Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > iCloud and Apple Services

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 18, 2011, 07:55 AM   #1
Benbikeman
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, England
Getting two copies of my iDisk on my desktop

I have my iDisk set to login automatically on startup. That drive appears on my desktop with my mobileme ID and works fine.

But, I also get a second copy, with -1 tacked on the end. This appears to be an exact duplicate. I can't eject it, as sync is on. So, I have to go to System Prefs -> Mobile Me, and stop the sync. Then I can eject the dupe and restart sync. I have to do this every restart.

Any ideas what is happening and how to fix it?
__________________
London wedding photographer | London portrait photographer | MBP 17 i7 2.4GHz 16Gb 2Tb | iPad 2 3G 64Gb
Benbikeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 08:12 AM   #2
paulsalter
macrumors 68000
 
paulsalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via ICQ to paulsalter Send a message via AIM to paulsalter Send a message via MSN to paulsalter Send a message via Yahoo to paulsalter
Sounds like the -1 is the real one

guessing but this is what looks like might have happened

you had iDisk local syncing on
this was turned off, so it creates a local version of it (the one without -1)
iDisk syncing was turned back on again, it couldn't create the correct one so it created the -1 version

I would try this to fix

turn off iDisk syncing (this might create another one on your desktop)
any iDisk folders on desktop, rename to something else (check to see if anything you need in them and then delete)
turn iDisk syncing back on

fingers crossed should only be one
__________________
Macbook C2D 2.16 GHz, 16GB 3G iPhone, 64GB iPod Touch & MobileMe
paulsalter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 08:53 AM   #3
Benbikeman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, England
Thanks for the fast reply.

> Sounds like the -1 is the real one

They're both real AFAICS (both work, both seem identical).

> I would try this to fix
> turn off iDisk syncing (this might create another one on your desktop)
> any iDisk folders on desktop, rename to something else (check to see if anything you need in them and then delete)
> turn iDisk syncing back on

When I turn off sync, I get a standard folder called something like 'Previous iDisk folders'. When I turn sync back on, it goes back to the original and dupe.
__________________
London wedding photographer | London portrait photographer | MBP 17 i7 2.4GHz 16Gb 2Tb | iPad 2 3G 64Gb
Benbikeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 08:57 AM   #4
paulsalter
macrumors 68000
 
paulsalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via ICQ to paulsalter Send a message via AIM to paulsalter Send a message via MSN to paulsalter Send a message via Yahoo to paulsalter
When you turn the syncing off and get Previous iDisk folder, do either of the other 2 stay or do both disappear
__________________
Macbook C2D 2.16 GHz, 16GB 3G iPhone, 64GB iPod Touch & MobileMe
paulsalter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 09:29 AM   #5
Benbikeman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, England
I'll check that. I need to restart to do it, and the Mac currently doing a large file upload, so will be about an hour before I can restart.
__________________
London wedding photographer | London portrait photographer | MBP 17 i7 2.4GHz 16Gb 2Tb | iPad 2 3G 64Gb
Benbikeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 09:45 AM   #6
paulsalter
macrumors 68000
 
paulsalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via ICQ to paulsalter Send a message via AIM to paulsalter Send a message via MSN to paulsalter Send a message via Yahoo to paulsalter
I am hoping it is going to leave the iDisk without -1 on your desktop, then deleting this and re enabling sync will put things as they should be
__________________
Macbook C2D 2.16 GHz, 16GB 3G iPhone, 64GB iPod Touch & MobileMe
paulsalter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 10:05 AM   #7
Benbikeman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, England
Thanks, will try it and report back.
__________________
London wedding photographer | London portrait photographer | MBP 17 i7 2.4GHz 16Gb 2Tb | iPad 2 3G 64Gb
Benbikeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 11:35 AM   #8
Benbikeman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, England
Ok, when I stopped the sync this time, the main disk disappeared from the desktop and the -1 one remained.

The problem seems to be that it's trying to connect twice at login. When I watch it startup, it mounts the idisk on its own first (it's ticked as a login item in System Prefs -> Accounts -> Login) then it brings up a dialogue asking me for my password. When I enter that, I get the dupe.

I can of course cancel it at that point, but would like to stop it doing that.
__________________
London wedding photographer | London portrait photographer | MBP 17 i7 2.4GHz 16Gb 2Tb | iPad 2 3G 64Gb
Benbikeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 11:56 AM   #9
paulsalter
macrumors 68000
 
paulsalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via ICQ to paulsalter Send a message via AIM to paulsalter Send a message via MSN to paulsalter Send a message via Yahoo to paulsalter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Assimilated View Post
Ok, when I stopped the sync this time, the main disk disappeared from the desktop and the -1 one remained.

The problem seems to be that it's trying to connect twice at login. When I watch it startup, it mounts the idisk on its own first (it's ticked as a login item in System Prefs -> Accounts -> Login) then it brings up a dialogue asking me for my password. When I enter that, I get the dupe.

I can of course cancel it at that point, but would like to stop it doing that.
It is a while since I used this (ran out of disk space so had to stop the syncing)

Does it need to be an item in the login pref?

I dont have syncing enabled, but iDisk is on my desktop (which is similar but I access directly instead of have a local copy) and I don't have any login items for this
__________________
Macbook C2D 2.16 GHz, 16GB 3G iPhone, 64GB iPod Touch & MobileMe
paulsalter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 12:02 PM   #10
Benbikeman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, England
Thanks!

I assumed it had to be a login item as there was a checkbox for it, and I had to check those to auto-mount other network drives (I have a Time Capsule with another drive hanging off the USB port of that). When I unchecked that, and rebooted, I got only the one copy.

No idea why it's a checkbox since it seems it isn't needed and in fact causes problems, but no matter, problem solved. :-)
__________________
London wedding photographer | London portrait photographer | MBP 17 i7 2.4GHz 16Gb 2Tb | iPad 2 3G 64Gb
Benbikeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 12:04 PM   #11
paulsalter
macrumors 68000
 
paulsalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via ICQ to paulsalter Send a message via AIM to paulsalter Send a message via MSN to paulsalter Send a message via Yahoo to paulsalter
nice one, thanks for letting me know it's fixed
__________________
Macbook C2D 2.16 GHz, 16GB 3G iPhone, 64GB iPod Touch & MobileMe
paulsalter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2011, 12:16 PM   #12
Benbikeman
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, England
Always. It's a pet hate of mine when people ask for help, get it and then don't report back. (Can't see how to edit the subject line to give it a 'Resolved:' prefix, though.)
__________________
London wedding photographer | London portrait photographer | MBP 17 i7 2.4GHz 16Gb 2Tb | iPad 2 3G 64Gb
Benbikeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > iCloud and Apple Services

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I get a copy of my receipt? alec Buying Tips and Advice 24 Sep 10, 2013 07:48 AM
two copies of Snow Leopard on one hard drive... snouter MacBook Pro 2 Apr 13, 2010 01:45 PM
Burning a bootable copy of Windows XP on my Mac that will boot when inserted in PC. kksf1481 OS X 12 Feb 1, 2009 11:54 AM
Getting Digital Copies of my 35mm photos thomahawk Digital Photography 14 Jan 12, 2009 02:36 AM
Mac OS X Mail - Always get two copies of sent mail. crjeong OS X 2 Apr 16, 2007 07:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC