Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 5, 2005, 05:23 PM   #1
proverbs
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
weak signal on airport

i got my sister a wireless airport card for her G5 and i noticed that it stays on 1 bar. she said that the internet runs really slow sometimes and i'm guessing that's because of the weak signal. i brought my powerbook in her room and i have a full 5 bar signal, so i know its not the distance. did i do something wrong on the install?
proverbs is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2005, 05:42 PM   #2
Bozola
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So close to Redmond, I can smell it!
Make sure that you plug in the antenna ALL THE WAY...
http://www.apple.com/support/powerbo...yourself/15al/
__________________
Bozola
Proudly 100% Mac. No PC's ever!
Bozola is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2005, 06:00 PM   #3
proverbs
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
the card is in her PowerMac G5 desktop and she seems to always have 1 bar...but when i go into her room with my powerbook, i have full 5 bars...
proverbs is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2005, 07:53 PM   #4
proverbs
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
maybe i just have to tighten the card??
proverbs is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2005, 07:55 PM   #5
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
As mentioned in the post above: does she have the external antenna connected to the back of her G5? It looks a bit like a "T" and is required for Airport reception of any real strength. it came with her G5.
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2005, 07:57 PM   #6
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
In other words, something must be plugged into the top jack in the image below.

__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2005, 08:01 PM   #7
proverbs
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
yes, it is connected. could there be another reason?
proverbs is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2005, 08:03 PM   #8
jsw
Moderator emeritus
 
jsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, MA
I suppose it's possible that the body of the G5 is blocking the signal - any chance that the wireless router is blocked by the PowerMac? Does rotating the PM's body make a difference?
__________________
You'll be the one moaning for me to give you some. - THC(taken out of context)
jsw is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2005, 08:52 PM   #9
aussie_geek
macrumors 65816
 
aussie_geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Lightbulb

Another possibility....

Open up the G5 and check that the card is seated correctly and the internal antenna wire is plugged into the Airport card.


aussie_geek
aussie_geek is offline   0
Old Jun 5, 2005, 10:31 PM   #10
jalagl
macrumors 6502a
 
jalagl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Costa Rica
Send a message via ICQ to jalagl
It can be lots of things - I recently relocated my Powerbook to a new desk, that is in a different position than where it was before. This cause the signal to drop from full to only 1-2 bars, and I keep having problems with disconnections to the internet. If I move a couple of meters back, to where the old desk use to be (a space now occupied with my bed), I get a full signal again.
My Windows laptop, sitting right next to the Powerbook, gets a very decent signal (not full, but at least 3/4).

These are the strange things about wireless networks. I would suggest moving the G5 around a little bit

Me? I'm going to buy a range extender for my router to ensure I get full signal everywhere in the house from now on.
jalagl is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weak WiFi signal on new Macbook Pro - Airport Express or other to boost? Lornholio MacBook Pro 0 Nov 8, 2013 04:05 PM
Anyone else seeing much better battery in weak-signal areas on the 5s? WilliamG iPhone 0 Sep 21, 2013 03:09 AM
Weak wifi signal/signal loss with U-Verse rpearlberg Mac Peripherals 9 Aug 9, 2013 04:41 PM
Weak Wifi Signal iPhone 5 ruckleapple iPhone 69 Jun 27, 2013 02:31 AM
Strong 3G signal vs weak LTE signal? Faize iPhone 9 Feb 10, 2013 09:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC