Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 16, 2012, 11:03 AM   #1
adamtj11
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London
Airplay with Mountain Lion not working?

Is Airplay with the Mac not working for anyone else? For me I get this message.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-02-16 at 17.02.33.png
Views:	3992
Size:	1.41 MB
ID:	324665  
__________________
2012 13" MacBook Pro
iPhone 5 Black 16GB
new iPad Black 16GB
adamtj11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 11:15 AM   #2
tourada
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Idaho
Send a message via AIM to tourada
I'm pretty sure the seed notes said that AirPlay is not working with current software on apple tv.
__________________
Macbook, Mac Mini, iPhone 4S
tourada is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 11:26 AM   #3
adamtj11
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by tourada View Post
I'm pretty sure the seed notes said that AirPlay is not working with current software on apple tv.
That's a pity.
__________________
2012 13" MacBook Pro
iPhone 5 Black 16GB
new iPad Black 16GB
adamtj11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 11:33 AM   #4
musio
macrumors 68000
 
musio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Is it too early to see if airplay will beam 5.1 audio over? This would mean no more handbrake!
musio is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 11:58 AM   #5
gforce216
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by musio View Post
Is it too early to see if airplay will beam 5.1 audio over? This would mean no more handbrake!
According to The Verge, it current streams stereo audio over airplay.
gforce216 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 12:05 PM   #6
musio
macrumors 68000
 
musio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Thanks for the tipoff. Shame about that but it's still a great feature!

Back to loading an overnight queue...
musio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 12:29 PM   #7
kemo
macrumors 6502a
 
kemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: /Users/kemo
Quote:
Originally Posted by gforce216 View Post
According to The Verge, it current streams stereo audio over airplay.
omg - stereo...
__________________
~ http://tehkemo.com
~ AKG k701 + Nuforce Icon HDP
kemo is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 02:29 PM   #8
The General
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Hopefully they seed a beta update for AppleTV that enables it.
The General is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 04:16 PM   #9
jdmagoo1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
They will more than likely release a 1080p version of apple tv soon which hopefully supports 5.1 or even 7.1 audio as well
jdmagoo1 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 05:39 PM   #10
Sound214
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sweden
For me, the Airplay icon doesn't even exist. I guess this has something to do with my Airport card not working, which is kinda stupid since I'm still connected to the network via ethernet. Any advice how to enable it, even if it doesn't work (yet)?
Sound214 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 06:35 PM   #11
Sound214
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound214 View Post
For me, the Airplay icon doesn't even exist. I guess this has something to do with my Airport card not working, which is kinda stupid since I'm still connected to the network via ethernet. Any advice how to enable it, even if it doesn't work (yet)?
EDIT: To enable AirDrop on ethernet, you simple type: "defaults write com.apple.NetworkBrowser BrowseAllInterfaces 1" into Terminal. I believe something similar will activate Airplay too. Am I right?

Also, sorry for double post.
Sound214 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 07:03 PM   #12
lw9090
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound214 View Post
For me, the Airplay icon doesn't even exist. I guess this has something to do with my Airport card not working, which is kinda stupid since I'm still connected to the network via ethernet. Any advice how to enable it, even if it doesn't work (yet)?
Same here I don't see an Airplay icon on my Macbook (late 2008)
lw9090 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 08:04 PM   #13
nick7138
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lw9090 View Post
Same here I don't see an Airplay icon on my Macbook (late 2008)
Myself and a group of a few other developers have concluded that AirPlay Mirroring doesn't work on an Intel Core 2 Duo processor for the time being.
nick7138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 09:13 PM   #14
Olgalein
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick7138 View Post
Myself and a group of a few other developers have concluded that AirPlay Mirroring doesn't work on an Intel Core 2 Duo processor for the time being.
Tried it with an MacBook Late 2009 (Core 2 Duo) and an 27" iMac with an Core i5, same problem on both of them. So the processor does not seem to be the reason.

I hope someone will find a solution within the next days, Airplay Mirroring would be a nice feature...
Olgalein is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 10:21 PM   #15
dagomike
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Video

Here's a video of it working. You'll need Beta 2 for ATV to get it going, it seems.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SAEH1H-4Siw
dagomike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 11:16 PM   #16
The General
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Yep, turns out 5.1 beta 2 makes it work. It works really well!
The General is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 11:43 PM   #17
childs12111
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Minneapolis
Send a message via AIM to childs12111
Please help

This is by far the most anticipated feature I was hoping to see, but I can't get it to work. I can't even give me the option to select Airplay. I have 3 Apple TV's running the latest 5.1 Beta 2. They show up in iTunes, but don't on this...What am I doing wrong. Is wireless not supported? Do I have to plug in HDMI? I'm lost and would love some help...please!

I have even tried on my MacBook Air and I get the same dang problem!
Attached Images
  
childs12111 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 11:57 PM   #18
sirjorj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I am not getting the icon either. If I force it on in System Preferences -> Displays, I just get the "Open Display Preferences..." option. I just updated my AppleTV to 5.1b2 - at least I think I did - it reports 5.0(4047.1). I am running the ML preview on an 11" Late 2010 MacBook Air, so maybe there's something to the Core 2 Duo theory.

jorj
sirjorj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 12:06 AM   #19
childs12111
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Minneapolis
Send a message via AIM to childs12111
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirjorj View Post
I am not getting the icon either. If I force it on in System Preferences -> Displays, I just get the "Open Display Preferences..." option. I just updated my AppleTV to 5.1b2 - at least I think I did - it reports 5.0(4047.1). I am running the ML preview on an 11" Late 2010 MacBook Air, so maybe there's something to the Core 2 Duo theory.

jorj
I don't think that's it, here is what I have.
Attached Images
 
childs12111 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 12:12 AM   #20
eagandale4114
macrumors 65816
 
eagandale4114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
I heard you need the second gen i series processor with the display technology onboard the chip itself to use it. Can someone with a second gen i series processor try it. I have one but don't have ML.
__________________
Early 2011 MacBook Pro 17" with antiglare & iPhone 5s 32GB
PS3 & PS Vita
eagandale4114 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 12:21 AM   #21
stigzy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norway
For those that it work with, is it stable or does it get many erros while Airplaying? Am thinking about upgrading to Mountain Lion.
__________________
Just simply love the easiness and quality of Apple products.
stigzy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 06:41 AM   #22
okwhatev
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagandale4114 View Post
I heard you need the second gen i series processor with the display technology onboard the chip itself to use it. Can someone with a second gen i series processor try it. I have one but don't have ML.
bingo
__________________
iPhone 6 Space Grey 128GB iOS 8 (6 Plus on backorder) :: iPad Air 128GB iOS 7.1.2 (jailbroken) :: 15" Retina Macbook Pro Intel Core i7 quad core 2.6ghz /8GB/256SSD
okwhatev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 05:38 AM   #23
marchinho91
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Hey There guys

I'm running Mountain Lion on iMac late 2009(i5 quad core 2,66ghz processor) but i can't see AirPlay Mirroring in the Monitor panel. It was the top model of Late 2009 mine iMac so it should have the right requirements for ML.

I've tried both on Parallels and Fusion, and I get the Same problem.

I also have a mid 2011 MacBook Air 11"(the latest one,with i7 dual core processor, 1,8ghz). I've tried here with parallels and fusion. On parallels I can see airplay mirroring in Monitor preferences. But now i have a problem.


I've installed oon my Apple Tv this software: AppleTV2,1_5.0_9B5127c_Restore.ipsw

When i go in preferences i Get on firmware: 5.0(4032.1)...

I have seen a video on youtube of a guy running airplay mirroring on apple tv but he get 5.0(4047.1),as someone told before. Is my apple tv firmware wrong? If so,where can i find the right one? It should be 5.1b2.

PS: When i start airplay mirroring from macbook air,i have a green screen on my tv. Do you think it could be a problem from Parallels/Fusion or Apple Tv firmware?
marchinho91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 06:53 AM   #24
stigzy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norway
Well i installed ML on my iMac mid 2011 earlier today and OS 5.1 beta 2 for AppleTV. AirPlay worked pretty good on my 46" samsung LED tv with almost zero delay! Very nice indeed. Had no errors at all
__________________
Just simply love the easiness and quality of Apple products.
stigzy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 08:55 AM   #25
marchinho91
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stigzy View Post
Well i installed ML on my iMac mid 2011 earlier today and OS 5.1 beta 2 for AppleTV. AirPlay worked pretty good on my 46" samsung LED tv with almost zero delay! Very nice indeed. Had no errors at all
Can you please tell me where did you find the right apple tv software?
Which is the name of the software? Mine is "AppleTV2,1_5.0_9B5127c_Restore.ipsw"(as i told before)

When i read in apple tv settings i have on firmware 5.0(4032.1).

What about you? How did you install ML? Parallels,fusion,boot camp or other way? =)
marchinho91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AirPlay without Mountain Lion blizeH MacBook 2 Aug 8, 2012 04:51 AM
Airplay Mountain Lion juicywaterhouse MacBook Pro 4 Jul 27, 2012 01:58 PM
Mountain Lion Airplay Question pslavish Apple TV and Home Theater 15 Jul 26, 2012 11:27 AM
Airplay in OSX mountain lion himanshuvohra OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 24 Jul 18, 2012 08:51 AM
Airplay Mountain Lion Underscan eshroom Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Jun 18, 2012 03:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC