Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 11, 2012, 12:18 PM   #1
parbar
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Load Snow Leopard on a Lion MBP i7 ?

I have an early 2011 2.3 GHz MacBookPro i7 that came with Lion.

1. Can I safely reload Leopard and get rid of Lion? If so, must I totally erase the drive? Do I need to boot up from the Leopard disk since it says it won't load when I just put it in and try and install it?

2. If I can't do the above can I partition and load Leopard on a separate partition and still load a Bootcamp partition?
parbar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 12:25 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Don't install a version of Mac OS X earlier than what came with your Mac
Quote:
You should not install a version of Mac OS X earlier than that which came with your Mac.

If you install an earlier (previous) version of the Mac OS X than what was included, your computer may exhibit unexpected behavior such as:
  • The trackpad or mouse may not respond properly
  • The computer may stop responding
  • Sleep/wake issues may occur
  • The display image may appear to "shrink" with black bars around it, may appear tinted, or have other issues
  • Loss of built-in audio
  • Loss of Bluetooth or AirPort functionality
  • May not start up past the Apple logo
Also, the grey install disks that come with Macs are model-specific and will not work on other models. Only the retail versions will work on any model. Even with a retail disc, however, you shouldn't install Leopard on a Mac that came with Lion.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 12:27 PM   #3
parbar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
When I said Leopard in the original post, I meant Snow Leopard.
parbar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 12:28 PM   #4
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by parbar View Post
When I said Leopard in the original post, I meant Snow Leopard.
It doesn't matter. The same applies.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 12:29 PM   #5
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by parbar View Post
When I said Leopard in the original post, I meant Snow Leopard.
Look here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1306855
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 12:44 PM   #6
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
It may be possible but the odds are high that you'll be introducing some instability into the system since you're shoe horning an OS onto a computer that has new hardware to which the OS does not have the drivers for.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 01:07 PM   #7
squeakr
macrumors 68000
 
squeakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
If you can get copies of the OEM disc, you will have no problems as the OS was SL for this machine then. The OP has a system that was originally supplied within SL, so the drivers exist and are fully supporting the hardware. Having said that, I would stay with Lion unless you have some compelling need for SL (i.e. support of a legacy software, company compatibility issues), instead increase the RAM and enjoy. Lion is rather stable as it is and will only improve with releases/ updates.
squeakr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 02:22 PM   #8
parbar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I have a copy from Apple Tech support of Snow Leopard for this machine.

1. So do I have to do a clean install - or just the OS?

2. It seems like I may have to restart to the install disk to override a newer OS. Is that correct?
parbar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 02:33 PM   #9
squeakr
macrumors 68000
 
squeakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Clean install and re-format the disk. I would back up everything pertinent, then you will need to restart from the disc (hold the c key during boot), use disk utility to reformat the disc, and then re-install form there.
squeakr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 02:55 PM   #10
snaky69
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
It doesn't matter. The same applies.
He has an early 2011, which originally shipped with SL, the OP will have no issues installing SL if he can find the correct grey discs.
__________________
Early 2008 MBP 2.4Ghz Penryn, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Black
2012 MBP 2.6Ghz Ivy Bridge, 16GB RAM, 840EVO and 750GB Opti-bay
iPhone 3G, 16GB, Black
iPhone 4S, 32GB, Black
snaky69 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 03:20 PM   #11
parbar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Do I need grey disks (don't know what they are) if I have an early 2011 MBP and just received an OEM Snow Leopard disc specifically for this computer from Apple Care Protection plan support?
parbar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 03:36 PM   #12
squeakr
macrumors 68000
 
squeakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
The OEM restore discs are referred to as gray discs as they are grey in color. The retail disk were/ are white for SL. As long as you have the true restore disc from Apple and not the retail disc you should be fine.
squeakr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 06:07 PM   #13
snaky69
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by parbar View Post
Do I need grey disks (don't know what they are) if I have an early 2011 MBP and just received an OEM Snow Leopard disc specifically for this computer from Apple Care Protection plan support?
The OS disc specific for that model is what we call the grey disk, because well, it's grey.
__________________
Early 2008 MBP 2.4Ghz Penryn, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Black
2012 MBP 2.6Ghz Ivy Bridge, 16GB RAM, 840EVO and 750GB Opti-bay
iPhone 3G, 16GB, Black
iPhone 4S, 32GB, Black
snaky69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 06:20 PM   #14
MacYoukai
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I have the same computer as you do "original poster." Anyone telling you things about instability and all of that other stuff has not tried this or does not know what they are talking about. I made a custom install disk via System Image Utility, it was a long process... but in the end I now have Snow Leopard running on this machine and there is no trace of Lion left. Muahahahaha...
There are instructions for doing such things that can be found on the Apple discussion boards, if you are not an advanced user it may be a daunting task. The reason for having to install the OS using this method is that you will need 10.6.8, and since those of us who got Lion MBPs lack any form of an install disc (Thank you for getting cheaper, Apple!) we have to make our own 10.6.8 disc.
My machine runs great without any bugs. Good luck to you should you choose to attempt this!

Last edited by MacYoukai; Jan 11, 2012 at 08:29 PM.
MacYoukai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 06:46 PM   #15
squeakr
macrumors 68000
 
squeakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
If you are going to chastise people for being wrong, you might want to be correct yourself. There is no way possible that you made a disc using Network Utility, and SL 10.6.8 is not required. The "original" disc comes with 10.6.6 as that was the version available when the Mac was released and would be sufficient to install SL on this version of the MBP. 10.6.8 is an update since then and is not needed, but it does fix some issues as does every new version released.
squeakr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 08:29 PM   #16
MacYoukai
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Eh, I used System Image Utility. My bad. I am just tired of people flat out saying it is not possible and claiming all of this nonsense about incompatibility and all. It gets old.
I had heard that 10.6.8 was necessary for the Lion Macbook Pros for some reason, I cannot recall why. Either way, I created my own image by combining the update dmg with a dmg created from my 10.6.0 disc. Long process, but it did the job.
MacYoukai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 08:42 PM   #17
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacYoukai View Post
Eh, I used System Image Utility. My bad. I am just tired of people flat out saying it is not possible and claiming all of this nonsense about incompatibility and all. It gets old.
It's not people saying you can't do it; it's Apple saying you shouldn't. If you have a problem with it, take it up with Apple. I only quoted what they said.
GGJstudios is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 09:28 AM   #18
cariocap
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Not only Early MBP but Late MBP works too.

I used an SL 10.6.7 image and did a clean install in my Later MBP and updated to 10.6.8 and everything is ok.
__________________
MacBook Pro 17" i7 2.4GHz 8Gb RAM - Late 2011 - MD311LL/A
cariocap is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 02:05 PM   #19
parbar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
OK, good input...but the plot thickens,
I Time Machined everything to another drive.

I have the "Mac OS X Snow Leopard Install DVD" provided by Apple.

I haven't cleared the MPB drive with disk utility yet (Maybe I need to do that?). Apparently can't do it UNLESS you boot up from another disk - it's all grayed out. Thought it would be an option on the install disk.

When I put in the Install DVD, restart and hold down the c key, all I get is the Apple logo and beep, beep, beep, .... beep, beep, beep.... never any options to do anything.

Any ideas?
parbar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 02:07 PM   #20
snaky69
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by parbar View Post
OK, good input...but the plot thickens,
I Time Machined everything to another drive.

I have the "Mac OS X Snow Leopard Install DVD" provided by Apple.

I haven't cleared the MPB drive with disk utility yet (Maybe I need to do that?). Apparently can't do it UNLESS you boot up from another disk - it's all grayed out. Thought it would be an option on the install disk.

When I put in the Install DVD, restart and hold down the c key, all I get is the Apple logo and beep, beep, beep, .... beep, beep, beep.... never any options to do anything.

Any ideas?
You'd need to format the disk using disc utility while booted from the grey DVD. From there you could proceed to install SL.
__________________
Early 2008 MBP 2.4Ghz Penryn, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Black
2012 MBP 2.6Ghz Ivy Bridge, 16GB RAM, 840EVO and 750GB Opti-bay
iPhone 3G, 16GB, Black
iPhone 4S, 32GB, Black
snaky69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 02:15 PM   #21
parbar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
The Snow Leopard Install DVD says it was created April 2010 and is version 10.6.3

----------

It won't boot to the install DVD...just goes beep, beep, beep.
parbar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 02:20 PM   #22
snaky69
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by parbar View Post
The Snow Leopard Install DVD says it was created April 2010 and is version 10.6.3
There's your problem right there, that's the Retail disk, not the OEM disk, you will not be able to get it installed with that disk. You need a DVD with 10.6.7 or later.
__________________
Early 2008 MBP 2.4Ghz Penryn, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Black
2012 MBP 2.6Ghz Ivy Bridge, 16GB RAM, 840EVO and 750GB Opti-bay
iPhone 3G, 16GB, Black
iPhone 4S, 32GB, Black
snaky69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 02:22 PM   #23
hotgrease
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...11+macbook+pro
__________________
Early 2011 15" 2.2GHz i7, 8GB 1600MHz Ram | 16GB White AT&T iPhone 4S | 32GB Wi-Fi Black iPad 2
hotgrease is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2012, 02:36 PM   #24
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by parbar View Post
The Snow Leopard Install DVD says it was created April 2010 and is version 10.6.3

----------

It won't boot to the install DVD...just goes beep, beep, beep.
IMHO you really need to ponder why you need Snow Leopard..

If you really have an early 2011 MBP it came with gray disc's that you can re-instal from..

IMHO you need to optimize 10.7 with LionTweeks and Macpilot, you can run 10.6 in a virtual at least with parallels so I assume you can with VM ware and Virtual Box..

Lion feels heavier but in the end it really isn't and more and more stuff is lion only..this is the crappy end of why Lion is 4GB and Snow Leopard is 8GB ..little legacy code
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2012, 05:25 AM   #25
Ccrew
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by snaky69 View Post
He has an early 2011, which originally shipped with SL, the OP will have no issues installing SL if he can find the correct grey discs.

Ummm.. not always the case. I have an early 2011 that came with SL, and a early 2011 that shipped with Lion. If I try to use the SL restore discs on the Lion machine it has no issues getting past the model check and will install. But it kernel panics on subsequent boot.

It's believed to be a later EFI update that renders the instability.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
IMHO you need to optimize 10.7 with LionTweeks and Macpilot, you can run 10.6 in a virtual at least with parallels so I assume you can with VM ware and Virtual Box..
10.6 isn't licensed to run in a VM unless it's server. VMWare Fusion won't allow it unless you find a 4.01 build where they "oops'ed" on the license check.
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac was running Snow Leo; Genius put Mtn Lion; I NEED Snow Leopard back; have disk SophiaSapphire Mac Basics and Help 14 Oct 20, 2013 12:17 PM
Downgrading from Lion to Snow using time machine and USB (Snow Leopard) djarsalan2006 OS X 0 Jan 18, 2013 11:37 PM
Snow Leopard Vs Lion Vs Mountain Lion for 2006 2.66x4 Mac Pro cen7779 Mac Pro 9 Oct 3, 2012 03:44 PM
Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion 2011 MBP MrMacBookPro MacBook Pro 9 Sep 24, 2012 01:56 AM
Upgrading 2008 MB Software (Leopard, Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion) emacna1 MacBook 1 Jun 11, 2012 10:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC