Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 15, 2012, 12:23 AM   #1
psnARMEDps3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Smile iPhone on Red Pocket Mobile

I know a lot of people who use an AT&T mvno on their iPhone. But recently, h2o went down the drain, downgrading their $60 plan to only 1GB of data a month. I switched to Red Pocket which has 2GB data/month (along with unlimited talk&txt) for $60. I ported my number from h2o to red pocket and I'm very satisfied with the service. No unlock needed . Very affordable + you get that AT&T 3G. Heres a quick video I make talking more about it and showing a speed test:





Do you use an AT&T MVNO on your iPhone?
__________________
iPhone 5 (Black, 16GB, GSM), MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2009), the new iPad (White, 16GB, WiFi)
psnARMEDps3 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 12:38 AM   #2
rmhop81
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dallas, Tx
Quote:
Originally Posted by psnARMEDps3 View Post
I know a lot of people who use an AT&T mvno on their iPhone. But recently, h2o went down the drain, downgrading their $60 plan to only 1GB of data a month. I switched to Red Pocket which has 2GB data/month (along with unlimited talk&txt) for $60. I ported my number from h2o to red pocket and I'm very satisfied with the service. No unlock needed . Very affordable + you get that AT&T 3G. Heres a quick video I make talking more about it and showing a speed test:


YouTube: video


Do you use an AT&T MVNO on your iPhone?
We use h20 and it's been fine. Bummer about the 1gb plan now but what do you do. I use the $50 plan and wife on the $60 plan. I couldn't handle seeing red pocket as the carrier name lol. Man that is too long haha
__________________
MacBook Air|13.3"|128GB iPad Mini 2|32GB|LTE iPhone 6 Plus|64GB|LTE Apple TV Time Capsule
rmhop81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 11:10 AM   #3
psnARMEDps3
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmhop81 View Post
We use h20 and it's been fine. Bummer about the 1gb plan now but what do you do. I use the $50 plan and wife on the $60 plan. I couldn't handle seeing red pocket as the carrier name lol. Man that is too long haha
lol I hate that also. But since I'm jailbroken, I use a cydia tweak like clean status or springtomize to hide the carrier name. Looks cool like in the apple commercials:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0039.PNG
Views:	227
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	320017  
__________________
iPhone 5 (Black, 16GB, GSM), MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2009), the new iPad (White, 16GB, WiFi)
psnARMEDps3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 02:22 PM   #4
PsstGreek
macrumors 68040
 
PsstGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
How do you like Red Pocket? Good coverage? My AT&T bill is pretty much killing me every month.
__________________
iMac + iPhone 6 (4.7) + rMini
PsstGreek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 02:43 PM   #5
psnARMEDps3
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsstGreek View Post
How do you like Red Pocket? Good coverage? My AT&T bill is pretty much killing me every month.
I love it. Great coverage wherever you get AT&T. I compared it to a friend who has At&t and we had same strength. Definitely recommended, because truthfully I wouldn't be able to pay the AT&T unlimited talk text and 2gb data every month.
__________________
iPhone 5 (Black, 16GB, GSM), MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2009), the new iPad (White, 16GB, WiFi)
psnARMEDps3 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 02:47 PM   #6
dtbratt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stoney Creek, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by psnARMEDps3 View Post
I love it. Great coverage wherever you get AT&T. I compared it to a friend who has At&t and we had same strength. Definitely recommended, because truthfully I wouldn't be able to pay the AT&T unlimited talk text and 2gb data every month.
Where can you purchase Red Pocket Sims? Are they MicroSIMs?
__________________
dtbratt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 02:51 PM   #7
reclusive46
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
Is the chip on the red pocket sims easy to cut down with a sim cutter? I've come across sim cards in the past that don't fit in the sim cutters. The one with the globe shaped chips normally.
reclusive46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 06:40 PM   #8
psnARMEDps3
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtbratt View Post
Where can you purchase Red Pocket Sims? Are they MicroSIMs?
I bought my Red Pocket SIM on Amazon for around $3. I couldn't find a microsim version, so I used my micro sim adapter (hole puncher like thing) to cut it down. Those are pretty cheap also, but can be done with scissors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
Is the chip on the red pocket sims easy to cut down with a sim cutter? I've come across sim cards in the past that don't fit in the sim cutters. The one with the globe shaped chips normally.
The one I bought on amazon are easy to cut. Fit in the cutter with no problem.
__________________
iPhone 5 (Black, 16GB, GSM), MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2009), the new iPad (White, 16GB, WiFi)
psnARMEDps3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 07:31 PM   #9
dtbratt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stoney Creek, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by psnARMEDps3 View Post
I bought my Red Pocket SIM on Amazon for around $3. I couldn't find a microsim version, so I used my micro sim adapter (hole puncher like thing) to cut it down. Those are pretty cheap also, but can be done with scissors.



The one I bought on amazon are easy to cut. Fit in the cutter with no problem.
With me being in Canada. Can I activate the SIM online?
__________________
dtbratt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 11:12 PM   #10
psnARMEDps3
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtbratt View Post
With me being in Canada. Can I activate the SIM online?
Sorry, but Red Pocket is an AT&T mvno. Up there, there is no AT&T, so you can't use Red Pocket
__________________
iPhone 5 (Black, 16GB, GSM), MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2009), the new iPad (White, 16GB, WiFi)
psnARMEDps3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 11:19 PM   #11
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
That is really nice. I believe AT&T MNVOs have a little less coverage and speed, but I'd totally give that up for a cheaper bill.

I think i'll stick with AT&T though since i think its cheaper than buying a device at full price.


Haha the loading circle is all the way near the battery. loooks funny

Last edited by wordoflife; Jan 15, 2012 at 11:26 PM.
wordoflife is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 11:24 PM   #12
psnARMEDps3
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by wordoflife View Post
That is really nice. I believe AT&T MNVOs have a little less coverage and speed, but I'd totally give that up for a cheaper bill.
Thats what I thought at first but look at these speed tests I took earlier today. (On two of them, I used Springtomize to hide the long 'Red Pocket' carrier name in the status bar.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0040.PNG
Views:	161
Size:	442.8 KB
ID:	320108   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0041.PNG
Views:	132
Size:	420.8 KB
ID:	320109   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0042.PNG
Views:	112
Size:	415.7 KB
ID:	320110  

__________________
iPhone 5 (Black, 16GB, GSM), MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2009), the new iPad (White, 16GB, WiFi)
psnARMEDps3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 11:33 PM   #13
dtbratt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stoney Creek, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by psnARMEDps3 View Post
Sorry, but Red Pocket is an AT&T mvno. Up there, there is no AT&T, so you can't use Red Pocket
I know. It will be for when I travel to the US.
__________________
dtbratt is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 11:38 PM   #14
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by psnARMEDps3 View Post
Thats what I thought at first but look at these speed tests I took earlier today. (On two of them, I used Springtomize to hide the long 'Red Pocket' carrier name in the status bar.)
Not sure where you're located, but here in south florida, this is what I average. Mine are pretty consistent.
Thumb resize.

So if you're in South florida and you're getting that ... that is very good.

Edit just took one more
Thumb resize.

I'd say that you have it pretty good with red pocket. my AT&T 3G speeds arent any much faster.

Last edited by wordoflife; Jan 15, 2012 at 11:45 PM.
wordoflife is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 12:21 AM   #15
psnARMEDps3
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtbratt View Post
I know. It will be for when I travel to the US.
Well if you are going to use it in the US, then yes. You activate it on their website. But just in case, you might want to wait to activate the sim here.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by wordoflife View Post
Not sure where you're located, but here in south florida, this is what I average. Mine are pretty consistent.
Thumb resize.

So if you're in South florida and you're getting that ... that is very good.

Edit just took one more
Thumb resize.

I'd say that you have it pretty good with red pocket. my AT&T 3G speeds arent any much faster.
Yup. I was near Ft. Lauderdale when I took those. Overall, I'm very satisfied with the service. Way better than paying 100$ + for almost the same coverage.
__________________
iPhone 5 (Black, 16GB, GSM), MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2009), the new iPad (White, 16GB, WiFi)
psnARMEDps3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 10:36 AM   #16
reclusive46
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
WOW. SO it doesn't seem as though there is much throttling at all then?
reclusive46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 11:00 AM   #17
psnARMEDps3
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
WOW. SO it doesn't seem as though there is much throttling at all then?
I know! Pretty crazy.
__________________
iPhone 5 (Black, 16GB, GSM), MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2009), the new iPad (White, 16GB, WiFi)
psnARMEDps3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 11:41 AM   #18
reclusive46
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
Any signs of HSPA+ on Red Pocket yet?
reclusive46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 01:57 PM   #19
reclusive46
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
How is the coverage compared to AT&T's contract network? Especially 3G coverage. Has anyone got this working on an iPhone 4S?

Last edited by reclusive46; Jan 16, 2012 at 02:47 PM.
reclusive46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 03:12 PM   #20
psnARMEDps3
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
Any signs of HSPA+ on Red Pocket yet?
I haven't tried on a 4S. I know it will work on 4G, but don't know if it will get the 4G speeds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
How is the coverage compared to AT&T's contract network? Especially 3G coverage. Has anyone got this working on an iPhone 4S?
I compared the coverage to many friends of mine at various locations, and saw that we had same number of bars and 3G. Even speed tests were nearly identical. Red Pocket will work on an At&t iPhone 4s (or unlocked verizon/sprint iPhone 4s), although still trying to see if you get the hspa+ speeds with it.
__________________
iPhone 5 (Black, 16GB, GSM), MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2009), the new iPad (White, 16GB, WiFi)
psnARMEDps3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 03:20 PM   #21
reclusive46
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
I was reading another forum that the MMS settings on the iPhone will make a difference with AT&T MVNO speeds. Can you do a speed test with the MMS settings correct and then one with the wrong mms settings (Obviously leave correct APN otherwise data won't work at all) and see if it makes any difference?

Last edited by reclusive46; Jan 16, 2012 at 03:40 PM.
reclusive46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 03:31 PM   #22
miss.manson
macrumors 6502a
 
miss.manson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Georgia
Here is my review of H20 for any of you wondering about them: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1309280

I'm actually looking into Red Pocket but unsure about the reliability of them since their "terms of service" are identical to H20's. I really don't want too be cut off again for "texting to much".
__________________
"There Are Things Known, and Things Unknown, and In Between Are the Doors of Perception" - William Blake
miss.manson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 03:43 PM   #23
Ksizzle9
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by psnARMEDps3
Quote:
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
Any signs of HSPA+ on Red Pocket yet?
I haven't tried on a 4S. I know it will work on 4G, but don't know if it will get the 4G speeds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
How is the coverage compared to AT&T's contract network? Especially 3G coverage. Has anyone got this working on an iPhone 4S?
I compared the coverage to many friends of mine at various locations, and saw that we had same number of bars and 3G. Even speed tests were nearly identical. Red Pocket will work on an At&t iPhone 4s (or unlocked verizon/sprint iPhone 4s), although still trying to see if you get the hspa+ speeds with it.
Wait, how will it work on an unlocked Vzw or sprint 4S?

Can anyone confirm this? I have a unlocked Verizon 4S and although I've only tried once, and it was before my restore after the unlock had been issued, i still don't see it working.

Note I didn't use a red pocket sim, only a hand cut sim from family mobile. Will have to try again.
Ksizzle9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 03:47 PM   #24
reclusive46
macrumors 6502a
 
reclusive46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: England
If I don't care about MMS settings and my APN settings are blocked, can I just install the data apn at http://www.unlockit.co.nz/unlockit/ without jailbreaking? Will that work?
reclusive46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 04:51 PM   #25
psnARMEDps3
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
I was reading another forum that the MMS settings on the iPhone will make a difference with AT&T MVNO speeds. Can you do a speed test with the MMS settings correct and then one with the wrong mms settings (Obviously leave correct APN otherwise data won't work at all) and see if it makes any difference?
Well the speed tests I posted above were with MMS settings correct and they had same speed as normal At&t iPhone. I'll try it without correct MMS settings soon but doubt it will make a difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by miss.manson View Post
Here is my review of H20 for any of you wondering about them: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1309280

I'm actually looking into Red Pocket but unsure about the reliability of them since their "terms of service" are identical to H20's. I really don't want too be cut off again for "texting to much".
The "terms of service" are probably given to them by att. I am a former h2o customer and Im more satisfied with red pocket. When you call customer service, you wait 5mins-10mins unlike h2o's 20 mins minimum. Although I have never been cut off with texting to much, Im sure you'll be fine with red pocket compared to h2o.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksizzle9 View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)



Wait, how will it work on an unlocked Vzw or sprint 4S?

Can anyone confirm this? I have a unlocked Verizon 4S and although I've only tried once, and it was before my restore after the unlock had been issued, i still don't see it working.

Note I didn't use a red pocket sim, only a hand cut sim from family mobile. Will have to try again.
If your Verizon or Sprint phone is factory unlocked (not just unlocked for global traveling), then this will work. My friend is actually canceling his Sprint contract (Slow speeds) on his 4s soon and switching to red pocket after he discovered that his sprint iPhone 4s came factory unlocked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
If I don't care about MMS settings and my APN settings are blocked, can I just install the data apn at http://www.unlockit.co.nz/unlockit/ without jailbreaking? Will that work?
If you don't want MMS, that method will work to allow the use of data.
__________________
iPhone 5 (Black, 16GB, GSM), MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2009), the new iPad (White, 16GB, WiFi)
psnARMEDps3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Tags
att mvno, h2o wireless, iphone, iphone 4, red pocket mobile

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MMS not working on Red Pocket Razor1973 iPhone 0 Sep 24, 2012 09:40 PM
Red pocket mobile data speeds suck. iphone4champ iPhone 8 Sep 7, 2012 01:06 PM
Any Red Pocket Mobile users? hercurliness iPhone 0 Aug 30, 2012 11:27 PM
Red Pocket Mobile help Demonface iPhone 0 Jul 3, 2012 05:43 PM
Installed Red housing for iphone 4, light is seen through the red front. Rbai63 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jun 19, 2012 04:29 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC