Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 27, 2012, 12:47 AM   #1
Richdmoore
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Bluray subtitles added to handbrake nightly build.

I saw that the latest handbrake nightly build adds support to burn in bluray subtitles. That is a great feature for those of us who want convert bluray video for use with apple tv & iPads.

https://trac.handbrake.fr/changeset/4605

Revision: 4605
Changes
PGS (bluray) subtitle support \o/

Thanks to patches supplied by David Mitchell and Rob McMullen
we finally have PGS support.

I added a fix for libav pgs timestamp processing and
detection of forced subtitles to their work, then
made foreign audio search work with PGS subs. (detail/Trac)
LinGui: allow the user to select and use a bitrate for audio autopassthru
If the fallback encoder is used, the user should be able to set the
bitrate that is used. (detail/Trac)
LinGui:
Remove Lucid builds.* Add Pangolin. (detail/Trac)
Richdmoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 04:50 AM   #2
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Yep, just tried it, works perfectly, although the gui lists the PGS subs as unknown, so you'll still need to check which track you want in a player.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 06:48 AM   #3
radiogoober
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I'm sorry to be "that guy", but how do I download the latest nightly of HB? I see all the patched files on that list, but I don't see a link to DL a Mac binary. I'm sorry.
radiogoober is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 06:55 AM   #4
heliocentric
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiogoober View Post
I'm sorry to be "that guy", but how do I download the latest nightly of HB? I see all the patched files on that list, but I don't see a link to DL a Mac binary. I'm sorry.
https://build.handbrake.fr/view/Nightlies/
heliocentric is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 07:38 AM   #5
radiogoober
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Thank you!
radiogoober is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 07:54 AM   #6
heliocentric
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiogoober View Post
Thank you!
Let us know how it goes
heliocentric is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 10:20 AM   #7
SpaceCapsule
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
burned or soft ?

PGS subtitles will get burned ones or soft ones once handbrake finished its job ?

Thanks for any answer.

SpaceCapsule is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 11:45 AM   #8
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpaceCapsule View Post
PGS subtitles will get burned ones or soft ones once handbrake finished its job ?

Thanks for any answer.

Depends, if you're converting to mv4 for playback on the ATV then they'll need to be burned-in as the ATV dosen't support image based subs like PGS. If however you're converting to mkv for use in XBMC then either burned-in or soft subs will work.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 12:52 PM   #9
rayward
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Can anyone who has done this post a brief explanation of the process.

(FYI, I encode for ATV use)
__________________
27" iMac (2.93GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD); 64GB iPhone 5S; 32GB iPad Air; 3 x TV3, 2TB WD "My Book Studio XL" HDD; 4TB WD "ShareSpace" NAS
rayward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 01:17 PM   #10
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayward View Post
Can anyone who has done this post a brief explanation of the process.

(FYI, I encode for ATV use)
Although I have not actually had to use it yet, my understanding is that you just need to select the "Foreign Audio Search" under "Track" on the subtitle tab in HB. It will scan for forced subtitles and burn them in if it finds them. Well, thats for an mp4 anyway.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 02:16 PM   #11
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Be aware that as of today , that macgui for hb does not properly turn off or check the boxes for subs when doing pgs particularly mp4.

For instance, it will allow you to not check burn in which means it will fail. If its a pgs source sub then mp4 burn in must be checked (since pgs is not subs do not pass through for mp4 like they do for mkv) so as of right now thats up to the user to do that.

In short: for a PGS sub encoding to mp4 *make sure* you check burned in.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 02:48 PM   #12
KevinC867
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Saratoga, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by roidy View Post
Yep, just tried it, works perfectly, although the gui lists the PGS subs as unknown, so you'll still need to check which track you want in a player.
I just tried it as well. I saw the same "unknowns" in the GUI. However, usually I only want subtitles for the foreign audio sections. I encoded chapter 1 of "The Tourist". I used "Foreign Audio Search" and it worked great. So much easier than what I went through before, tracking down SRT files.
KevinC867 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 04:34 PM   #13
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Yeah, I just tried my Avatar blu-ray and "Foreign Audio Search" wouldn't work, I had to manually select the right sub track. Don't know if the problem is unique to the Avatar disk or the Windows GUI. Still even manually selecting the right subs is a 100 times better than the convoluted method we were forced to use before
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 05:02 PM   #14
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by roidy View Post
Yeah, I just tried my Avatar blu-ray and "Foreign Audio Search" wouldn't work, I had to manually select the right sub track. Don't know if the problem is unique to the Avatar disk or the Windows GUI. Still even manually selecting the right subs is a 100 times better than the convoluted method we were forced to use before
Does the sub font (Papyrus) appear in the transcoded movie as they do in the original?
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 06:17 PM   #15
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Yes, the subs are exactly as they appear on the Blu-ray.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 07:09 PM   #16
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by roidy View Post
Yes, the subs are exactly as they appear on the Blu-ray.
Cool!!! Thanks. Time for me to re-rip and use the nice looking subs instead of the gross downloaded ones.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 12:27 AM   #17
radiogoober
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by roidy View Post
Yes, the subs are exactly as they appear on the Blu-ray.
Sir, do you mind detailing the process for achieving this with the new handbrake?
radiogoober is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 04:49 AM   #18
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiogoober View Post
Sir, do you mind detailing the process for achieving this with the new handbrake?
Sure:-

1. Rip your Bluray with MakeMKV, but only include the subtitle track that you need, as this will make it easier to find in Handbrake.
2. Setup your encode in Handbrake just like you would for any other file.
3. In the Subtitles tab of Handbrake select the subtitle track you want from the dropdown box, it will be listed as unknown, don't worry just select it.
4. Make sure Burned-In is checked and press Add.
5. Encode like normal.

Some people have said that they've got it working by using the "Foreign Audio Search" option, I've had no luck using this but it might work for you. However if you only include the subs you need at the MakeMKV stage then it's not a problem to add the track manually.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 08:37 AM   #19
radiogoober
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by roidy View Post
Sure:-

1. Rip your Bluray with MakeMKV, but only include the subtitle track that you need, as this will make it easier to find in Handbrake.
2. Setup your encode in Handbrake just like you would for any other file.
3. In the Subtitles tab of Handbrake select the subtitle track you want from the dropdown box, it will be listed as unknown, don't worry just select it.
4. Make sure Burned-In is checked and press Add.
5. Encode like normal.

Some people have said that they've got it working by using the "Foreign Audio Search" option, I've had no luck using this but it might work for you. However if you only include the subs you need at the MakeMKV stage then it's not a problem to add the track manually.
Roidy,

Thank you for this explanation. I have a quick question. In MakeMKV, do I need to rip the entire subtitle track, or just the part that is forced subtitles?

Ie, it shows:
[ ] - English Subtitles
\-----[ ] - English Subtitles (Forced)

In MakeMKV, would I select the whole english subtitle or just the forced?
radiogoober is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 09:10 AM   #20
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
You only need to select the forced ones.

Seems there is a problem with the second forced track on Avatar were the subs fail to clear. Use the first sub track but in Handbrake check "Forced Only".

Last edited by roidy; Apr 28, 2012 at 01:40 PM.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 12:31 PM   #21
khollister
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
26 minutes away from completing my own Avatar test - in the over 375 blu-rays I ripped and transcoded, that was the only one BDsup2sub choked on and I had to resort to SRT.
__________________
3.33 GHz 6-core 2010 Mac Pro + 27" ACD
Late 2013 2.3 GHz i7 15" Retina MacBook Pro
iPad 3, iPhone 5C, ATV3
khollister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 01:05 PM   #22
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by khollister View Post
26 minutes away from completing my own Avatar test - in the over 375 blu-rays I ripped and transcoded, that was the only one BDsup2sub choked on and I had to resort to SRT.
I did my first Avatar encode using BDsup2sub without any problems, what exactly went wrong for you?
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 01:05 PM   #23
khollister
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Big problem - the sub stays hung. In the scene where Jake meets Grace and she and Norm exchange Navi greetings, the last subtitle stays on the screen until displaced by another Navi subtitle. I recall reading about this problem in the HB forum a while back. Does not appear to be fixed in the Thur night build.
__________________
3.33 GHz 6-core 2010 Mac Pro + 27" ACD
Late 2013 2.3 GHz i7 15" Retina MacBook Pro
iPad 3, iPhone 5C, ATV3
khollister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 01:22 PM   #24
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Yep, big problem, I just encoded the section you're talking about to check and this is what I found:-

the last line of Navi dialog is "... but there is much to learn."

Playing the Blu-ray the sub starts at 11:19 and clears at 11:21
Playing the MKV in VLC the sub starts at 11:19 and clears at 11:39

I then encoded the section using Handbrake and the sub starts at 11:19 and never clears

Oh, well looks like it's back to the old method until it's sorted
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 01:29 PM   #25
khollister
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
There is some discussion about exactly this in the developer forum - I am reripping with all of the subs to try the full sub track with the "forced" box checked in HB.

https://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=23913
__________________
3.33 GHz 6-core 2010 Mac Pro + 27" ACD
Late 2013 2.3 GHz i7 15" Retina MacBook Pro
iPad 3, iPhone 5C, ATV3

Last edited by khollister; Apr 28, 2012 at 01:45 PM.
khollister is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BluRay Ripping, MakeMKV and Handbrake hackers79 Apple TV and Home Theater 100 Jan 10, 2014 12:00 AM
Handbrake 0.99 and Bluray ripping for ATV3 dante.martins Apple TV and Home Theater 37 Aug 26, 2013 07:21 AM
Bluray Handbrake RF Question countingtozero Apple TV and Home Theater 7 May 15, 2013 09:26 PM
Handbrake nightly build that doesn't crash when encoding DTS passthrough? NMF Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Mar 24, 2013 03:32 PM
Handbrake 21 Sept nightly 4971 mac GUI Bymatt Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Sep 22, 2012 06:11 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC