Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 10, 2011, 03:41 AM   #1
ben2e
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Hardware Error 4SNS/1/C0000008:TAOP--124 after SSD install

2011 iMac 27"
Intel 510 SSD

My fans were going nuts. After fan control software failed to make any difference, I ran the hardware test and got the error above. Any idea how to figure out what I may have failed to plug back in ? (Or hopefully not broke on the MB ?). Before I reconnected everything I even tried disconnecting SSD and HD but same crazy fan action. I've read the guides and associated HDD fan issues but this issue seems to be with other fans.

Sorry if I've transposed Oh's and Zero's above. All three fans for me seem to be going ballistic, but iStat is reporting reasonable temps (which should be the case).

Last edited by ben2e; Jul 10, 2011 at 11:24 AM.
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 07:50 AM   #2
dmylrea
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben2e View Post
My fans were going nuts. After fan control software failed to make any difference, I ran the hardware test and got the error above. Any idea how to figure out what I may have failed to plug back in ? (Or hopefully not broke on the MB ?)

Sorry if I've transposed Oh's and Zero's above. All three fans for me seem to be going ballistic, but iStat is reporting reasonable temps (which should be the case).
You didn't state which iMac you have. If it's a 2011 model, then do a little reading here, and do a whole bunch of Googling and reading to learn about your 2011 iMac and it's HDD and SSD limitations.
__________________
Microsoft Surface Pro and Dell Venue Pro 11 w/Mobile Keyboard
iPhone 5 / iPad Mini Retina 128GB / Lumia 1520 WP 8.1
Mac Pro 4,1 512GB RAID0 SSD + 2TB RAID 1 w/QHD Display
dmylrea is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 08:58 AM   #3
kasey01
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
I believe that TAOP mean the Ambient temp sensor is damaged/disconnected from logic board. You'll need to open it up and check to make sure that sensor wasn't damaged somehow and/or that you plugged it back it. I did this yesterday in my 2010 imac. I accidentally pinched the optical drive sensor which made the optical drive fan and the cpu fan rev up. I had to open it back up and tape the damaged areas. Good luck.
kasey01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 10:52 AM   #4
ben2e
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
2011 iMac 27" 2.7GHz

I have read about the HDD sensor issues but mine seemed to be different. I believe most folks who did the SDD addition didn't have hardware failures, they just suffered from HDD fan issues which could be fixed by fan control software. That wasn't the case for me.
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 11:07 AM   #5
ben2e
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kasey01 View Post
I believe that TAOP mean the Ambient temp sensor is damaged/disconnected from logic board. You'll need to open it up and check to make sure that sensor wasn't damaged somehow and/or that you plugged it back it. I did this yesterday in my 2010 imac. I accidentally pinched the optical drive sensor which made the optical drive fan and the cpu fan rev up. I had to open it back up and tape the damaged areas. Good luck.
Thanks. That seems worthwhile investigating. There was a bewildering number of connections to that MB. Seems like the optical drive sensor should be obvious enough. Whatever I can do to avoid pulling the MB again !
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 02:44 PM   #6
kasey01
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben2e View Post
Thanks. That seems worthwhile investigating. There was a bewildering number of connections to that MB. Seems like the optical drive sensor should be obvious enough. Whatever I can do to avoid pulling the MB again !
Just be to clear, I believe your error code is referring to ambient temperature sensor.
kasey01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2011, 05:02 PM   #7
ben2e
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Which one is the ambient sensor ? (location-wise inside the iMac)
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2011, 12:45 AM   #8
ben2e
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben2e View Post
Which one is the ambient sensor ? (location-wise inside the iMac)
OK, found it. Bottom left corner, right under the CPU fan.

Strange, I never touched the sensor itself and it was fairly well protected there under the CPU fan which never came out. I'll call Apple tomorrow and confirm that's what the error code means. It was definitely plugged in. Darn... Wishing I'd just paid up for the SDD from Apple at this point.
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2011, 06:40 PM   #9
ben2e
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Apple Technical support couldn't tell me what the error message meant ! Granted I didn't get to 2nd or 3rd level, I was still surprised they had no access to a meaningful list of error codes. Time to take it to the Genius Bar.
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2011, 08:39 PM   #10
kasey01
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Good luck at the Genius Bar. Let us know what they say.
kasey01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2011, 10:32 PM   #11
senseless
macrumors 65816
 
senseless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
iMac self service is ok until you make a small mistake and find yourself with a catastrophe. It's just too delicate for DIY upgrades.
senseless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2011, 11:05 AM   #12
ben2e
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by senseless View Post
iMac self service is ok until you make a small mistake and find yourself with a catastrophe. It's just too delicate for DIY upgrades.
I have to agree. I know people have done it successfully but these things aren't made to disassemble over and over. It creates wear and tear on the parts as well. At this point, if I'd paid myself $20/hr, I'm sure I haven't saved a dime.
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2011, 11:33 AM   #13
kasey01
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
I agree as well that it is generally not worth it doing yourself and things are going to become worn and/or break if you keep having to go in. I have probably removed the lcd 10-15 times and had to remove the logic board 3-4 times. Things that have become worn and/or broken since opening it:

1. One of the screws that holds the LCD to the case has become stripped and no longer screws tightly to the plastic part.
2. One of the plastic locking tabs on the display port connector broke the first time I opened it.
3. I damaged the optical drive temperature sensor by screwing the logic board on top of it.
4. A piece of metal tape which held one of the wires to the case came lose.

After finally getting my OWC SSD installed, I find out there is a problem with it freezing after sleeping so I have to remove the drive and send it back to OWC. I would recommend people paying an Apple Certified Tech to install it if they really want an SSD besides the Apple SSD.
kasey01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2011, 07:04 PM   #14
ben2e
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Took it to the Genius bar and indeed this is the Ambient Sensor that failed. I'm still not sure why but it's in to the Genius Bar for repair.
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2011, 09:33 PM   #15
kasey01
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
What did they say about you installing your own SSD? Are you having to pay for the repair?
kasey01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2011, 01:20 PM   #16
ben2e
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I won't find out for certain till I get it back but I did replace the original parts. I didn't like doing it but I didn't want to take the chance either. I'll be mighty relieved when this is all done and may not ever mod my iMac again.
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2011, 01:50 PM   #17
basher
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Glendale, AZ USA
Thumbs up

If they didn't quote you a repair cost it will most likely be free.

Fingers crossed for you.
basher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 12:51 PM   #18
ben2e
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Apple rocks ! They repaired it and claimed it was a bad main board. Strange that only the ambient sensor function would stop working but possibly the pins or socket somehow stopped working. These things are so small, not really meant for human fingers.
ben2e is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 06:10 PM   #19
senseless
macrumors 65816
 
senseless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Oh; very fortunate. Main board replacements are expensive!
senseless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2011, 10:22 AM   #20
amd is the best
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I just did the SSD upgrade in my 27" i7 and I am getting the exact same error. I really hope it's not the mainboard in my case. I will pull it apart again and make sure all the connections are good and that the ambient air temp sensor is hooked up and not pinched in any way.
__________________
Mid 2011 27" i7 3.4 iMac, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 16GB memory
Mid 2012 11" i7 2.0 MacBook Air 256GB, 8GB memory
iPhone 5 16GB, Apple TV2, Airport Extreme5, Airport Express2 (X2)
amd is the best is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 03:20 AM   #21
fourmonth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by ben2e View Post
Apple rocks ! They repaired it and claimed it was a bad main board. Strange that only the ambient sensor function would stop working but possibly the pins or socket somehow stopped working. These things are so small, not really meant for human fingers.
Hardware Error 4SNS/1/C0000008:TAOP--124 after SSD install

I have the same problem with you....
Finally, how do you resolve this problem?
Thanks for your help!!
fourmonth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 06:28 AM   #22
amd is the best
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fourmonth View Post
Hardware Error 4SNS/1/C0000008:TAOP--124 after SSD install

I have the same problem with you....
Finally, how do you resolve this problem?
Thanks for your help!!
In my case the motherboard had to be replaced. Luckily they covered under warranty.
amd is the best is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 09:54 AM   #23
fourmonth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by amd is the best View Post
In my case the motherboard had to be replaced. Luckily they covered under warranty.
Do you install SSD again!?
After U fix Ur iMac!?
fourmonth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 10:18 AM   #24
amd is the best
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fourmonth View Post
Do you install SSD again!?
After U fix Ur iMac!?
I sure did. Was extremely careful the second time and fully removed the motherboard rather then just trying to lift it up a bit to plug in the sata cable. Works perfect now. Couldn't imagine my iMac without it.
amd is the best is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 11:35 AM   #25
fourmonth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by amd is the best View Post
I sure did. Was extremely careful the second time and fully removed the motherboard rather then just trying to lift it up a bit to plug in the sata cable. Works perfect now. Couldn't imagine my iMac without it.
Good job!
I think I will do it after I fix it
fourmonth is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"4SNS/1/40000001: VMBS" Apple Hardware Test error on MP1,1 nycaleksey Mac Pro 8 Jan 14, 2014 04:30 PM
Apple Hardware Test 4SNS/1/C0000008: TAOP - 124 kostyyy MacBook Pro 0 Nov 7, 2013 08:37 AM
I mac mid 2010 21.5" Model A1311 (4SNS/1/c0000008: TG0H- -124) error jo498 iMac 0 Oct 17, 2013 05:25 PM
error: 4sns/1/40000001:vmas-0.000 on mac pro, help! dmc79 Mac Pro 12 Oct 21, 2012 09:35 PM
Installed SSD + HDD in MBP = Wifi No Hardware Install cramazing MacBook Pro 12 Jun 19, 2012 09:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC