Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 26, 2011, 09:28 PM   #1
j2405
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 (Mac) Won't Run. Please Help!

Hi,

I was able to run Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 on my mac for the first few times, but every time I now click on the icon it says "An unrecoverable error has occurred, and RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 cannot continue"

I've uninstalled and reinstalled the program only to find the same problem.

Searching other chat boards, I've found that others have had the problem, but no real solution. Any help would be much appreciated!

The version I have is an actual Mac version not a Windows version that I'm using BootCamp with
j2405 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2011, 10:25 PM   #2
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Check for better error messages in Console.app in the Applications/Utilities folder... selecting to see All Messages.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2011, 10:59 PM   #3
j2405
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Thanks.

Under sender [PID] it reads: [0x0-0x21021].org.mozilla.firefox[176]

The Message is: Thu Jun 23 18:03:31 users-computer.local firefox-bin[176] <Error>: kCGErrorInvalidOperation: _CGSFindSharedWindow: WID 73


The command is repeated, but it doesn't really mean much to me.

Any idea of how I can fix the problem.

Thanks
j2405 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2011, 11:09 PM   #4
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
You running it on an Intel Mac? I had problems with it on my MacBook Pro, but it runs like a champ on my Powermac G5. Maybe its something to do with Rosetta?
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2011, 11:16 PM   #5
j2405
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Yeah, the processor is 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo.

Rosetta doesn't ring a bell and searching my computer I don't see it anywhere.
Not the most tech-savvy to be honest, just someone who wants to get back playing RCT3
j2405 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2011, 12:26 AM   #6
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Rosetta is built in and completely hidden.. its used to run PPC programs on Intel Macs... its also only on 10.4 - 10.6... and no PPC apps will run anymore on 10.7.

you need to look at the log a bit closer... I don't think a firefox entry has anything to do with your problem. Many things will be logged in there, it won't necessarily be the last line, it could be many, and intermixed with other things.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2011, 01:44 AM   #7
j2405
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Thanks. Very much apprecaited.
I sorted through the log and found the ones related to Rollercoaster Tycoon. Here, are a few. I'm not sure if they make any sense to you.

6/23/11 11:33:56 PM [0x0-0x27027].com.aspyr.RollerCoasterTycoon3[196] c:\coding\rct3\resource\Characters\AM\Shared\AttachmentL_AM01_L1.prt(3): Error : Not all symbols defined

6/24/11 12:19:32 PM RollerCoaster Tycoon 3[928] kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGSCopyRegion : Null pointer

6/24/11 12:19:32 PM RollerCoaster Tycoon 3[928] kCGErrorFailure: Set a breakpoint @ CGErrorBreakpoint() to catch errors as they are logged.

6/24/11 12:19:32 PM [0x0-0x1ca1ca].com.aspyr.RollerCoasterTycoon3[928] Fri Jun 24 12:19:32 users-computer.local RollerCoaster Tycoon 3[928] <Error>: kCGErrorIllegalArgument: CGSCopyRegion : Null pointer

6/24/11 12:19:32 PM [0x0-0x1ca1ca].com.aspyr.RollerCoasterTycoon3[928] Fri Jun 24 12:19:32 josh-jerusalmis-computer.local RollerCoaster Tycoon 3[928] <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: Set a breakpoint @ CGErrorBreakpoint() to catch errors as they are logged.
j2405 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2011, 09:20 AM   #8
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I don't see anything super useful there...

You can try looking for a plist in your home folders Library folder under Preferences... it should be named something like "com.aspyr.RollerCoasterTycoon3.plist" and remove it so the game will make a new one on start up. Might have to find out of the game keeps any other config files or data stored in other locations on your hard drive as well, usually it will be somewhere under your home folders Library in Application Support folder. Just removing the app and reinstalling it doesn't always get rid of the extra files that might be where the problem lies.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2011, 09:49 AM   #9
george315
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Have You downloaded the patch for intel macs?

http://www.aspyr.com/software/news/9/35
george315 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 04:39 AM   #10
GradientMac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Send a message via AIM to GradientMac Send a message via MSN to GradientMac Send a message via Yahoo to GradientMac Send a message via Skype™ to GradientMac
If you have installed the Soaked! expansion pack, you won't need to bother with installing the Universal patch as it's already included in the update.

If you don't have Soaked!, you'll need to install the above patch.
__________________
OS 10.6
Alu 27" iMac: 2.8GHz 17, 4GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD4850, 1TB HD, Uni. 13" MacBook: 2GHz C2D, 2GB RAM, 9400M, 160GB HD, white 16GB 3G S⃣
GradientMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would you take a naked iPhone 5 on a roller coaster? lamieu Wasteland 20 Mar 11, 2013 08:22 AM
Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 on the Air? Mjmar MacBook Air 0 Dec 25, 2012 04:37 PM
MacUpdate Bundle: 12 Mac Apps for $49.99, Including Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 29 Dec 9, 2012 02:39 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC