Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 22, 2012, 03:20 PM   #1
Firesign3394
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota
Can anyone explain how to have 5.1 audio as well as stereo tracks in Subler?

I can't figure it out and I have looked all over the web.

I have an mkv files I try to remux and they are 5.1. Whenever I remux, I get stereo sound. Changing settings doesn't help either.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Firesign3394 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 03:42 PM   #2
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firesign3394 View Post
I can't figure it out and I have looked all over the web.

I have an mkv files I try to remux and they are 5.1. Whenever I remux, I get stereo sound. Changing settings doesn't help either.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
What format is the audio track after remux (AAC, AC3, etc)?
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 03:54 PM   #3
Firesign3394
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota
I want to say ac3 but I could be wrong.
Firesign3394 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 04:02 PM   #4
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
it should look like this at the end



track 1 AAC stereo
track 2 AC3 pass-thru 5.1

if you are using a mac to remux the MKV, then using MP4Tools the following settings will give you the correct result

chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 04:05 PM   #5
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firesign3394 View Post
I want to say ac3 but I could be wrong.
Chenks, gives the way it should look after remux. If it is different than that, let us know the differences and we can work from that info to solve the problem.

Sorry, Chenks, didn't see the bottom of your post before I replied. Like you, I think, I prefer to use mp4tools to remux the mkv to mp4 and add generate a new stereo track.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 04:12 PM   #6
Firesign3394
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota
My mkv files do not have a stereo track, just a 5.1 track. Any thoughts?
Firesign3394 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 04:19 PM   #7
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firesign3394 View Post
My mkv files do not have a stereo track, just a 5.1 track. Any thoughts?
I have not used Subler to add an AAC Prologic II stereo track but I know it has a preference setting to do so. Do you have that preference option selected and the appropriate output type chosen? Oh, and is the input file DD or DTS? I am not 100% sure that Subler works well converting DTS to AAC.

Your very best option is to use MP4Tools to do this. It does not tag metadata however.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 04:21 PM   #8
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
When adding the stereo track are you selecting pass-thru?

When I do remuxing with Subler and have a MKV with AC3 I add the audio track twice. Once to have it as a stereo track and the other to have it as a pass-thru AC3 track.
Diode is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 04:30 PM   #9
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
When adding the stereo track are you selecting pass-thru?

When I do remuxing with Subler and have a MKV with AC3 I add the audio track twice. Once to have it as a stereo track and the other to have it as a pass-thru AC3 track.
But doesn't it have to be AAC stereo for the aTV?
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 08:48 PM   #10
Alrescha
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
I have not used Subler to add an AAC Prologic II stereo track but I know it has a preference setting to do so.
Subler does not have this option (not quite). Subler has an option to convert an AC3 track to an AAC track. Alas, it does not preserve the AC3 track when it does so.

A.
Alrescha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 09:02 PM   #11
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
But doesn't it have to be AAC stereo for the aTV?
You don't need AAC for the ATV. It plays AC3 just fine. I have two tracks - AC3 5.1 for the atv and AAC for my iPad/iPhone.

Then AC3 is selected as pass-thru and the AAC stereo track is converted from the ac3.

The only time I don't use two tracks is when the ac3 track is stereo. Then I just do one AAC file to save space - even though the atv can play a ac3 stereo file.

Last edited by Diode; May 22, 2012 at 09:07 PM.
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 10:26 PM   #12
Firesign3394
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota
Whenever I use MP4Tools, I have the problem outlined in this post: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1373694

I don't have that issue with Subler.

But with Subler I have the audio issue!


This is a snapshot of my settings in Subler. I haven't an option to select stereo or 5.1.

I just tried to take a MP4Tools created file and "optimize" it using Subler but it did not work. I wish MP4Tools would work, considering I paid $5 for it and it works with audio so well.

Any other ideas?
Firesign3394 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 04:08 AM   #13
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firesign3394 View Post
I just tried to take a MP4Tools created file and "optimize" it using Subler but it did not work. I wish MP4Tools would work, considering I paid $5 for it and it works with audio so well.

