Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 20, 2011, 09:03 AM   #1
WebMystic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Jersey
Lion - unable to scan Resource Busy

MacBook Pro 15-inch, Mid 2009 (FRESH BUILD)

Newly installed Snow Leopard from apple restoration disk. Then installed Lion from app store. Restored apps from TimeMachine backup.

Trying to created a Hackintosh USB drive. (Please don't sway from topic - important fact is I can no longer create a USB image using Disk Utility)

Let me also say that I've created plenty of USB disk in the past SO I KNOW HOW DISK UTILITY WORKS.

Steps to create USB image:
  1. Partitioning the USB drive.
  2. Drag the .dmg file to the Source
  3. Drag the USB drive to the Destination
The Lion Disk Utility wants to then scan the Source before making the image. After I type my admin password I continue to get a message, "Unable to scan [volume Media]." (Resource busy)
WebMystic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2011, 12:54 AM   #2
autotom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Lightbulb I Had the same problem

Exact same issue.. something must have been holding onto the USB..

format it as 'free space' with a GUID partition table

physically remove USB

plug back in

( hopefully ) it will say 'disk could not be initialized' click IGNORE

proceed with restore.
autotom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 05:40 PM   #3
alfa147x
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I figured out a fix. Click the partition under the usb drive you want to restore the image on to. Then click File then Unmount.

Then re-do the restore. Worked for me.
alfa147x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 04:10 PM   #4
bdkennedy1
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
I unmounted the partition but I still get the resource busy message.
bdkennedy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 07:56 AM   #5
rchang
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
move image drive to another location...

i tried restoring a .dmg of a USB flash drive with Lion Disk Utility.

Disk Utility was giving the "unable to scan" resource error when the .dmg I was trying to restore from was an external usb hard drive. This error occurred with both my MBPro4,1 and my MBAir3,1.

I ended up copying the dmg file from the external drive onto the internal HD of my laptop and the scan completed successfully... it's now copying blocks, fingers crossed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WebMystic View Post
MacBook Pro 15-inch, Mid 2009 (FRESH BUILD)

Newly installed Snow Leopard from apple restoration disk. Then installed Lion from app store. Restored apps from TimeMachine backup.

Trying to created a Hackintosh USB drive. (Please don't sway from topic - important fact is I can no longer create a USB image using Disk Utility)

Let me also say that I've created plenty of USB disk in the past SO I KNOW HOW DISK UTILITY WORKS.

Steps to create USB image:
  1. Partitioning the USB drive.
  2. Drag the .dmg file to the Source
  3. Drag the USB drive to the Destination
The Lion Disk Utility wants to then scan the Source before making the image. After I type my admin password I continue to get a message, "Unable to scan [volume Media]." (Resource busy)
rchang is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 04:44 AM   #6
SonnyDickson
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
 
Send a message via AIM to SonnyDickson Send a message via MSN to SonnyDickson Send a message via Yahoo to SonnyDickson Send a message via Skype™ to SonnyDickson
Still won't work for me...
SonnyDickson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 11:01 PM   #7
bigshot007
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
I found the problem after reading all over the net... Mount the image you want to restore first and use the mounted image. It should work.
bigshot007 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2012, 09:20 AM   #8
SnibbleBits
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Ensure source is selected (and unmounted) in disk list

I had this problem and what worked for me was ensuring that the source disk was selected in the disk list panel on left as well. I had the destination disk selected at left but properly had my source disk in the "source" field and the destination disk in the "destination" field.

The program wants to unmount and verify the source and assumes that whatever you have selected in the list of disks at left is also the source. Pay attention to the id of the disk that is being reported as "busy". If you're getting this error then either your source is selected at left and is currently mounted (unmounting it should work) or you have some other active disk or partition selected in the list of disks at left.

Hope this helps someone.
SnibbleBits is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 06:16 AM   #9
tinmancactus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigshot007 View Post
I found the problem after reading all over the net... Mount the image you want to restore first and use the mounted image. It should work.
This worked for me as well. I unmounted the destination drive and mounted ('Open' button) the source disk image. Works fine.
tinmancactus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2012, 10:27 AM   #10
bfeister
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
I found the problem after reading all over the net... Mount the image you want to restore first and use the mounted image. It should work.
and

Quote:
Exact same issue.. something must have been holding onto the USB..

format it as 'free space' with a GUID partition table

physically remove USB

plug back in

( hopefully ) it will say 'disk could not be initialized' click IGNORE

proceed with restore.
Were BOTH the issue for me, it wasn't until I did both that I was able to get the result I was looking for. Hope this helps someone else!
bfeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 06:53 PM   #11
DaMan05
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigshot007 View Post
I found the problem after reading all over the net... Mount the image you want to restore first and use the mounted image. It should work.
Worked for me. Didn't have to format as free space.

Thanks
DaMan05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2012, 02:43 PM   #12
goodcyning
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigshot007 View Post
I found the problem after reading all over the net... Mount the image you want to restore first and use the mounted image. It should work.
This finally worked after about an hour of frustration...
goodcyning is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2012, 03:35 PM   #13
dwilt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnibbleBits View Post
I had this problem and what worked for me was ensuring that the source disk was selected in the disk list panel on left as well. I had the destination disk selected at left but properly had my source disk in the "source" field and the destination disk in the "destination" field.

The program wants to unmount and verify the source and assumes that whatever you have selected in the list of disks at left is also the source. Pay attention to the id of the disk that is being reported as "busy". If you're getting this error then either your source is selected at left and is currently mounted (unmounting it should work) or you have some other active disk or partition selected in the list of disks at left.

Hope this helps someone.
Snibblebits, thank you - this worked.
dwilt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 07:55 PM   #14
frtoledo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Problem solved

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnibbleBits View Post
I had this problem and what worked for me was ensuring that the source disk was selected in the disk list panel on left as well. I had the destination disk selected at left but properly had my source disk in the "source" field and the destination disk in the "destination" field.
Thanks, I tried your solution and it worked as described.
I am using mountain lion on a macbook pro mid 2010.
frtoledo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 10:08 AM   #15
jbdjunk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Smile My Solution - Step by Step

Thank you all for your solutions and help in this forum. It took me a while to figure it all out, but this is what I ended up doing:

1. Open Disk Utility
2. Plug in USB
3. Format USB to Mac Extended (Journaled)
4. Create Partition on USB [GUID for Intel chips, APM for PPC]
5. Unmount created Partition
6. Drag and Drop disk image (dmg or iso) into Disk Utility
7. Open disk image (double click or button in DU)
8. Select opened disk image on left menu
9. Click over to Restore
10. Drag and drop selected image into source field
11. Drag and drop (unmounted) USB partition into destination
12. OK (may have to type in admin passwords and such)
13. Wait
14. Enjoy!
jbdjunk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:45 PM   #16
nuube
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Frustating resore error

"Unable to scan XXXX Resource busy" has always referred to the destination drive which seems to be hooked into OSX somehow (despite removal and reinsertion). Creation of a new partition (MBR is all that was required for me) on the destination drive then formatting it resolves the error when attempted to restore again, in my experience

I usually mount the source archive.
nuube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 11:31 AM   #17
magneat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Lightbulb

You can try this solution of a similar problem.
magneat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 11:27 AM   #18
SkippyThorson
macrumors 65816
 
SkippyThorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Utica, NY
Send a message via AIM to SkippyThorson
I just got over this frustration. I'm not sure what the problem was. I've been trying to make a Hackintosh USB for about a month.

A year ago, I made one with absolutely no problem whatsoever. Inserted the OSX Disc, clicked the flash drive as my destination after a correct formatting, and let it install. It failed every time under 10.6, 10.7 and 10.8. I could not for the life of me get this generic 32gb flash drive to work.

Luckily, the old one I have is on a 16gb SanDisk Cruzer, and it took 10.7 just fine. I've even wiped it a time or two just to start over. It's never let me down once.

So I'm lost as to why the generic 32gb is giving me such a headache. My final solution was to just make a disk image of 10.7 on the SanDisk, and restore it onto the generic flash drive.

ALAS, I get this "Unable To Scan" error, which has lead me here now.

I managed to get it to work (somehow) after a few Erase attempts. If I had the flash drive selected, and click restore, it put it in the source column on top. Only after I had the disk image selected, and it was on top by default, did the whole thing seem to work. I dragged the generic drive to the bottom.

As I type this, it's at 13 minutes to go. Looks like it's working... Fingers crossed. What a nightmare this is. I'm still stunned by how easy it was with the other flash drive compared to what a production this has been.

-----

It worked. Once. I got the flash drive to boot. Then it wouldn't shut down. Now the flash drive gives me a reformat error, and it won't even work with the good image I have. It begins to boot, and then the computer turns off. What a piece of crap this thing is. I think it's just the cheap-o, generic flash drive, and nothing else.
__________________
Skippy Thorson @ Blogspot
AT&T iPhone 5, T-Mobile iPad 4, all sorts of iPods, TV2
2.4ghz '08 Al. MacBook, 2.4ghz '10 Mac Mini, Al. 20" Cinema, iBook & iMac G4s, AEBS

Last edited by SkippyThorson; Mar 8, 2013 at 09:36 AM. Reason: Update
SkippyThorson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2013, 08:43 AM   #19
supremedesigner
macrumors 6502a
 
supremedesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbdjunk View Post
Thank you all for your solutions and help in this forum. It took me a while to figure it all out, but this is what I ended up doing:

1. Open Disk Utility
2. Plug in USB
3. Format USB to Mac Extended (Journaled)
4. Create Partition on USB [GUID for Intel chips, APM for PPC]
5. Unmount created Partition
6. Drag and Drop disk image (dmg or iso) into Disk Utility
7. Open disk image (double click or button in DU)
8. Select opened disk image on left menu
9. Click over to Restore
10. Drag and drop selected image into source field
11. Drag and drop (unmounted) USB partition into destination
12. OK (may have to type in admin passwords and such)
13. Wait
14. Enjoy!
Kudos!!!! You just saved my day! All the blibber blubber out there for solutions that aren't working. Thank you!!
supremedesigner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 11:59 PM   #20
BBond
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Talking Thank you this worked perfect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbdjunk View Post
Thank you all for your solutions and help in this forum. It took me a while to figure it all out, but this is what I ended up doing:

1. Open Disk Utility
2. Plug in USB
3. Format USB to Mac Extended (Journaled)
4. Create Partition on USB [GUID for Intel chips, APM for PPC]
5. Unmount created Partition
6. Drag and Drop disk image (dmg or iso) into Disk Utility
7. Open disk image (double click or button in DU)
8. Select opened disk image on left menu
9. Click over to Restore
10. Drag and drop selected image into source field
11. Drag and drop (unmounted) USB partition into destination
12. OK (may have to type in admin passwords and such)
13. Wait
14. Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~ Thank you this worked perfect! http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/icons/icon10.gif
BBond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 07:51 PM   #21
adamcarroll
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbdjunk View Post
Thank you all for your solutions and help in this forum. It took me a while to figure it all out, but this is what I ended up doing:

1. Open Disk Utility
2. Plug in USB
3. Format USB to Mac Extended (Journaled)
4. Create Partition on USB [GUID for Intel chips, APM for PPC]
5. Unmount created Partition
6. Drag and Drop disk image (dmg or iso) into Disk Utility
7. Open disk image (double click or button in DU)
8. Select opened disk image on left menu
9. Click over to Restore
10. Drag and drop selected image into source field
11. Drag and drop (unmounted) USB partition into destination
12. OK (may have to type in admin passwords and such)
13. Wait
14. Enjoy!
Perfect! Thank you!
adamcarroll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2013, 11:59 AM   #22
shamus109
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
was having the same problem on mountian lion. opening up "mounting" the source file first so that it appears in the disk utility program did the trick.
shamus109 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 03:57 PM   #23
Nerdface Killah
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Just in case someone else comes across this I was having problems but after I unmounted the partition on the thumb drive everything went smooth.
Nerdface Killah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2013, 04:21 PM   #24
tasssos8
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Thumbs up Best solution, read this from bigshot007

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigshot007 View Post
I found the problem after reading all over the net... Mount the image you want to restore first and use the mounted image. It should work.
Thank you so much!!! Thius is the one and simple solution!!!
tasssos8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2013, 02:12 PM   #25
p1ra73x
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Permissions

I just had the same problem, What I did to cause it was copy the file from an NTFS partition to my lion JFS, and somewhere along the line there were inherited permissions. After unlocking the file, chmod, chown, and making it accessible by my and the admin user group it went through properly. Hope this helps, I registered just to drop this in here lol.
p1ra73x is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now unable to Scan with HP Printer nicefellow OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 May 17, 2014 12:23 AM
iMac(2009)not detecting scan function on HP6500 after upgrade 2 Snow Lion Riverman47 iMac 2 Aug 18, 2013 07:09 PM
Resolved: Need Help Please - Unable to install Mountain Lion! jedolley OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 11, 2013 12:14 AM
Unable to re-download Mountain Lion Basic75 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 7 Nov 11, 2012 05:42 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC