Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 27, 2011, 04:05 PM   #1
kyle1320
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In my own little world
Will upgrading to 8GB RAM increase my Intel HD3000 graphics memory?

I saw a comment on 8GB of ram I ordered that in the 2011 MBP's on Lion when the system detects 8GB of RAM, it increases the shared memory of the Intel HD3000 integrated graphics to 512 MB instead of the default 384 MB. Is this true? I'm currently waiting for the RAM to arrive, and it'd be nice to know if this will happen, and if it will increase my graphics performance. Thanks
__________________
Google. Use it.
Hey, what's up?
kyle1320 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 04:08 PM   #2
fat jez
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glasgow, UK
yep, it is indeed
__________________
'11 MBP 2.3GHz 16GB RAM 240GB SSD 15" Anti-Glare screen OS X 10.9.2
iPhone 5S 64GB
iPad Air 32GB
fat jez is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 04:09 PM   #3
kyle1320
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In my own little world
Quote:
Originally Posted by fat jez View Post
yep, it is indeed
Cool, would this increase graphics performance?
__________________
Google. Use it.
Hey, what's up?
kyle1320 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 04:11 PM   #4
applefanDrew
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

What kind of RAM? I ordered cosair for 50 bucks on amazon.
__________________
Check out my app: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ligh...439464806?mt=8
applefanDrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 04:48 PM   #5
kyle1320
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In my own little world
Quote:
Originally Posted by applefanDrew View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

What kind of RAM? I ordered cosair for 50 bucks on amazon.
Same, Corsair 8GB 1333MHz for $45 after rebate.
__________________
Google. Use it.
Hey, what's up?
kyle1320 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 04:52 PM   #6
sparky1499
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Glasgow, UK
silly question, but does this apply to Snow Leopard too?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.0GHz i7 Quad, 4GB RAM, 500GB iPad Mini 16GB Wifi Black iPhone 5 16GB White
sparky1499 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 05:03 PM   #7
fat jez
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glasgow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle1320 View Post
Cool, would this increase graphics performance?
I'm not sure on that one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky1499 View Post
silly question, but does this apply to Snow Leopard too?
Yes, it's not really an OS thing, more of a firmware thing.
__________________
'11 MBP 2.3GHz 16GB RAM 240GB SSD 15" Anti-Glare screen OS X 10.9.2
iPhone 5S 64GB
iPad Air 32GB
fat jez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 09:02 PM   #8
Kentochan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Virginia, USA
On my 2011 base 13" MBP, I went from 384MB to 512MB on the Intel HD 3000 when upgraded to the 8GB RAM (G.Skill).
__________________
HTC EVO V 4G | 2011 13" MacBook Pro | Canon EOS 60D
Kentochan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 09:12 PM   #9
JH4DC5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
yup. pic for proof

__________________
MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz i7-2720QM / Samsung 830 256 GB SSD / Crucial 8 GB ram / Hi-res
iPhone 5 / iPad Air LTE / Rockboxed iPod 5G
JH4DC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 10:00 PM   #10
tombubi
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
That is useful info to know. Thanks.
tombubi is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 10:29 PM   #11
kyle1320
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In my own little world
Quote:
Originally Posted by JH4DC5 View Post
yup. pic for proof

Image
Did you notice a boost in graphics performance?
__________________
Google. Use it.
Hey, what's up?
kyle1320 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 11:04 PM   #12
JH4DC5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle1320 View Post
Did you notice a boost in graphics performance?
I haven't noticed any difference. I only ran with 4 gb of ram for a couple days before I upgraded, so I wouldn't be able to give you a good comparison. lol
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz i7-2720QM / Samsung 830 256 GB SSD / Crucial 8 GB ram / Hi-res
iPhone 5 / iPad Air LTE / Rockboxed iPod 5G
JH4DC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 11:13 PM   #13
dsio
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Australia
It won't increase performance per se, because much like upgrading system RAM, its not a performance improvement but rather a capacity improvement. It will mean that some games like Starcraft2 which require 512MB for textures to be on "high" can be run at that setting with no performance drawback.

If you upgrade to DDR3 1600, that will in fact improve graphics performance slightly as shared graphics memory does cause a bottleneck in all cards that use it including 320M, 9400M and HD3000.
__________________
Early 2011 Macbook Pro 13" - 2.7Ghz i7 - 8GB RAM - OCZ Vertex 3 240GB (HDD) Samsung Spinpoint M8 1TB 9.5mm (Optibay) - iPad 3G 64GB - iPhone 3GS 32GB
dsio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 11:17 PM   #14
nnoob
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle1320 View Post
I saw a comment on 8GB of ram I ordered that in the 2011 MBP's on Lion when the system detects 8GB of RAM, it increases the shared memory of the Intel HD3000 integrated graphics to 512 MB instead of the default 384 MB. Is this true? I'm currently waiting for the RAM to arrive, and it'd be nice to know if this will happen, and if it will increase my graphics performance. Thanks
It doesn't increase graphic performance.. All it does raise the graphic buffer to 512 mb, if you want the better performance, run graphic stuff under windows. The Apple OpenGL rendering stack and graphic drivers is a piece of crap on mac os x.
nnoob is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 11:18 PM   #15
dsio
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by nnoob View Post
It doesn't increase graphic performance.. All it does raise the graphic buffer to 512 mb, if you want the better performance, run graphic stuff under windows. The Apple OpenGL rendering stack and graphic drivers is a piece of crap on mac os x.
You've got it backwards, its vastly slower under Windows, the OpenGL performance on mac is current far ahead of both that and the Linux performance right now.
__________________
Early 2011 Macbook Pro 13" - 2.7Ghz i7 - 8GB RAM - OCZ Vertex 3 240GB (HDD) Samsung Spinpoint M8 1TB 9.5mm (Optibay) - iPad 3G 64GB - iPhone 3GS 32GB
dsio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 11:23 PM   #16
nnoob
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio View Post
You've got it backwards, its vastly slower under Windows, the OpenGL performance on mac is current far ahead of both that and the Linux performance right now.
IT slower under ATI graphic driver in Mac OS X. Maybe intel drivers have better graphic performance under Mac OS X
nnoob is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 12:51 AM   #17
S7A2G6
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: America (**** Yeah)
Mine does all that, and it is an 09 model.

But I did happen to order the Corsair 8GB from Amazon today. That is how I stumbled upon this forum and registered.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	46.9 KB
ID:	299732  

Last edited by S7A2G6; Aug 20, 2011 at 01:06 AM. Reason: Added Photo.
S7A2G6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 03:02 AM   #18
2hvy4grvty
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Faster RAM affects onboard graphic performance. This is really the only time I'd recommend getting MORE than 1333 RAM.
2hvy4grvty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 04:19 AM   #19
jgz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: suedtirol.italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2hvy4grvty View Post
Faster RAM affects onboard graphic performance. This is really the only time I'd recommend getting MORE than 1333 RAM.
badly, that 1666mhz RAM seems to be incompatible with Core i7/Core i5 built in mbp 13"..... As the Intel IGP is the only GPU available on that machine, every little plus in terms of speed inprovement would be nice.....

On the bigger ones mbp's it wouldn't make sense improving the IGP, because there's always available a Radeon for graphic intensive work....
jgz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 05:31 AM   #20
stevey69
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
to all the people that own the 2.2 i7 mbp 2011 15" .... is there any heating problems i should be worried about ? i recently placed my order for mbp and I'm expecting a shipment soon but I'm worried that the overheating is gonna trump my mbp experience. my previous mbp used to get hot too.. 08 mbp.. so please help... i am hearing that it doesn't overheat but then with some it does overheat and they have applied thermal paste to make it better... i don't know if i want to do all this.. help please. oh also.. my 2nd choice is a mba 13" i5 256ssd. help.
__________________
rmbp 8gb 512ssd, iphone 5 32gb, iPad 4 4G 128gb , ipad mini 4G 64gb , ipod nano 16gb 5th gen , Ipod 5.5G 30GB, apple tv 2, apple tv 3
stevey69 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 06:28 AM   #21
Lennyvalentin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevey69 View Post
is there any heating problems i should be worried about ?
No, SODIMM memories don't use much power and don't get particularly hot either.

As for the laptop itself, yes it can get pretty warm when working at full capacity, but this is normal and only to be expected from such a high-performing laptop computer. Any time you have a fast processor in a small enclosure there'll be a bunch of heat generated.

No need to worry though, the system is designed to handle that level of heat.
Lennyvalentin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 07:07 AM   #22
Hyper-X
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky1499 View Post
silly question, but does this apply to Snow Leopard too?
Yes.

To simplify what happens when memory is increased in the case of the Intel HD3000, it doesn't actually speed up much of anything. The additional RAM is mostly used for texture memory, which is useful when video is shot to a larger screen (i.e. larger EXT monitor). However speeding up the performance will require the data to be pulled from the VRAM quickly (this is why dedicated graphics adapters with GDDR are so fast at drawing textures).

System RAM is still slow compared to video RAM found usually on dedicated GPU's because data still has to pass through the slower system bus rather than being on-die or near the GPU itself.
Hyper-X is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 09:21 AM   #23
csjo00
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arkansas
I upgraded to 8GB earlier this week in my 2010 13" MBP and About this Mac still says 256MB. So either it doesn't work for 2010 MBPs or I need to tweak a setting.
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB (AT&T)
13" MacBook Pro (Mid-2012)
csjo00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 09:29 AM   #24
DWBurke811
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boca Raton, FL
It only works on the HD3000
__________________
7,1 MacBook Pro; 2.4GHz C2D, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3, 8GB Corsair RAM.
OS X 10.6.8; UnderVolted, 0.9250V @ 2394MHz.
iPhone 4; JB 5.0.1, Unlocked. iMod 60GB Gen5 Video; Red Wine Audio Mod, RockBox.
DWBurke811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 09:39 AM   #25
maril1111
macrumors 68000
 
maril1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by csjo00 View Post
I upgraded to 8GB earlier this week in my 2010 13" MBP and About this Mac still says 256MB. So either it doesn't work for 2010 MBPs or I need to tweak a setting.
Only works with the Intel 3000HD, nvidia users are out of luck for this one
maril1111 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can memory / RAM upgrade increase Final Cut Pro X performance? Justin098 MacBook 2 Nov 29, 2013 03:06 PM
Upgrading memory ram? americanGTA Mac Pro 3 Aug 26, 2013 01:13 PM
Upgrading to 8GB Memory? 13.3 2008 omri617 MacBook 6 Aug 7, 2013 02:48 AM
4GB or 8GB of RAM memory Ollifi MacBook Air 75 Jul 9, 2013 11:46 PM
Would I benefit by upgrading my 8gb RAM? Bronze84 MacBook Pro 11 Nov 5, 2012 04:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps