Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 9, 2012, 06:00 PM   #1
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Living with an iMac G5 as a challenge...

Life with my PowerMac dual core is kinda boring, I need a challenge.

My PowerMac G5 is my primary desktop which is at this age of "i" core processors is outdated and many would say vintage. It has still a good life left on it.

But for the sake of a challenge for myself I will try to live my day to day activities with just an iMac G5 1.8GHz as my primary desktop. I will find out if I can live with it.

Shutdown on the PowerMac...
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini

Last edited by Nameci; Apr 10, 2012 at 12:06 AM.
Nameci is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 06:12 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Farewell dear Nameci! Send a log of your travels through the land of the iMac G5.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 06:20 PM   #3
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Good luck! Although it's basically like setting sail on the Titanic...
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 06:30 PM   #4
Nameci
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Yes I guess, from powerful to underpowered. I will see how long will it last until I decide to get back on the G5 dual core.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 08:10 PM   #5
TacticalDesire
macrumors 68020
 
TacticalDesire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan
Good luck. I know I couldn't do it. I couldn't even use a dual G5 as my primary machine. Hats off to those that do though. Interesting to see how things last before you go back to your powermac.
TacticalDesire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 08:35 PM   #6
ThunderSnake
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
I will see how long will it last until I decide to get back on the G5 dual core.
I hereby set the over/under bet at 72 hours. I'll take the under bet.
ThunderSnake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 08:36 PM   #7
Nameci
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
First two hours, and still doing great. Safari a bit slow, but still useable on my standard. Audio processor on the PowerMac is much better than the iMac.

So far so good.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 09:24 PM   #8
yanksrock100
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Diego
Good luck with that!
__________________
Current 13" Macbook Air (Mid 2012); Nexus 5
Check Out My YouTube Videos! (Mac, iPod, and Android) youtube.com/yanksrock1000
yanksrock100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 09:56 PM   #9
Imixmuan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
This is

...Inspiring! You should keep a log, and write an article for lowendmac.com, which has kinda gone on a PowerPC bashing editorial bent of late. I understand some people need the power of a core i5, but most of us don't.
Imixmuan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 10:38 PM   #10
Nameci
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Light web browsing, music on itunes, itune movies and ripped dvd's all played very well, email, word processing, Light photoshop and illustrator use. Nothing I can ask more from it.

Here she is...

__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 10:52 PM   #11
tayloralmond
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Missouri, USA
I should try to do this with my iMac G3 or (for an even greater challenge) I could use my iBook G3 Clamshell.
__________________
Mac Pro: 1.86GHz (8 Core), 17GB RAM, Radeon 5770
PowerMac G5 Quad: 16GB RAM PowerMac G4: 2x1.5GHz PowerBook G4 12": 1.5GHz
iMac G3: 600MHz iBook G3: 466MHz
The Blog I Work At: MyMacCollection
tayloralmond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 11:08 PM   #12
Ariii
macrumors 6502a
 
Ariii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago
Send a message via ICQ to Ariii Send a message via AIM to Ariii Send a message via MSN to Ariii Send a message via Yahoo to Ariii
Quote:
Originally Posted by tayloralmond View Post
I should try to do this with my iMac G3 or (for an even greater challenge) I could use my iBook G3 Clamshell.
It works pretty well, as long as you stay away from YouTube. And Flash! I think YouTube is one of the main reasons people have to replace their computers so much.

I Just tried it a month ago-- actually, I think my computer must be possessed or something because it can boot Linux easily and do the latest versions of a lot of applications without lagging. It was really choppy, but I could stream YouTube videos too, with 192 MB RAM.

Or you could try running it from the command line for a week.
__________________
Indigo iBook Clamshell, MacOS 9; Lime iBook Clamshell, Panther;
MacOS 9 users: Use Classilla | MacOS 9 Lives
I'm on IRC at #macrumors on irc.krono.net
Tumblr
Ariii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 11:28 PM   #13
Nameci
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ariii View Post
I think YouTube is one of the main reasons people have to replace their computers so much.
That.

I have mactubes to view youtube videos if i want to. I don't think I need flash in my life. I don't watch porn.

I want to be productive and with the uses I intended for it, the iMac is more than enough.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2012, 11:38 PM   #14
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
what spec is that 1.8ghz Imac G5? solid machine... I had a 1.7ghz Imac G5 that i only sold about 3 months ago. With tiger on it it was plenty quick, it had 1 gb of ram in it and did pretty much everything that ws thrown at it.

(I wasnt using it, but it was my wifes mums daily driver

what spec is yours Namci?

and how you going so far with it?
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 12:00 AM   #15
Nameci
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
1.8 GHz
2 GB DDR RAM
250 GB HDD
Apple Bluetooth
Apple Airport Extreme
nVidia FX 5200 64MB (weak video, but supports CI)
Wireless k/b from my powermac
Magic mouse from my powermac
M-Audio AV40
Buffalo 1TB Combo interface
On-board Ethernet (100Mbps - sucks)

The only thing I miss with my powermac dual core is the speed... so far I have no problems having it as my daily driver. I don't need a 512MB QFX 4500 to view emails, am I right?

It is tempting to put a 120GB Intel 320 in, or maybe a 1TB WD Caviar black? Whadaya thinks?
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 12:23 AM   #16
tayloralmond
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Missouri, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
1.8 GHz
2 GB DDR RAM
250 GB HDD
Apple Bluetooth
Apple Airport Extreme
nVidia FX 5200 64MB (weak video, but supports CI)
Wireless k/b from my powermac
Magic mouse from my powermac
M-Audio AV40
Buffalo 1TB Combo interface
On-board Ethernet (100Mbps - sucks)

The only thing I miss with my powermac dual core is the speed... so far I have no problems having it as my daily driver. I don't need a 512MB QFX 4500 to view emails, am I right?

It is tempting to put a 120GB Intel 320 in, or maybe a 1TB WD Caviar black? Whadaya thinks?
If you've got the money to spend, I'd say the Intel 320 would be pretty sweet. You should post before/after GeekBench scores!
__________________
Mac Pro: 1.86GHz (8 Core), 17GB RAM, Radeon 5770
PowerMac G5 Quad: 16GB RAM PowerMac G4: 2x1.5GHz PowerBook G4 12": 1.5GHz
iMac G3: 600MHz iBook G3: 466MHz
The Blog I Work At: MyMacCollection
tayloralmond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 06:24 AM   #17
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kepler 186F
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
It is tempting to put a 120GB Intel 320 in, or maybe a 1TB WD Caviar black? Whadaya thinks?
They'd both be awesome! The Black drives are lightning fast & I highly recommend them. I've never really been an SSD person myself (I suppose I prefer capacity over speed) but wouldn't 120gb be a bit tight unless you've got a couple of externals hooked up as well?
__________________
Mac Pro 4x 2.66GHz, 6GB, 750GB HDD, HD5770 | PowerBook G4 1.67GHz, 2GB, 32GB SSD, 9700 | 20" Alu Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 2x 1.42GHz | PowerMac G5 2x 2.3GHz | OnePlus One 64GB | Canon EOS 500D
Goftrey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 06:39 AM   #18
Nameci
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
They'd both be awesome! The Black drives are lightning fast & I highly recommend them. I've never really been an SSD person myself (I suppose I prefer capacity over speed) but wouldn't 120gb be a bit tight unless you've got a couple of externals hooked up as well?
I agree. But I have a 1TB Buffalo Drive Station attached to it already for all my data. A 1TB WD black caviar SATA II would be cheaper than the SSD.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 06:40 AM   #19
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
not sure if 120GB is tight.. i use a 60gb ssd boot drive on my MP. works great, i have my home directory/apps folder on a WB black and the systems just flies.

id say 120gb would hoot on a G5. that said, i am sure that G5 bus wouldent be able to saturate that SSD anyhows.

120 gigs is massive for me, both my Macbook and Macbook pro have drives that are 120gb and thats plenty of space for me. depends on your usage i guess and if you have NAT storage or not.
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 06:48 AM   #20
Nameci
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
A 120GB SSD is more than enough for a daily driver assortment of emails, web browsing, casual light PS and AI work. All my data are on external and backed up all the time. It is a practise I have learnt over the years. Never trust the internals to do the job of storing sensitive and valuable data.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 06:54 AM   #21
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
I'd put the SSD in there it should be interesting.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 08:17 AM   #22
Nameci
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Is there somebody here that have tried it? On a SATA I the Intel 320 is enough, I have it in my macbook and it was a huge improvement over the 5400rpm drive that came with it.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 09:55 AM   #23
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
Is there somebody here that have tried it? On a SATA I the Intel 320 is enough, I have it in my macbook and it was a huge improvement over the 5400rpm drive that came with it.
I have/had a SATA 3 on my G5..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 10:56 AM   #24
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
I have/had a SATA 3 on my G5..
No G5 has SATA II with the built in SATA ports. The only way to get it is with an expansion card in the PowerMac G5.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2012, 11:01 AM   #25
zoomy942
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
My wife has a imac G5 2ghz like that one she uses as her teacher machine at her preschool. Still trucks along great.

Bravo!
zoomy942 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS-neutral: Chuck's Challenge 3D: Chip's Challenge Reborn N19h7m4r3 Mac and PC Games 1 Mar 2, 2014 02:18 PM
Switching from a Mac/Desktop living room to a iPad living room.. MisterBigMack iMac 8 Apr 3, 2013 03:35 PM
iMac 27, PC, and Home Server living together? gadgetware iMac 5 Dec 30, 2012 09:03 PM
The iMac G3 Challenge Lil Chillbil PowerPC Macs 47 Dec 28, 2012 12:54 PM
IMac in Living Room Mc1gers iMac 20 Jun 24, 2012 12:25 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC