Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 7, 2011, 07:21 PM   #1
Foz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Question Problems installing Windows 7 using Bootcamp in Lion OS

I have the new MacBook Air. Tried installing Windows 7 using Bootcamp - it lets me proceed all the way to designating the size of the Windows partition. Then it starts loading the Windows files ... the first progress bar goes all the way but when the second progress bar starts, it stops a tenth of the way through and doesn't do anything more ... the drive stops spinning.

Everything is updated under Lion ... I have to reboot to Lion using the Option key and when I restart Boot Camp, it asks me to delete the Windows partition ... I tried the USB option but then halfway through, it stops loading the files on the USB drive ... and says it can't proceed any further. Is there a problem with my ISO image that I downloaded from MS?

Bootcamp is ver 4.0.1. Am I doing something wrong ... I was thinking of going to Parallels instead but I don't want to purchase it if I can't install Windows 7 that way either ...

Any thoughts would be great ...
Foz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 07:41 PM   #2
MisterDisney
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Wish I could be more helpful, but you can try Parallels for free for 14 days. There's also VirtualBox which is free (but you generally what you pay for ).
MisterDisney is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 07:45 PM   #3
Typswif2fingers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Perth WA Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foz View Post
I have the new MacBook Air. Tried installing Windows 7 using Bootcamp - it lets me proceed all the way to designating the size of the Windows partition. Then it starts loading the Windows files ... the first progress bar goes all the way but when the second progress bar starts, it stops a tenth of the way through and doesn't do anything more ... the drive stops spinning.

Everything is updated under Lion ... I have to reboot to Lion using the Option key and when I restart Boot Camp, it asks me to delete the Windows partition ... I tried the USB option but then halfway through, it stops loading the files on the USB drive ... and says it can't proceed any further. Is there a problem with my ISO image that I downloaded from MS?

Bootcamp is ver 4.0.1. Am I doing something wrong ... I was thinking of going to Parallels instead but I don't want to purchase it if I can't install Windows 7 that way either ...

Any thoughts would be great ...
Not sure mate. I just wanted to say that I tried to load W7 on the bootcamp partition yesterday on my MBP and it did not go through.. Once in bootcamp, the W7 disk does not get recognised.
__________________
Pencil v2.1.3; Paper v3.11.234; Eraser v1.7865.2; Fingers v1.0 and Abacus v3.77
Typswif2fingers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 07:59 PM   #4
Foz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterDisney View Post
Wish I could be more helpful, but you can try Parallels for free for 14 days. There's also VirtualBox which is free (but you generally what you pay for ).

If I use Parallels, do I need an anti-virus program such as Norton if I have Windows on my MacBook Air?
Foz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 08:04 PM   #5
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foz View Post
If I use Parallels, do I need an anti-virus program such as Norton if I have Windows on my MacBook Air?
Always a good idea with any Windows install.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 08:09 PM   #6
blevins321
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Detroit Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foz View Post
If I use Parallels, do I need an anti-virus program such as Norton if I have Windows on my MacBook Air?
Use a free one like Avira or AVG.
__________________
Late 2013 15" Retina MBP; iPhone 5S; iPad Air
blevins321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 08:32 PM   #7
MJL
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foz View Post
If I use Parallels, do I need an anti-virus program such as Norton if I have Windows on my MacBook Air?
I remember reading about this problem with apparent stalling, but cannot remember the fix. IIRC you had to reboot at the correct moment in order to proceed.

Regarding windows under Parallels , anti virus and bootcamp: Under BootCamp Windows can read the OS X files but not write to them. Similarly under bootcamp OS X can read the Windows files but not write to them so you are relatively safe. Under Parallels you can write to the OS X files so it is better to use some anti virus. However... it all depends what you are doing and how your backup / restore procedures have been implemented. During the past 10 years I have regularly been pushing my hardware to the limits and cannot afford the overhead of an anti malware program, Norton's is one of the worst and darn hard to remove (unless you install it using a special uninstaller program like Total Uninstall 5). Basically I have been running for the past 10 years happily without any anti malware running real time and every now and then in a blue moon I might decide to run something online like KasperSky or AntiVir and have not found anything. But then I do a restore of the "fresh install" every month when MSN releases their updates and make a new backup and I do not visit any other sites than my regular few sites that I know are properly guarded.
MJL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 08:43 PM   #8
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by blevins321 View Post
Use a free one like Avira or AVG.
Or even MSE.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'No bootable device' - bootcamp windows 7 MBP lion problems soldado Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Aug 29, 2013 08:22 AM
Problems with installing windows 7 from usb on macbook pro lion l.mac Mac Basics and Help 0 Jan 26, 2013 08:10 PM
Problems installing Bootcamp on new iMac Sue De Nimes Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 8 Jan 10, 2013 04:20 AM
Cannot boot to Windows after installing windows not through bootcamp haisergeant Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jan 2, 2013 01:01 PM
Installing Windows 8 on Bootcamp - yes or no? imacken Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 12 Nov 11, 2012 05:40 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC