Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 23, 2011, 06:00 PM   #1
mikedgolf40505
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
Thumbs down Need help installing new hard drive

I am looking at buying a Seagate Hybrid drive. It is 500GB 7200 RPM HD and 4GB SSD. You can make the 4GB SSD the boot drive and therefor cut your boot time in about half. So can anyone give me some instructions on doing this. I have complete backups on a Time Capsule, so that is not an issue. I am not sure how to install the new drive or how to partition the SSD as the boot drive. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
mikedgolf40505 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 06:10 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
4GB will not be enough to hold Mac OS X.
Where have you read the part about using the SSD part separately? The Momentus XT combines the SSD and HDD and it will show up as one disk.
MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD
How to format a new HDD/SSD to install Mac OS X or make a bootable copy onto
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 06:10 PM   #3
riptideMBP
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
The momentus XT actually puts the most used files into those 4GB, and as far as I know, there is no way to change that, so you would treat it as any other replacement hard drive.
__________________
2010 15" MacBook Pro | 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 40GB Intel 320 in Optibay, 1TB Scorpio Blue | OSX & Windows7
riptideMBP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 06:10 PM   #4
ThirtyThr33
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boulder, Colorado
I don't mean to ask another question on top of your question but can the 4gb sad hold the entire OS? I thought the newest version of OSX was ~5-6gb?

Edit: NVM someone already replied before I posted lol
__________________
Disregard Females, Acquire Currency
ThirtyThr33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 06:16 PM   #5
riptideMBP
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirtyThr33 View Post
I don't mean to ask another question on top of your question but can the 4gb sad hold the entire OS? I thought the newest version of OSX was ~5-6gb?

Edit: NVM someone already replied before I posted lol
I'm not sure about lion, but you can easily get SL down to 5-6GB using the custom install options, and trimming programs
__________________
2010 15" MacBook Pro | 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 40GB Intel 320 in Optibay, 1TB Scorpio Blue | OSX & Windows7
riptideMBP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 06:34 PM   #6
Dresevski
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minnesnowda
Quote:
Originally Posted by riptideMBP View Post
I'm not sure about lion, but you can easily get SL down to 5-6GB using the custom install options, and trimming programs
But, bottom line is you'll want at to go for the 8GB range. Since nobody knows how Lion will be installed yet (download then install over or clean install) you might want that extra leeway
__________________
13" MBA, 1.7Ghz, 4GB RAM - mid 2011
27" iMac, 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, 120GB Vertex 3, 2TB Seagate HDD - mid 2011
Dresevski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 07:06 PM   #7
Sam2lucky13
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
I didnt read the hold thread but that 4gbs is not something that you can designate to put anything in particular on...on its own it uses that bit of flash for things you access the most.
Sam2lucky13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 07:26 PM   #8
mikedgolf40505
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
Thanks for the information

Apparently I was mistaken about using the SSD for the boot drive. I went to the Seagate site and it apparently uses it's own algorithm to determine what goes on the SSD and also controls the boot time. Supposedly these drives are faster than both HDs and SSDs, although I am not sure how they could be faster than SSDs. With that question out of the way, what do I do to install this drive properly?
mikedgolf40505 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 07:30 PM   #9
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikedgolf40505 View Post
Supposedly these drives are faster than both HDs and SSDs,
Where has that been stated?
Quote:
With that question out of the way, what do I do to install this drive properly?
Read the links I posted in my first reply. They include guides on how to do it.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 07:32 PM   #10
mikedgolf40505
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
@simsaladimbamba

Thanks so much for the help!!
mikedgolf40505 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 08:35 PM   #11
dsio
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Australia
Its actually not a bad way of handling it, as while OSX may be more than 4GB, only a tiny fraction of that will be read at boot or general usage. The standard install includes all of the additional cruft and applications that are a part of OSX and not used frequently.

The hard disk has no knowledge of where files are, or even what filesystem its running, it simply copies the most frequently accessed sectors of the disk into the flash memory, so it may in fact copy part of a file if not the whole file.

Also means that if in a RAID 0 array, it should still cache the most used sectors correctly across both disks and in effect act as an 8GB flash cache (or more given more disks).

That's what I'm aiming for for my laptop once I get the second 500GB disk and Optibay.
__________________
Early 2011 Macbook Pro 13" - 2.7Ghz i7 - 8GB RAM - OCZ Vertex 3 240GB (HDD) Samsung Spinpoint M8 1TB 9.5mm (Optibay) - iPad 3G 64GB - iPhone 3GS 32GB
dsio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 09:18 PM   #12
Sam2lucky13
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
ive used one its now in an enclosure and i have an ssd...its no where near as fast as an ssd
Sam2lucky13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Tags
hardware help, instruction needed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing New Hard Drive. JoeBeavis iMac 3 Jan 16, 2014 06:53 PM
Installing os x on a new hard drive Willievg OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Aug 8, 2013 05:18 AM
Any help with installing a new hard drive? nickdd13 MacBook Pro 2 Jun 14, 2013 01:44 PM
Installing the OS on a NEW hard drive. Tony Resta OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Mar 27, 2013 09:52 AM
Installing a 2nd hard drive replaces CD-drive MacOSXuser MacBook 2 Jul 22, 2012 07:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC