Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2012, 02:13 PM   #1
Xgm541
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Android apn settings for throttling?

What are the apn settings for AT&T throttling bypass? I read somewhere that this exists.

Wouldn't it be possible to use on an iPhone?
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby
MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb.
iPhone 5 16GB AT&T
iPad 3 16GB.
Xgm541 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2012, 02:13 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
It doesn't work on the iPhone.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:24 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2012, 04:42 PM   #3
Xgm541
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Is there a reason why it doesn't?
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby
MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb.
iPhone 5 16GB AT&T
iPad 3 16GB.
Xgm541 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2012, 06:25 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Not sure. All I know is that it has been tested and found not to work.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:24 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2012, 06:29 PM   #5
Xgm541
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Hmm thanks for your reply. It's strange that it doesn't but that's okay. I'll just deal.
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby
MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb.
iPhone 5 16GB AT&T
iPad 3 16GB.
Xgm541 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2012, 06:33 PM   #6
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
I believe it has something to do with the LTE APN and the HSPA+ APN. Seeing as no iPhone currently has LTE, the APN change bypass doesn't work.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:24 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2012, 06:33 PM   #7
rgarjr
macrumors 603
 
rgarjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: C a l i f o r n i a
Maybe this trick only works on LTE enabled phones since they can fallback on HSPA+.
rgarjr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2012, 06:37 PM   #8
chakraj
macrumors 65816
 
chakraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal
Check your apn and use the other one. AT&T has three I don't remember all three but one is "phone" and one is " media net" google is your friend.
chakraj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2012, 09:01 PM   #9
rjohnstone
macrumors 68030
 
rjohnstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PHX, AZ.
AT&T only has 4 APN's and none of them let you bypass throttling.

wap.cingular APN Type: <blank>
Phone APN Type: default,supl,agps,fota,dun,
Broadband (for tethering) APN Type: tether, entitle
MMS APN Type: MMS

A lot of people default to wap.cingular since the newer APN's are function specific.
Throttling is based on your SIM card's serial number.
Changing your APN will do nothing.
__________________
"You can't really dust for vomit" - Nigel Tuffnel
Some Apple *****, some Android ***** and some Windows based *****.
rjohnstone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2012, 09:17 PM   #10
Xgm541
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Thank you!
__________________
MacBook Air 2010, 1.4ghz, 4gb, 128GB <3 my baby
MacBook Pro Retina 2.3ghz, 8gb, 256gb.
iPhone 5 16GB AT&T
iPad 3 16GB.
Xgm541 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with changing apn settings to smart talk apn & mms settings richgetzitin iOS 5 and earlier 0 Oct 14, 2011 10:21 AM
Handbrake settings for more than one platform? S1njin iPad 5 Sep 15, 2011 12:49 PM
Handbrake Settings for MAX quality? iPadPublisher Apple TV and Home Theater 2 May 15, 2011 03:12 PM
How to get your APN setting for your JB/Ultrasn0w iPhone 4 flashzoom Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Mar 19, 2011 12:43 PM
Unlocked Iphon4 & 3g ios 4.1: how to get APN settings for another career royalrock iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Oct 4, 2010 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC