Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 12, 2011, 02:04 PM   #1
lionnewbie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Installing Photoshop on 64 bits and switching to 32 on Lion

Hi,

I will be installing photoshop CS5 on my new macbook air i5.

As some of you may be aware, Lion and I believe Leopard run as 64 bit operating systems, but apparently you can switch easily to 32 bits by rebooting the machine and holding down the keys 2 and 3.

My question is, have any of you installed Photoshop CS5 on lion yet, and can you please let me know if you can run Photoshop when the operating system is running at 32 bits?

And don't worry about needing to do anything to switch back to 64. It does it automatically once you reboot again after being in 32 bit mode.


The reason I ask is because I run some special work related programs that only run while the OS is set to 32, so I want to know if it is possible to run Photoshop irrespective of how you are running Lion.

Thanks so much for your info.
lionnewbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2011, 02:08 PM   #2
iTabone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I'm actually thinking of going lighter and using the slim PS on the Mac App Store.
__________________
2011 15.4" Sandy 2.2 GHz i7 Macbook Pro 750GB HD 8 GB Memory 6750M with 1GB GDDR5
2011 11.6" i5 Macbook Air 128GB SSD 4 GB Memory
iTabone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2011, 02:10 PM   #3
lionnewbie
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by iTabone View Post
I'm actually thinking of going lighter and using the slim PS on the Mac App Store.
Which features are missing from that version when compared to the full version you can download from the adobe site?
lionnewbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2011, 11:50 PM   #4
ro050408
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iTabone View Post
I'm actually thinking of going lighter and using the slim PS on the Mac App Store.
I just checked the App Store, and I do not see any versions of Photoshop on there. What are you seeing?
ro050408 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 12:24 AM   #5
Charcoalwerks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
You can get Elements on the App store.

Thumb resize.
Charcoalwerks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 12:32 AM   #6
B.Chang
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charcoalwerks View Post
You can get Elements on the App store.

Thumb resize.
Correct me if I am wrong, but I remember reading somewhere that the PSE on the App store is a cut down version of elements.
B.Chang is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 07:59 AM   #7
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Top left corner
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionnewbie View Post
Hi,

I will be installing photoshop CS5 on my new macbook air i5.

As some of you may be aware, Lion and I believe Leopard run as 64 bit operating systems, but apparently you can switch easily to 32 bits by rebooting the machine and holding down the keys 2 and 3.

My question is, have any of you installed Photoshop CS5 on lion yet, and can you please let me know if you can run Photoshop when the operating system is running at 32 bits?

And don't worry about needing to do anything to switch back to 64. It does it automatically once you reboot again after being in 32 bit mode.


The reason I ask is because I run some special work related programs that only run while the OS is set to 32, so I want to know if it is possible to run Photoshop irrespective of how you are running Lion.

Thanks so much for your info.
From another thread I see you're buying a MacBook Air.

You should know that, as far as I've read, Lion runs full-time as a 64-bit kernel. If you have software that runs only on a 32-bit kernel, you better make sure it's Lion compatible. AFAIK there is no 32-bit kernel on Lion.

And the new MBAs only run Lion.

I could be wrong, but it sounds like you'll need to check it out.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by B.Chang View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, but I remember reading somewhere that the PSE on the App store is a cut down version of elements.
I think it's missing the photo organizer module. They're presuming the buyer will be using iPhoto for that functionality.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac 1.8GHz i7 11" MacBook Air 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display
4TB RAID 10 8TB RAID 0 6TB RAID 0 2TB Time Capsule ac White/silver iPhone 5S & iPad Air
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 08:16 AM   #8
chrfr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionnewbie View Post
The reason I ask is because I run some special work related programs that only run while the OS is set to 32, so I want to know if it is possible to run Photoshop irrespective of how you are running Lion.

Photoshop CS5 will run as a 64-bit app even on a 32-bit kernel, so you don't need to do anything with it. Most applications don't directly interact with the kernel.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 05:00 PM   #9
wordplanet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
You can switch Photoshop CS5 to 32 bit on Lion to work with plug-ins such as vertus. You also need to run it in 32-bit mode if you want to use the Exposure slider in Photoshop (not in RAW, that runs at 64-bit). I've done it. It doesn't switch back to 64-bit when you restart the computer, at least not on my iMac nor on my Macbook Pro - both running Lion and CS5.
wordplanet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 05:12 PM   #10
Beanoir
macrumors 6502a
 
Beanoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 51 degrees North
Quote:
Originally Posted by wordplanet View Post
You also need to run it in 32-bit mode if you want to use the Exposure slider in Photoshop (not in RAW, that runs at 64-bit). I've done it. It doesn't switch back to 64-bit when you restart the computer, at least not on my iMac nor on my Macbook Pro - both running Lion and CS5.

My CS5 exposure slider works fine, and I don't ever run it in 32bit....and thats on my MBA and my iMac...
__________________
iPhone5 32Gb-iPad Mini 64Gb
iMac 27" 3.2Ghz i3 / 16Gb / 1Tb
MacMini 2.33GHz / 128Gb SSD / 20" ACD
Macbook Air 11.6" 1.6Ghz i5 / 4Gb / 128Gb
Beanoir is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will installing Mavericks on a Mac Pro 2009 (4.1) work? Will it run in 64 bits? Mac Pro 2009 Mac Pro 4 Jan 3, 2014 05:54 PM
BSOD when installing BootCamp Drivers on Windows 7 32 bits etiennepilon MacBook Pro 9 May 13, 2013 11:30 AM
If I clean install Lion, can I use bits of my ML backup? MoodyM OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Aug 31, 2012 07:39 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC