Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 10, 2011, 07:19 AM   #1
FluffyPop
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Is there any way to install Warcraft 3 in Lion?

Hello,

I'm running Lion on a 2011 Mac mini. I wanted to play some Warcraft 3, so I checked if it runs on intel Macs - and yup, it's universal.

So I downloaded it from Battle.net and while the game itself runs on intel, the installer is still PPC only - which means I can't install it on Lion as Rosetta is no longer there.

I would easily get over it if the game didn't run on intel at all, but I find it terribly annoying that the game itself will run, but the installer won't!

Is there anything at all I can do, or should I just hope that Blizzard eventually updates the installer?
FluffyPop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 07:30 AM   #2
mulo
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
while waiting for an updated installer would be the prober way to do it there is only one thing you can do for now. you have to install it on a mac running snow leopard or older, then completely update it, then you can just copy the game onto a thumb drive. you have to use your own installer tho, you can't just get it from a friend, you'll get blocked when he's playing if you do.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 07:55 AM   #3
FluffyPop
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
That's what I thought - unfortunately I don't have access to any machine that runs 10.6 or earlier, so I guess I'll just have to wait and hope.

Thanks for the help
FluffyPop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 11:32 PM   #4
Ungibbed
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Send a message via AIM to Ungibbed Send a message via Yahoo to Ungibbed
Head to the website (blizzard.com) and register your CD keys. There once you have them linked to your battle.net account, you can download the Universal installers.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro late 2010 (2.4 Ghz C2D, 750GB 7200RPM HDD, 8GB RAM) 27" ACD 64GB iPad 2 WiFi 160GB AppleTV, 128GB iPhone 6 Plus T-Mobile
Ungibbed is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2011, 05:03 AM   #5
FluffyPop
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungibbed View Post
Head to the website (blizzard.com) and register your CD keys. There once you have them linked to your battle.net account, you can download the Universal installers.
That's exactly what I did. The installer Blizzard provides is *not* universal. The game is, the installer's not.
FluffyPop is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2011, 11:21 AM   #6
shardey
macrumors 6502a
 
shardey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungibbed View Post
Head to the website (blizzard.com) and register your CD keys. There once you have them linked to your battle.net account, you can download the Universal installers.
Have you tried this? It is known NOT to work via Battle.net installer
shardey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 05:18 PM   #7
Louney
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I entered my serial key on my Bnet account, downloaded the installer from there, but it does not work... Because of power pc based installer...

Damn it... I still play a lot of Warcraft 3. Blizzard please update the installer
Louney is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 08:49 PM   #8
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
You can just drag the game folder from one computer to another, so if you've got a copy installed somewhere on a pre-Lion Mac, just copy it over.
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 10:57 PM   #9
shardey
macrumors 6502a
 
shardey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethryn Freyman View Post
You can just drag the game folder from one computer to another, so if you've got a copy installed somewhere on a pre-Lion Mac, just copy it over.
Only if it's updated to the latest patch. I did this from my iMac and the ROC app is universal and works in lion but TFT is ppc and doesn't work, as well as with all the updaters.
shardey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2011, 01:20 AM   #10
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by shardey View Post
Only if it's updated to the latest patch. I did this from my iMac and the ROC app is universal and works in lion but TFT is ppc and doesn't work, as well as with all the updaters.
True - I was at version 1.22 and TFT wasn't universal, I just updated it to 1.26 and is is universal now. So you need to patch it BEFORE you upgrade to Lion.
Jethryn Freyman is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2011, 02:13 PM   #11
slynger
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
sorry to bump up an old thread, but I just bought this game as I haven't played in years and found out, the same as everyone else, that the installer is still PPC based - is there any hope that Blizzard updates the installer or is it just a pipedream?
slynger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 05:50 AM   #12
Mr.C
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London, UK.
Quote:
Originally Posted by slynger View Post
sorry to bump up an old thread, but I just bought this game as I haven't played in years and found out, the same as everyone else, that the installer is still PPC based - is there any hope that Blizzard updates the installer or is it just a pipedream?
I very much doubt they will update the installer. If they were going to do it they would have done so by now.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini i7 2.7GHz 8GB RAM 750GB HD|MacBook Air 13" 1.6Ghz Core 2 Duo 2GB RAM 80GB HD|iPad Air 2 128GB Wi-Fi+Cellular White/Silver|iPhone 6 Plus 128GB White/Silver
Mr.C is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 05:03 PM   #13
slynger
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.C View Post
I very much doubt they will update the installer. If they were going to do it they would have done so by now.
short of going the boot camp route, do I have any options to install this game. Sorry for the dumb question, just never had to do anything like this before for an install.
slynger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2011, 10:07 PM   #14
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
should be able to port it yourself with Wineskin... or buy/use Crossover.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 11:23 AM   #15
slynger
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by doh123 View Post
should be able to port it yourself with Wineskin... or buy/use Crossover.
showing my complete lack of knowledge, what exactly is Wineskin and Crossover?
slynger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 03:00 PM   #16
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by slynger View Post
showing my complete lack of knowledge, what exactly is Wineskin and Crossover?
http://wineskin.doh123.com/

http://codeweavers.com/
doh123 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2011, 03:29 PM   #17
athens
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Send a message via ICQ to athens Send a message via AIM to athens Send a message via MSN to athens Send a message via Yahoo to athens Send a message via Skype™ to athens
The problem is with PPC support and Blizzard shows no interest in updating. The game itself works under Lion just not the updater/installer. One viable solution I can offer is to split your hard drive into 2, making one of them 8GB for Snow Leopard. When ever you need to install or upgrade Warcraft 3 just boot into Snow Leopard drive.

It is a lot of work to do for a single game. But its a solution none the less. Can also do this with a external hard drive. For those that get new machines with only Lion, it is more problematic. I am not sure if the new machines are locked to a minimum Lion install which would be the case if you look historically when it comes to new machines and a new OS, you can't go older.
__________________
Having a smoking section in a bar is like having a peeing section in a pool, it just wont work.
athens is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2011, 10:45 AM   #18
slynger
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I just realized I have access to a mac that isn't running Lion, so I was going to try the thumb drive approach. From what I have gathered this is what I need to do;

1. install in older mac
2. update to current version
3. copy onto thumb drive
4. bring over to mac running Lion

is this correct or am I missing anything?
slynger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 10:42 PM   #19
Polish Benny
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Warcraft 3 on Lion

Whether the files come from the CD's or are downloaded from Blizzard, they don't install on Lion. I have installed War 3 ROC & TFT on two different MacBooks, one a pro and one not. The pro has Snow Leopard the other has ??. From there, I updated them via the Battle.net initiation. Then, I copied the entire Warcraft 3 folder to my MacBook Pro running Lion. The first time coming from an old MacBook mostly worked- the screen would flash blue while opening and closing the program, the gameplay / setup buttons / pointer hand were blacked out and was nearly impossible to see how I was setting up a game, controlling races, colors etc., and lastly, during gameplay, the minimap would occasionally blackout.

Then I deleted everything and did the same process on a 4 month old MBP with Snow Leopard. Same results. Are the blacked out buttons and minimap part of an anti-piracy feature Blizzard designed to reduce functionality when the game is copied to another computer?

Blizzard- Please design an Intel based installation program. Then all of the War 3 fans can get back to enjoying your game w/o jumping through hoops only to have a lower quality experience. TY!
Polish Benny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2012, 08:30 PM   #20
eldaniel7
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Warcraft 3 on lion?

I know this has been asked before but I didn't see an updated answer so I ask again.

Is there any way to run Warcraft 3 on lion NATIVELY?
eldaniel7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 01:49 PM   #21
Ungibbed
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Send a message via AIM to Ungibbed Send a message via Yahoo to Ungibbed
What UB core files are needed to install?

Would just releasing the Intel apps and update.app do the trick? Not the whole folder, just the core apps so people could use their own key and download the full installation from Blizzard.

I have WC3 and TFT running on Lion. Not sure if sharing these files alone would get me banned or not.

If this is permitted (by a moderator!) I am willing to upload the core Intel Apps but not sure which are needed along with the game .app files themselves to download the install from Blizzard.

Willing to help, but only with permission of the moderators of this forum as I do not want to open a hole for piracy nor mistakenly have my keys run wild in the open.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro late 2010 (2.4 Ghz C2D, 750GB 7200RPM HDD, 8GB RAM) 27" ACD 64GB iPad 2 WiFi 160GB AppleTV, 128GB iPhone 6 Plus T-Mobile
Ungibbed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2012, 02:42 AM   #22
nickbrown12
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
@Ungibbed could you PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE msg me on aim: nickyuukibrown i bought warcraft 3 and tft tonight digitally and i cant even play them and i have lion on a new macbook pro! it would mean alot! thank you!
nickbrown12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2012, 04:08 AM   #23
Fraaaa
macrumors 65816
 
Fraaaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, UK
Have you try PlayOnMac? I can run Diablo II on Lion 10.7.3.
__________________
MacBook Air & iPhone4S
The Next Generation of MacBooks is Here!
Fraaaa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2012, 06:37 PM   #24
nickbrown12
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
i tried the playonmac but i got reign of chaos to download but then wen i try on the frozen throne the expansion it says that i have to download reign of chaos first when i alrdy have it downloaded...
nickbrown12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 10:34 PM   #25
Ungibbed
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Send a message via AIM to Ungibbed Send a message via Yahoo to Ungibbed
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickbrown12 View Post
@Ungibbed could you PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE msg me on aim: nickyuukibrown i bought warcraft 3 and tft tonight digitally and i cant even play them and i have lion on a new macbook pro! it would mean alot! thank you!
Like I said, I will not transfer any game data or files for this forum unless it is deemed okay by the moderators, PMing me is not going to speed things up for personal gain and possible redistribution of my personal cd key or otherwise.

Do not flood my inbox or requesting to be my "friend" for the same reasons.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro late 2010 (2.4 Ghz C2D, 750GB 7200RPM HDD, 8GB RAM) 27" ACD 64GB iPad 2 WiFi 160GB AppleTV, 128GB iPhone 6 Plus T-Mobile
Ungibbed is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Tags
lion, warcraft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Properly Migrate With a Clean Install to OS X Mountain Lion (From Lion/SL) Steve.P.JobsFan OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 242 Mar 1, 2014 02:31 AM
How Do I Create a Lion Boot/Install DVD from a Lion USB Stick? teletran3 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 10 Apr 13, 2013 10:41 AM
Warcraft III Black Textures in Mountain Lion theNEOone OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Jan 15, 2013 09:14 PM
Stuck in a limbo: can't install Safari or Lion/Mountain Lion, can't access App Store Znufkin Mac Basics and Help 8 Nov 27, 2012 12:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC