Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 28, 2011, 04:53 PM   #1
mentaluproar
macrumors 65816
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
ichat won't connect

Ichat won't connect to any of my accounts in Lion. It gave me some trouble in snow leo, but nowhere near this. It almost NEVER works. What can I try to fix this?
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?

Last edited by mentaluproar; Jul 29, 2011 at 04:07 AM.
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 03:35 PM   #2
shantastik
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Same!

Same problem, WON'T CONNECT! HELP
shantastik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 03:43 PM   #3
mentaluproar
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Fixed

Simple fix. Disable and reenable all accounts.
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 10:35 AM   #4
gujamin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta
Send a message via AIM to gujamin
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentaluproar View Post
Simple fix. Disable and reenable all accounts.
Tried that. Still just says "Offline"
gujamin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 12:05 AM   #5
UltraNEO*
macrumors 68040
 
UltraNEO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 近畿日本
Send a message via AIM to UltraNEO*
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentaluproar View Post
Ichat won't connect to any of my accounts in Lion. It gave me some trouble in snow leo, but nowhere near this. It almost NEVER works. What can I try to fix this?
I have a similar problem but with Facetime.
__________________
i7-3060X @4.9Ghz/RIVE/16Gb/BDRE/GTX580SLI/RAID5/3008WFPx2 | 光
UltraNEO* | follow me
UltraNEO* is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2011, 08:16 PM   #6
mstrshikadance
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Same Problem

anyone figure this out?

i am having the same problem.

iChat wont even try and connect, just stays "offline"
mstrshikadance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2011, 08:59 PM   #7
deannnnn
macrumors 68000
 
deannnnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York City & South Florida
I've had this happen 3 times now since upgrading to Lion. It's really frustrating, and I don't even use iChat all that much.

SOLUTION:
-Open up 'Activity Monitor' (use Spotlight to find it or go to Applications > Utilities).
-In Activity Monitor, find "imagent" and click the red "Quit Process" button. A dialogue will come up asking if you want to Quit, Cancel, or Force Quit. Select Force Quit and iChat will connect.
__________________
MacBook Pro (Retina) / iPhone 5S
deannnnn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2011, 09:42 PM   #8
danakm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wonderland
Send a message via AIM to danakm
Quote:
Originally Posted by deannnnn View Post
I've had this happen 3 times now since upgrading to Lion. It's really frustrating, and I don't even use iChat all that much.

SOLUTION:
-Open up 'Activity Monitor' (use Spotlight to find it or go to Applications > Utilities).
-In Activity Monitor, find "imagent" and click the red "Quit Process" button. A dialogue will come up asking if you want to Quit, Cancel, or Force Quit. Select Force Quit and iChat will connect.
Is this a permanent solution or will you have to do it every time you restart your computer and try to open iChat?
__________________
Mid-2009 MacBook Pro 15" 2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 8GB RAM 1TB HD Mac OSX 10.9
iPhone 4S 64GB iPad 2 3G 64GB 5th Generation iPod 80GB
danakm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2011, 11:53 PM   #9
deannnnn
macrumors 68000
 
deannnnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York City & South Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by danakm View Post
Is this a permanent solution or will you have to do it every time you restart your computer and try to open iChat?
It's a "fix it for a while" solution. I don't have to do it every time I open iChat, but I had to do it today for the third time since upgrading to Lion on launch day.
__________________
MacBook Pro (Retina) / iPhone 5S
deannnnn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2011, 06:27 PM   #10
Bahamut Eos
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by deannnnn View Post
I've had this happen 3 times now since upgrading to Lion. It's really frustrating, and I don't even use iChat all that much.

SOLUTION:
-Open up 'Activity Monitor' (use Spotlight to find it or go to Applications > Utilities).
-In Activity Monitor, find "imagent" and click the red "Quit Process" button. A dialogue will come up asking if you want to Quit, Cancel, or Force Quit. Select Force Quit and iChat will connect.
Hey, I had the same problem and this fixed it. I hope they fix this in a update soon. I have to bookmark this thread so I can remember immanent.

Thanks!
Bahamut Eos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 05:23 PM   #11
lorax3
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to lorax3
First time I'm having this issue is in 10.7.2. Gchat will connect in iChat, but AIM will not. Ending the process in iChat is not working for me. :-/ hmm

----------

For those having problems with AIM in 10.7.2 see this thread.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1247833

unchecking SSL will work for now.....
__________________
You think you know, but you have no idea.
lorax3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 05:41 PM   #12
Gemütlichkeit
macrumors 65816
 
Gemütlichkeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Yeah AIM isn't connecting for me either. 10.7.2

aah as posted above, uncheck SSL for AIM works. Not happy with that fix but it will do for now.
__________________
"It does me no injury for my neighbor to say there are twenty gods, or no God." -Thomas Jefferson
Gemütlichkeit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:09 PM   #13
quickmac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gemütlichkeit View Post
Yeah AIM isn't connecting for me either. 10.7.2

aah as posted above, uncheck SSL for AIM works. Not happy with that fix but it will do for now.
Yep uncheck SSL under server settings in iChat Preferences.
quickmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:34 PM   #14
hifoo45
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
You can also change the server to slogin.oscar.aol.com and keep SSL checked.
hifoo45 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 12:06 AM   #15
Gemütlichkeit
macrumors 65816
 
Gemütlichkeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifoo45 View Post
You can also change the server to slogin.oscar.aol.com and keep SSL checked.
high five
__________________
"It does me no injury for my neighbor to say there are twenty gods, or no God." -Thomas Jefferson
Gemütlichkeit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 12:18 AM   #16
southerndoc
macrumors 6502a
 
southerndoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifoo45 View Post
You can also change the server to slogin.oscar.aol.com and keep SSL checked.
Ah, finally fixed! 10.7.2 must have changed it to api.oscar.aol.com. Everything was working fine up until today when I updated to 10.7.2.
southerndoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 09:14 AM   #17
jeejeebu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifoo45 View Post
You can also change the server to slogin.oscar.aol.com and keep SSL checked.
Worked for me! Thanks.
__________________
13" MacBook Air 2011
MacBook, late 2006, white, 2.0 GHz
iPhone 4, 16GB
jeejeebu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't connect to wifi Andrewesno MacBook Pro 30 Mar 30, 2014 01:51 AM
New iMac won't connect to the Internet, but will connect to network. iTnetennba iMac 6 Jan 16, 2013 11:55 AM
iPad 1 - won't charge, won't connect to Mac Boo The Hamster iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Nov 9, 2012 09:02 AM
My 4s won't remember to auto connect to my wifi and it won't stay connected aliensarecool iPhone 2 Sep 20, 2012 05:47 PM
Help! MacBook won't connect to Wi-Fi! snarestud940 MacBook 2 Sep 7, 2012 03:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC