Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 16, 2011, 03:24 PM   #1
cman-uk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Diagnostic & Usage Data --> Reset Count: 1

Hi all,

I bought my new iPhone 4S from the Apple store yesterday [my previous one is being sent back and rather than get a 'brown box' replacement, I bought a new one in a sealed retail box over the counter].

I just set it up today and flicking through the menus/settings I spotted something.

Settings > General > About > Diagnostic & Usage > Diagnostic & Usage Data > *I have one entry here!!*

It is titled "ResetCounter-2011-11-0..."

Incident Identifier: {long alpha numeric}
CrashReporter Key: {long alpha numeric}
Looking at the details:
Date : 2011-11-01 11:13:19 -700
Reset Count: 1
Boot failure count: 0
Boot faults: 0
Boot stage: 255
Boot app: 0

So, it was bought on 15th November 2011. But the date of the "reset counter" entry is 2011-11-01

Can anyone explain what the hell this may be?
cman-uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 03:42 PM   #2
asleep
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cman-uk View Post
Settings > General > About > Diagnostic & Usage > Diagnostic & Usage Data > *I have one entry here!!*
I have 32 ... lot of Safari crashes.
asleep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 03:45 PM   #3
cman-uk
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by asleep View Post
I have 32 ... lot of Safari crashes.
Yes... but I spotted mine within 10min of turning the device on for the very first time.

It also has a time stamp of 14 days ago. I bought it 1 day ago, brand new.

Do you see where I'm coming from?
cman-uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 03:48 PM   #4
Leonard1818
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
sounds like it took 14 days to get from factory floor to your hands. Not too bad.
Leonard1818 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 03:50 PM   #5
cman-uk
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard1818 View Post
sounds like it took 14 days to get from factory floor to your hands. Not too bad.
That's to suggest all new phones have this entry in the Diagnostic & Usage Data area?

I'm pretty sure my first one didn't have any entries in there at all. Can you check/confirm either way?
cman-uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 03:57 PM   #6
Thetonyk123
macrumors 68000
 
Thetonyk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
I think that means you hard reset it

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by himynameiscody View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Subbed
You don't have to write to subscribe, go into thread tools, then click subscribe to this thread.
__________________
PC: FX 6300, hd 7870, 8gb ram, 120gb ssd, 1tb hdd, define r4, rosewill 630w, MSI 970a-g43.
Stuff: 1st gen iPad Mini, iPod touch 4
Thetonyk123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 03:57 PM   #7
cman-uk
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thetonyk123 View Post
I think that means you hard reset it
As per my post a few mins ago, it has a time stamp of 14 days ago. I bought it 1 day ago, brand new.
How could I have hard reset it?
cman-uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 04:02 PM   #8
Thetonyk123
macrumors 68000
 
Thetonyk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by cman-uk View Post
As per my post a few mins ago, it has a time stamp of 14 days ago. I bought it 1 day ago, brand new.
How could I have hard reset it?
Guess I shouldn't reply before I read the whole thread.

Apple could have done that, but that is odd.
__________________
PC: FX 6300, hd 7870, 8gb ram, 120gb ssd, 1tb hdd, define r4, rosewill 630w, MSI 970a-g43.
Stuff: 1st gen iPad Mini, iPod touch 4
Thetonyk123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 04:09 PM   #9
Pattycerts
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
It's a strange entry that makes no sense.

Mine says reset counter: 1

I reset the phone a few hours ago and that's the 1. But I reset my phone every week or so. No idea what this counter means unless it went back to zero after my software update.
Pattycerts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 04:13 PM   #10
cman-uk
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thetonyk123 View Post
Guess I shouldn't reply before I read the whole thread.

Apple could have done that, but that is odd.
And that is my worry. Could it have been a returned unit from someone else?

But I don't see how, as it was a sealed retail box. "Refurbed" ones are supplied in a brown box.
cman-uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 05:12 PM   #11
megapopular
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
My thought is this...

After loading the software I guess that they test it, and sure, if it has the same software that we do... Obviously it could crash... But I think they reset the diagnostics before they ship it out. I think you have a brand new phone that was sealed up like 15 days ago before it was shipped stateside, and I think they reset the diagnostic counter on each and every phone. Only way to test is to return your phone, get a new one and check that setting again... Or see if someone else who's getting a new iPhone can check for us!
megapopular is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2011, 01:10 PM   #12
cman-uk
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by megapopular View Post
After loading the software I guess that they test it, and sure, if it has the same software that we do... Obviously it could crash... But I think they reset the diagnostics before they ship it out. I think you have a brand new phone that was sealed up like 15 days ago before it was shipped stateside, and I think they reset the diagnostic counter on each and every phone. Only way to test is to return your phone, get a new one and check that setting again... Or see if someone else who's getting a new iPhone can check for us!
This is my second iPhone 4S and I'm pretty sure the first one didn't have this. I have checked my partner's new 4S and that doesn't have it either...
cman-uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2011, 03:13 PM   #13
megapopular
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Well...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cman-uk View Post
This is my second iPhone 4S and I'm pretty sure the first one didn't have this. I have checked my partner's new 4S and that doesn't have it either...
Well perhaps they only reset the counter if it picks up an error. So maybe her phone never had an error but yours did. I think they only reset the counter if it gets an error.
megapopular is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2011, 03:40 PM   #14
cman-uk
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by megapopular View Post
Well perhaps they only reset the counter if it picks up an error. So maybe her phone never had an error but yours did. I think they only reset the counter if it gets an error.
Yes.. maybe!!

I just want to be sure I didn't get a second hand / refurb unit having paid full price! Everything else is as expected [i.e. great], this was the only thing I wasn't sure about.
cman-uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2011, 03:51 PM   #15
megapopular
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Hmm...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cman-uk View Post
Yes.. maybe!!

I just want to be sure I didn't get a second hand / refurb unit having paid full price! Everything else is as expected [i.e. great], this was the only thing I wasn't sure about.
Perhaps you should contact Apple and they can hopefully tell you what it means.
megapopular is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2011, 05:01 PM   #16
cman-uk
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by megapopular View Post
Perhaps you should contact Apple and they can hopefully tell you what it means.
Judging from past experience of their technical support, they either tell you what you want to hear or simply say its not anything to worry about.
cman-uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2013, 04:05 PM   #17
Deonte1996
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Turn your photo stream off You may not think it works but it did for mines the IPhone 4 I'm not sure for the 4s but for the 4s you may have to turn off your iCloud and May need a battery replacement. If u just bought the phone I recomend iCloud turned off, if this doesn't work please reply back.
Deonte1996 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diagnostic & Data faults oVerboost iPhone 5 Jan 8, 2014 12:07 PM
iPad: Automatically send diagnostic & usage data? JoeRito iPad 5 Nov 25, 2013 08:57 AM
Carrier: AT&T reset data limit falcora iPhone 4 Sep 17, 2013 12:00 AM
does iOS 7 have diagnostic usage and data logs? mattburley7 iOS 7 3 Jun 18, 2013 09:34 PM
AT&T usage: Data and LTE Data mtneer iPhone 3 Oct 29, 2012 09:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC