Lion - unable to scan Resource Busy

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by WebMystic, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    WebMystic

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Jersey
    #1
    MacBook Pro 15-inch, Mid 2009 (FRESH BUILD)

    Newly installed Snow Leopard from apple restoration disk. Then installed Lion from app store. Restored apps from TimeMachine backup.

    Trying to created a Hackintosh USB drive. (Please don't sway from topic - important fact is I can no longer create a USB image using Disk Utility)

    Let me also say that I've created plenty of USB disk in the past SO I KNOW HOW DISK UTILITY WORKS.

    Steps to create USB image:
    1. Partitioning the USB drive.
    2. Drag the .dmg file to the Source
    3. Drag the USB drive to the Destination
    The Lion Disk Utility wants to then scan the Source before making the image. After I type my admin password I continue to get a message, "Unable to scan [volume Media]." (Resource busy)
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #2
    I Had the same problem

    Exact same issue.. something must have been holding onto the USB..

    format it as 'free space' with a GUID partition table

    physically remove USB

    plug back in

    ( hopefully ) it will say 'disk could not be initialized' click IGNORE

    proceed with restore.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    #3
    I figured out a fix. Click the partition under the usb drive you want to restore the image on to. Then click File then Unmount.

    Then re-do the restore. Worked for me.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    #4
    I unmounted the partition but I still get the resource busy message.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    #5
    move image drive to another location...

    i tried restoring a .dmg of a USB flash drive with Lion Disk Utility.

    Disk Utility was giving the "unable to scan" resource error when the .dmg I was trying to restore from was an external usb hard drive. This error occurred with both my MBPro4,1 and my MBAir3,1.

    I ended up copying the dmg file from the external drive onto the internal HD of my laptop and the scan completed successfully... it's now copying blocks, fingers crossed.

     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    #7
    I found the problem after reading all over the net... Mount the image you want to restore first and use the mounted image. It should work.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #8
    Ensure source is selected (and unmounted) in disk list

    I had this problem and what worked for me was ensuring that the source disk was selected in the disk list panel on left as well. I had the destination disk selected at left but properly had my source disk in the "source" field and the destination disk in the "destination" field.

    The program wants to unmount and verify the source and assumes that whatever you have selected in the list of disks at left is also the source. Pay attention to the id of the disk that is being reported as "busy". If you're getting this error then either your source is selected at left and is currently mounted (unmounting it should work) or you have some other active disk or partition selected in the list of disks at left.

    Hope this helps someone.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    #9
    This worked for me as well. I unmounted the destination drive and mounted ('Open' button) the source disk image. Works fine.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #10
    and

    Were BOTH the issue for me, it wasn't until I did both that I was able to get the result I was looking for. Hope this helps someone else!
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #11
    Worked for me. Didn't have to format as free space.

    Thanks :)
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #12
    Thank you!

    This finally worked after about an hour of frustration...
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #13
    Snibblebits, thank you - this worked.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    #14
    Problem solved

    Thanks, I tried your solution and it worked as described.
    I am using mountain lion on a macbook pro mid 2010.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #15
    My Solution - Step by Step

    Thank you all for your solutions and help in this forum. It took me a while to figure it all out, but this is what I ended up doing:

    1. Open Disk Utility
    2. Plug in USB
    3. Format USB to Mac Extended (Journaled)
    4. Create Partition on USB [GUID for Intel chips, APM for PPC]
    5. Unmount created Partition
    6. Drag and Drop disk image (dmg or iso) into Disk Utility
    7. Open disk image (double click or button in DU)
    8. Select opened disk image on left menu
    9. Click over to Restore
    10. Drag and drop selected image into source field
    11. Drag and drop (unmounted) USB partition into destination
    12. OK (may have to type in admin passwords and such)
    13. Wait
    14. Enjoy!
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #16
    Frustating resore error

    "Unable to scan XXXX Resource busy" has always referred to the destination drive which seems to be hooked into OSX somehow (despite removal and reinsertion). Creation of a new partition (MBR is all that was required for me) on the destination drive then formatting it resolves the error when attempted to restore again, in my experience :mad:

    I usually mount the source archive.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
  18. SkippyThorson, Mar 7, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2013

    macrumors 65816

    SkippyThorson

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Utica, NY
    #18
    I just got over this frustration. I'm not sure what the problem was. I've been trying to make a Hackintosh USB for about a month.

    A year ago, I made one with absolutely no problem whatsoever. Inserted the OSX Disc, clicked the flash drive as my destination after a correct formatting, and let it install. It failed every time under 10.6, 10.7 and 10.8. I could not for the life of me get this generic 32gb flash drive to work.

    Luckily, the old one I have is on a 16gb SanDisk Cruzer, and it took 10.7 just fine. I've even wiped it a time or two just to start over. It's never let me down once.

    So I'm lost as to why the generic 32gb is giving me such a headache. My final solution was to just make a disk image of 10.7 on the SanDisk, and restore it onto the generic flash drive.

    ALAS, I get this "Unable To Scan" error, which has lead me here now. :rolleyes:

    I managed to get it to work (somehow) after a few Erase attempts. If I had the flash drive selected, and click restore, it put it in the source column on top. Only after I had the disk image selected, and it was on top by default, did the whole thing seem to work. I dragged the generic drive to the bottom.

    As I type this, it's at 13 minutes to go. Looks like it's working... Fingers crossed. What a nightmare this is. I'm still stunned by how easy it was with the other flash drive compared to what a production this has been.

    -----

    It worked. Once. I got the flash drive to boot. Then it wouldn't shut down. Now the flash drive gives me a reformat error, and it won't even work with the good image I have. It begins to boot, and then the computer turns off. What a piece of crap this thing is. I think it's just the cheap-o, generic flash drive, and nothing else.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    supremedesigner

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    #19
    Kudos!!!! You just saved my day! :) All the blibber blubber out there for solutions that aren't working. Thank you!!
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    #20
    Thank you this worked perfect!


    ~~~~~~~~~ Thank you this worked perfect! http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/icons/icon10.gif
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    #21
    Perfect! Thank you!
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #22
    was having the same problem on mountian lion. opening up "mounting" the source file first so that it appears in the disk utility program did the trick.
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    #23
    Just in case someone else comes across this I was having problems but after I unmounted the partition on the thumb drive everything went smooth.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    #24
    Best solution, read this from bigshot007

    Thank you so much!!! Thius is the one and simple solution!!!:apple:
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    #25
    Permissions

    I just had the same problem, What I did to cause it was copy the file from an NTFS partition to my lion JFS, and somewhere along the line there were inherited permissions. After unlocking the file, chmod, chown, and making it accessible by my and the admin user group it went through properly. Hope this helps, I registered just to drop this in here lol.
     

Share This Page