Any other ideas?
MP4Tools works fine, you must be using it wrong if you are having problems.
See the screengrab of MP4Tools I provided further up the thread - that is how you remux the MKV file to M4V with 5.1 and stereo audio tracks.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 09:03 AM   #14
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
You don't need AAC for the ATV. It plays AC3 just fine. I have two tracks - AC3 5.1 for the atv and AAC for my iPad/iPhone.

Then AC3 is selected as pass-thru and the AAC stereo track is converted from the ac3.

The only time I don't use two tracks is when the ac3 track is stereo. Then I just do one AAC file to save space - even though the atv can play a ac3 stereo file.
I misunderstood what you were saying. I though you were saying you have 2 AC3 tracks, 1 stereo and 1 5.1. That format was not what was "typical" for track structure as usually 1 is AAC stereo and the other is AC3 5.1.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 09:25 AM   #15
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firesign3394 View Post
Whenever I use MP4Tools, I have the problem outlined in this post: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1373694

I don't have that issue with Subler.

But with Subler I have the audio issue!

Image
This is a snapshot of my settings in Subler. I haven't an option to select stereo or 5.1.

I just tried to take a MP4Tools created file and "optimize" it using Subler but it did not work. I wish MP4Tools would work, considering I paid $5 for it and it works with audio so well.

Any other ideas?
The appletv can't play a m4v file with a DTS audio track - you need to convert it to AC3.

While a little complex to initially setup, When I have a mkv file with DTS, I use a script called mkvdtstoac3 to convert the mkv with a dts file to AC3 and then use subler to remux to the file to m4v.

The script:

https://github.com/JakeWharton/mkvdts2ac3

Some instructions to setup:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=836043

When following the instructions, just skip downloading the script from his site and get it from the Jake link I posted.

Once you have everything setup, you simply run "mkvdts2ac3 -n <filename>" in the terminal to recreate the MKV file with the DTS track replaced with a AC3 track.

It's free, works well, and is easy to use (once you have everything set up).

Last edited by Diode; May 23, 2012 at 09:32 AM.
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 10:06 AM   #16
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
The appletv can't play a m4v file with a DTS audio track - you need to convert it to AC3.

While a little complex to initially setup, When I have a mkv file with DTS, I use a script called mkvdtstoac3 to convert the mkv with a dts file to AC3 and then use subler to remux to the file to m4v.

The script:

https://github.com/JakeWharton/mkvdts2ac3

Some instructions to setup:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=836043

When following the instructions, just skip downloading the script from his site and get it from the Jake link I posted.

Once you have everything setup, you simply run "mkvdts2ac3 -n <filename>" in the terminal to recreate the MKV file with the DTS track replaced with a AC3 track.

It's free, works well, and is easy to use (once you have everything set up).
or just use MP4Tools which does everything with the click of a couple of buttons - and it's FREE also.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 11:15 AM   #17
Firesign3394
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
or just use MP4Tools which does everything with the click of a couple of buttons - and it's FREE also.
I would but it causes the issue outlined in the post above. If I could figure out what causes that issue, mp4tools would be great!

I am going to take a snapshot of my mp4tools settings later and post them here to see if I am doing anything wrong. I believe the settings always matched what another poster posted earlier.

I will also try using the script. It looks like that may work!
Firesign3394 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 11:42 AM   #18
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firesign3394 View Post
I would but it causes the issue outlined in the post above. If I could figure out what causes that issue, mp4tools would be great!

I am going to take a snapshot of my mp4tools settings later and post them here to see if I am doing anything wrong. I believe the settings always matched what another poster posted earlier.

I will also try using the script. It looks like that may work!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
or just use MP4Tools which does everything with the click of a couple of buttons - and it's FREE also.
Looks like MP4Tools is buggy with the ATV / high bit rate files.

The only thing I can think of would be to open the file created with MP4Tools in subler after conversion and use it's optimize function to resave the file and see if that works. Or just wait to see if the developer can fix the issue.

In the mean time the script I mentioned will do what you want to do.
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 11:52 AM   #19
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
i've never tried using Subler to remux a MKV file before.
what's the process for doing it in subler?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
The appletv can't play a m4v file with a DTS audio track - you need to convert it to AC3.

While a little complex to initially setup, When I have a mkv file with DTS, I use a script called mkvdtstoac3 to convert the mkv with a dts file to AC3 and then use subler to remux to the file to m4v.

The script:

https://github.com/JakeWharton/mkvdts2ac3

Some instructions to setup:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=836043

When following the instructions, just skip downloading the script from his site and get it from the Jake link I posted.

Once you have everything setup, you simply run "mkvdts2ac3 -n <filename>" in the terminal to recreate the MKV file with the DTS track replaced with a AC3 track.

It's free, works well, and is easy to use (once you have everything set up).
the problem i see with that process though, is that you end up with an M4V file with just 1 audio track (an AC3 5.1 pass-thru track)?
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 12:00 PM   #20
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
i've never tried using Subler to remux a MKV file before.
what's the process for doing it in subler?

----------



the problem i see with that process though, is that you end up with an M4V file with just 1 audio track (an AC3 5.1 pass-thru track)?
Subler will convert AC3 to AAC if you tell it to when adding tracks. Open the MKV file in subler and you can select which tracks to add to a new container. To get a second AAC track, re-add the MKV but only add the audio portion (deslecting the other tracks) and choose AAC instead of pass-thru.

From there you can add meta tags etc

Then just save the new file and it will create a proper m4v or queue it to do multiple at once. Subler will not convert the video track so it needs to be a h264/x264 track nor does it do DTS to AC3 (but I think it might do DTS to AAC).
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 12:11 PM   #21
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
Subler will convert AC3 to AAC if you tell it to when adding tracks. Open the MKV file in subler and you can select which tracks to add to a new container. To get a second AAC track, re-add the MKV but only add the audio portion (deslecting the other tracks) and choose AAC instead of pass-thru.

From there you can add meta tags etc

Then just save the new file and it will create a proper m4v or queue it to do multiple at once. Subler will not convert the video track so it needs to be a h264/x264 track nor does it do DTS to AC3 (but I think it might do DTS to AAC).
I assume you are referring to AAC multichannel, correct? When I have selected that "action" the added track is still titled "DTS 6 channel". Is that the way it should appear and then after remuxing it is changed to AAC multichannel? A little bit confusing.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 12:19 PM   #22
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
trying to follow the instructions that were posted regarding mkvdts2ac3 and having problems at the first hurdle (installing cmake)

Code:
sudo curl -O http://www.cmake.org/files/v2.6/” && cmake_install && tar xvzf  && cmake_install
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
100  4914  100  4914    0     0  12527      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 20647
-bash: cmake_install: command not found
any suggestions?
OSX Lion 10.7.4 with xcode 4.x installed.

plus, i'm having to put "sudo" in front of every command....
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 12:27 PM   #23
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
trying to follow the instructions that were posted regarding mkvdts2ac3 and having problems at the first hurdle (installing cmake)

Code:
sudo curl -O http://www.cmake.org/files/v2.6/” && cmake_install && tar xvzf  && cmake_install
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
100  4914  100  4914    0     0  12527      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 20647
-bash: cmake_install: command not found
any suggestions?
OSX Lion 10.7.4 with xcode 4.x installed.

plus, i'm having to put "sudo" in front of every command....
I would just install it from here:

http://www.cmake.org/files/v2.8/cmak...-universal.dmg

It's a precompiled binary. Look at ixxx69's instructions further down. They are more up to date.
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 12:41 PM   #24
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
ok.... next point of failure is the part for mkvinfo... the zip file doesn't appear to be at that URL any more.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 01:01 PM   #25
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Looks like the problem is with mp4tools is with the video track. So wouldn't this work:
1) create an mp4 with a video track, dts-ma converted to AC3 5.1 and a AAC stereo track using mp4tools
2) open the original mkv in Subler
3) delete all tracks except the video track
3) add only the 2 audio tracks (AC3 5.1 and AAC stereo) from the mp4
4) save
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbrake & Subler and Stereo vs Surround VideoBeagle Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Dec 23, 2013 04:45 AM
Backlight turns on when I change tracks through car stereo seinman iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Dec 4, 2012 11:10 AM
Just got Apogee one, need help recording stereo tracks in Garage Band rchip Digital Audio 5 Nov 25, 2012 10:39 AM
Help with Subler audio conversion nebulight Apple TV and Home Theater 12 Nov 11, 2012 08:20 PM
Subler multiple audio tracks micrors4racer Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Sep 28, 2012 11:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC