will be editing using a T2I Rebel. Native Format.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II w/ 70-200mm f/2.8 NON IS L, 24-70mm f/2.8 L II, 50mm f/1.4, 28-135mm
I AM THE MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 07:10 PM   #23
gameface
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by I AM THE MAN View Post
Sorry. I will be editing using a T2I Rebel. Native Format.
Well in that regard you absolutely want to transcode to AIC if using FCE.

See folks... you get all the information before you make suggestions.
gameface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 07:16 PM   #24
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameface View Post
Well in that regard you absolutely want to transcode to AIC if using FCE.

See folks... you get all the information before you make suggestions.
For some it might not be needed, as I suggested what you just suggested 17 days ago.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 07:17 PM   #25
laurim
macrumors 6502a
 
laurim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Minnesota USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameface View Post
HOW DO YOU KNOW? He still hasn't told us what kind of footage he is cutting. There are a lot of formats that are a lot less strenuous than ProRes 422. He could literally be making it harder to cut with the horrible blanket advice that this subforum provides from rank amateurs that don't know their ass from their elbow.

Don't get your balls in a twist. It's the internet not a graduate class. And since you've been around so long you should know this place is filled with horrible information and little kids. Harden the hell up.
Sorry, I don't have balls to get into a twist but I guess you do, lol. I just asked a simple question about what uncompressed format people used to edit nowadays and you went into a tizzy. I don't understand why you think ProRes 422 is "strenuous" since I use it all the time, but whatever. Obviously, you're the editing god here and no one else should bother contributing to the conversation. Glad you admitted converting to AIC is correct.
__________________
2013 MacPro, 8-core, 32 GB RAM; Two 17" 2011 MacBook Pros; 17" 2008 MacBook Pro; iPhone 5S; AppleTV 2; iPod nano; 3T Time Capsule; 27" Apple Thunderbolt Display
laurim is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Designing a video editing machine mgphoto Mac Pro 4 Feb 10, 2014 02:20 AM
Minimum System Specs For Video Editing in 1080p Lil Chillbil Digital Video 10 Mar 25, 2013 10:53 AM
How good are MBPs for video editing? bchreng MacBook Pro 3 Oct 18, 2012 04:27 PM
Video Editing Machine Advice bigredmachine Buying Tips and Advice 3 Jul 24, 2012 12:14 PM
1080P Video Editing 15 Inch Retina ThisIsMe MacBook Pro 4 Jun 14, 2012 02:39 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC