Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 28, 2011, 08:37 PM   #1
m3the01
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Mac pro Dual Quadro 4000s (mac), boot camp, and windows 7 x64.

Can anyone give me any advice on how to get this running?


I have boot camp running with windows 7 x64 pro and the ati 5770 , but as soon as i install the quadro's she wont boot past the boot selection screen.

As soon as i hit 'enter' on boot windows, just freezes.

Thanks for the help!!!
m3the01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2011, 09:12 PM   #2
IceMacMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
How are you providing the required extra power to the cards?
__________________
MacPro MacPro 4,1 8core 2.66GHZ; 32 GB RAM; 12TB RAID; ATI4870, NvidiaGT120 30" ACD + 2 23" ACD
MBPro 2011 15" 8GB iPad2 iPodTouch 4th gen Other Macs, iPods
IceMacMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2011, 09:24 PM   #3
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceMacMac View Post
How are you providing the required extra power to the cards?
Quadro 4000s only require one power connector.

So if the OP is running the one power connector to each, he's good.

(They were specifically made to run in dual GPU configurations in the Mac Pro.)
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2011, 12:09 PM   #4
m3the01
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Yes, two power connectors. Everything works perfect with the new quadro drivers for display and CUDA in OSX. However, i have some 12 bit grayscale openGL code that only actually display 12 bit in windows. I would luv to get this running again,

The install went fine with boot camp and the ATi 5770. When i installed the two quadro cards i think the EFI dies during boot to windows. As i understand it the EFI module provides a bios like environment for windows when running bootcamp. As soon as i select windows for boot during startup, she just hands indefinitely.

thank you for the help, it is greatly appreciated!!!

cheers,
m3the01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2011, 08:20 PM   #5
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3the01 View Post
The install went fine with boot camp and the ATi 5770. When i installed the two quadro cards i think the EFI dies during boot to windows. As i understand it the EFI module provides a bios like environment for windows when running bootcamp. As soon as i select windows for boot during startup, she just hands indefinitely.
It really sounds like a Windows issue. As this is a Mac board, I'm not sure what to tell you...

Can you boot from the Windows install disk?
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2011, 08:35 PM   #6
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
try boot with one quadro.
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 06:11 PM   #7
m3the01
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Runs fine with one, but i need two...
m3the01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 06:50 PM   #8
Umbongo
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: England
Have you tried installing Windows fresh with both Quadros, so no trace of the 5770 or AMD drivers? There are loads of rare issues that crop up over graphical driver conflicts. Might even try XP too and see if that works.
Umbongo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 12:49 PM   #9
m3the01
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Yes i have tried installing fresh, it will not get past the boot selections screen or OSX or Windows. As soon as i select windows, she hangs...
m3the01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 04:32 AM   #10
mmughal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Drivers

Hi are you using the
http://www.nvidia.com/object/quadro-...ql-driver.html

drivers in bootcamp

? drivers look pretty new compares to the one provided for mac
mmughal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2014, 07:53 PM   #11
Evantron3000
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Hi, I'm wondering if this issue was ever resolved? I'm having the exact same thing happen to me. I have a 2009 mac pro with two Quadro 4000s. I can only install/boot to windows with one card in the machine. As soon as I install the second card, it hangs at the boot selection screen.

EDIT: This can't be a driver issue because the issue occurs just getting to the windows boot screen, before any drivers are loaded.
Evantron3000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Drops Windows 7 Boot Camp Support in New Mac Pro MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 391 Sep 14, 2014 01:01 PM
Windows 8 on Boot Camp on a Mac Mini oddnendz Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 4 Sep 4, 2013 04:31 AM
Boot Camp Frustration/HOW to dual boot Mac/Windows calvindsy Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 18 Aug 17, 2013 06:41 PM
Mac Pro 2008 3.1 - Can it boot camp a x64 bit windows 7? Metalshopteach Mac Pro 20 Mar 2, 2013 09:27 AM
Boot Camp: Same computer name for both Mac OS X and Windows 7? slapple OS X 4 Dec 9, 2012 06:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC