Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 6, 2011, 12:45 PM   #1
ascender
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Send a message via MSN to ascender Send a message via Yahoo to ascender
Handbrake subtitles help please!

Looking for some help please as this is driving me nuts!

I have a .mkv file which I'm converting for ATV using the High Profile preset.

If I open the file in VLC, there's a selectable English subtitles track.

In Handbrake, I have two options for subtitles, the usual Foreign Audio Search and "0 - Unknown - (Text) (UTF8).

No matter which one I select and which of the options or combination of options (Forced Only, Burned In, Default) I select, I cannot get the resulting encode to display the english subs.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? I normally don't have these problems so I'm guessing I'm just having a bad day and missing something obvious.....

Thanks!
ascender is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2011, 12:53 PM   #2
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascender View Post
Looking for some help please as this is driving me nuts!

I have a .mkv file which I'm converting for ATV using the High Profile preset.

If I open the file in VLC, there's a selectable English subtitles track.

In Handbrake, I have two options for subtitles, the usual Foreign Audio Search and "0 - Unknown - (Text) (UTF8).

No matter which one I select and which of the options or combination of options (Forced Only, Burned In, Default) I select, I cannot get the resulting encode to display the english subs.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? I normally don't have these problems so I'm guessing I'm just having a bad day and missing something obvious.....

Thanks!
Well, foreign audio search will only select subs if they are flagged as foreign audio, which is not likely assuming you are using an mkv file for your source. So that leaves the UTF8 Track. HB cannot burn text subs tracks in (it should be disabled when that sub is chosen). it can only pass it through as another text subs track. Again assuming you are going to an m4v just pass it through as a subs text track. It should be selectable on the atv then as a soft sub. the atvs both disregard the default flag so you will have to activate it manually in the atv interface. Once chosen the subs will always display when you play said movie unless you turn them off.

Also, again assuming you are encoding to mp4 make sure the movie ends in .m4v for the atv.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2011, 12:54 PM   #3
newappleboy
macrumors 6502a
 
newappleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Send a message via AIM to newappleboy
The only thing I can think of is that you're pulling from an .mkv instead of a disc or image. I don't ever have those troubles when reading a disc or image, and have never seen an unknown text subtitle.
__________________
TheRealJamesDean.com - Where being cool and suave is always slightly out of reach.
Also, I'm a Tumblr!
newappleboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2011, 12:58 PM   #4
Jolly Giant
macrumors 6502a
 
Jolly Giant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
you can activate/deactivate subs - or choose chapters - by pressing (and keep pressing) the select button on the remote while the movie is playing.
__________________
The Jolly Green Giant
27"iMac11,1✦2,8GHz✦12GB✦i715"MBP3,1✦2,4GHz✦4GBMini3,1✦2.26GHz✦2GBTC 'sim-d'500GB2xAX(b/g)ATV2Touch2GiPad wifi16GB
Jolly Giant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2011, 01:44 PM   #5
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
If you have the SRT of the subs you want just use subler to add the file to the m4v you created.

In fact, if the MKV is already h264 no need to use handbrake at all..... Just use subler to re-parse it into a M4V file (If this is for the ATV2).
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2011, 01:59 PM   #6
Jolly Giant
macrumors 6502a
 
Jolly Giant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
if the MKV is already h264 no need to use handbrake at all
good point !

MKVtools is another great tool.
__________________
The Jolly Green Giant
27"iMac11,1✦2,8GHz✦12GB✦i715"MBP3,1✦2,4GHz✦4GBMini3,1✦2.26GHz✦2GBTC 'sim-d'500GB2xAX(b/g)ATV2Touch2GiPad wifi16GB
Jolly Giant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2011, 06:48 AM   #7
musio
macrumors 68000
 
musio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
From reading above, you can get a mkv & srt file and get them working on an ATV.

Can the merging of the subs so it's readable on the ATV be done if the file you want to convert is NOT a MKV and instead an AVI?
musio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2011, 08:45 PM   #8
kuwisdelu
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
As mentioned, for many mkv's, you don't need to use Handbrake for this. Instead, download MKVTools, Jubler, and Subler. Do this:

1. Extract the .ass subtitles using MKVTools.
2. Open .ass subtitles in Jubler and re-save as .srt.
3. Drop the .mkv onto Subler, uncheck the subtitles, then add the .srt file. Save as .m4v. You're done.

If the video stream inside the .mkv is H.264 level 5 or higher, you'll need to throw it into Handbrake after all to get it to play on the Apple TV 2. Just add the external .srt file you created.

All that said, the "burn in" option with the single subtitle track you saw listed in Handbrake should have worked, but you'd have burnt-in subtitles.
__________________
2.0 GHz quad-core i7 15" MacBook Pro 2011
iPad 2 (Black) WiFi+3G 64GB
iPhone 4S (White) 64 GB
kuwisdelu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbrake Presets and Subtitles kumquat Digital Video 0 Sep 15, 2013 04:54 PM
Handbrake, Subtitles, and subler. iOrbit Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Mar 28, 2013 04:19 PM
Handbrake and PGS subtitles Jack Tripper Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Mar 21, 2013 07:35 AM
Subtitles with Handbrake? hi-fi-video Apple TV and Home Theater 68 Jan 22, 2013 08:33 AM
How to rip subtitles in handbrake Supernerd Digital Video 1 Jan 1, 2013 10:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC