Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 30, 2005, 10:52 AM   #1
ChrisBrightwell
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
iPod photo Software Update -- Broken _show_voltage?

Hi Everyone,

I've been using the _show_voltage hack on my iPods from the beginning, first on a 3G 20GB and now on a 60GB photo.

Since updating this iPod to v1.1, though, the _show_voltage hack has stopped working. The file is there, but it's like the iPod just doesn't give a damn.

I haven't tried formatting and restoring the iPod. I might do that tonight. Any other suggestions? Am I the only one seeing this?

Thanks.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 12:24 AM   #2
ChrisBrightwell
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
OK ... restoring the iPod Software didn't do the trick.

Any ideas, anyone?
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 11:17 AM   #3
ChrisBrightwell
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Oh, come on.

I *know* I'm not the only person w/ a 60GB iPod photo using the latest version of the iPod Software.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 11:43 AM   #4
clayj
macrumors 604
 
clayj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 1123,6536,5321
You're not the only one. But I know not of this "_show_voltage" hack of which you speak, and I ain't gonna be hackin' my iPod anytime soon.
clayj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 11:45 AM   #5
ChrisBrightwell
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Here's more info on the hack:
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...40226061632743
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 12:11 PM   #6
pdpfilms
macrumors 68020
 
pdpfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vermontana
Quote:
clayjohanson
You're not the only one. But I know not of this "_show_voltage" hack of which you speak, and I ain't gonna be hackin' my iPod anytime soon.
I'm with you. An iPod is like a fine piece of art... I sure as hell wouldn't draw in a smile on the Mona Lisa.
pdpfilms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 12:46 PM   #7
ChrisBrightwell
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Hey, it's not like I'm cracking open the iPod and installing some sort of voltmeter or something. It's a simple software hack that changes the appearance of the battery meter to something infinitely more useful.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 01:02 PM   #8
clayj
macrumors 604
 
clayj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 1123,6536,5321
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBrightwell
Hey, it's not like I'm cracking open the iPod and installing some sort of voltmeter or something. It's a simple software hack that changes the appearance of the battery meter to something infinitely more useful.
Except it apparently doesn't work anymore. (Sorry, I'm still not trying it, especially if I don't think it's actually going to work.)
clayj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 01:05 PM   #9
ChrisBrightwell
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by clayjohanson
Except it apparently doesn't work anymore.
I'm trying to determine if this problem is unique to my iPod. The fact that no one can help confirm or deny that they're having the same problem I am does little more than frustrate me.

Quote:
(Sorry, I'm still not trying it, especially if I don't think it's actually going to work.)
Suit yourself. There's no harm to be done whatsoever, but suit yourself.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 01:36 PM   #10
clayj
macrumors 604
 
clayj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 1123,6536,5321
OK, riddle me this, and I'll try it: How do you UNDO the _show_voltage hack once you've enabled it? (I'm looking for the Terminal command line here.) I like my battery meter and I want to be able to switch straight back to it once I've tested the hack.
clayj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 01:47 PM   #11
ChrisBrightwell
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
To introduce the hack:
touch /Volumes/Your_iPod_Name/iPod_Control/Device/_show_voltage

To remove the hack:
rm /Volumes/Your_iPod_Name/iPod_Control/Device/_show_voltage

"touch" creates the file, "rm" removes it.

Thanks.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 01:58 PM   #12
clayj
macrumors 604
 
clayj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 1123,6536,5321
OK, I ran the command line in Terminal, ejected, disconnected, and restarted iPod. Still got a battery meter, so I'm assuming it doesn't work anymore.
clayj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2005, 02:09 PM   #13
ChrisBrightwell
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
... Interesting.

Thanks.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I control the download speed on Software Updates & iTunes? MikeonTV Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Oct 22, 2011 12:16 PM
New Install: Time Machine and Software Update Woes LastLine Mac Basics and Help 0 May 30, 2011 05:55 AM
Software Update not updating Apple2 OS X 2 Feb 16, 2011 09:14 PM
Software update won't work? pbush25 OS X 1 Jan 6, 2011 08:38 PM
iPod Photo Software Updates aaronb iPod 3 Sep 17, 2006 10:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC