Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 23, 2012, 11:43 AM   #1
ivoruest
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Guatemala
Radeon 6770m drivers download recommended

Just to let you know, I managed to download Catalyst 12.4 (windows 7) for my Macbook Pro with the 6770 1Gb graphics and it is just and incredible bump over the Bootcamp Drivers. I seriously recommend installing this drivers which I downloaded from the internet after some googling.

Steps (as I did, works very well)
1. Clean old drivers with Device Manager. Then select the Display Adapters section.
2. Uninstall drivers and restart your mac.
3. Install this drivers. (this ones I used, work much better than BC Drivers)
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download...6f1558d79a48a6
4. After the install, restart your mac again.

Now your games should work better than before with the BC Drivers.

**Note: This is for all those who are not experienced and do not know how to enhance their MBP capability and wish to play more demanding games with their Mac.
Good Luck. Hope this helps!
__________________
Life is tough, then you die...
ivoruest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 12:29 PM   #2
angrydog
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
My 6770m equiped in on the way but I've always been a Nvidia guy; Can't you just install the new drivers over the old and the installer will take care of removing the older drivers?
__________________
MacBook Pro 9.1 [Retina] | 2.6 GHz Quad-Core | 16GB | GT650M | OS X [Mountain Lion] + Windows 7 & iP5 5.1.1 JB'ed [T-Mobile]
angrydog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 12:36 PM   #3
Pentad
macrumors 6502a
 
Pentad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by angrydog View Post
My 6770m equiped in on the way but I've always been a Nvidia guy; Can't you just install the new drivers over the old and the installer will take care of removing the older drivers?
It is never a wise idea to install the video driver in that manner. I'm not saying you can't but most people agree that you should uninstall any video driver and then install the new ones. This is for both nVidia and AMD.

Over the years, there have been issues with Windows not copying over all parts of the new driver due to in-use problems.

This may seem OCD, but I uninstall the drive, then run a cleaner (AMDcleaner or there is an nVidia one), then reboot, and then install the new driver.

YMMV, but I have never had issues with newer drivers under Boot Camp.

Lastly, to the OP, I don't believe many people here realize that you can use the new drivers (and beta drivers).


-P
__________________
2013 15" Macbook Pro Retina * 2.6 Ghz QCore * 16 GB RAM * 1 TB SSD; OS X 10.10; Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit via Boot Camp ;
Pentad is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 01:09 PM   #4
ivoruest
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Guatemala
I totally agree with you, Pentad. Thats why I posted this tread. I hope it helps all those who didn't know about this.

I do have one small concern btw. When I installed the drivers it recognizes my graphics card as a HD 6700m Series but not as a 6770m (the actual one). Do you know how to fix this?
__________________
Life is tough, then you die...
ivoruest is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 01:29 PM   #5
weemanpow3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivoruest View Post
I do have one small concern btw. When I installed the drivers it recognizes my graphics card as a HD 6700m Series but not as a 6770m (the actual one). Do you know how to fix this?
That's how it's supposed to be.

"AMD Radeon 6600M and 6700M Series"
__________________
cMBP 15" 2.6GHz 650m/1gb | iPhone 5S 16GB
weemanpow3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 02:17 PM   #6
definitive
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
...and a word of warning for those who play Diablo3: these drivers don't work properly with it.
definitive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 07:04 PM   #7
theBostonian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivoruest View Post
Just to let you know, I managed to download Catalyst 12.4 (windows 7) for my Macbook Pro with the 6770 1Gb graphics and it is just and incredible bump over the Bootcamp Drivers. I seriously recommend installing this drivers which I downloaded from the internet after some googling.

Steps (as I did, works very well)
1. Clean old drivers with Device Manager. Then select the Display Adapters section.
2. Uninstall drivers and restart your mac.
3. Install this drivers. (this ones I used, work much better than BC Drivers)
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download...6f1558d79a48a6
4. After the install, restart your mac again.

Now your games should work better than before with the BC Drivers.

**Note: This is for all those who are not experienced and do not know how to enhance their MBP capability and wish to play more demanding games with their Mac.
Good Luck. Hope this helps!
Does it not matter that this isn't the mobility catalyst app but the desktop one?

The app I usually use is XX-X_mobility_vista_win7_64_dd_ccc_ocl.exe
theBostonian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 08:23 PM   #8
ivoruest
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Guatemala
I guess not because it recognizes the video card as a Mobility card. So I guess its a "universal" catalyst sort of... but is working good.
__________________
Life is tough, then you die...
ivoruest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 09:24 PM   #9
Jimbogiant
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by definitive View Post
...and a word of warning for those who play Diablo3: these drivers don't work properly with it.
FWIW I have a 6750m running on WHQL 12.4 drivers and Diablo III gets 40-50 FPS on high textures/physics, low shadows/clutter, and Low FX checked, no AA. No glitches or anything that I've encountered. IDK if the 6770m specifically has the problem though.

James
Jimbogiant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 11:27 PM   #10
angrydog
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I'm having a problem; I removed the drivers and used drivesweeper and then I installed these latest drivers; after reboot, the brightness adjustment buttons are dysfunctional and the option to adjust screen brightness on the bootcamp panel is missing. They work once I rollback to Bootcamp 4.0 drivers; Some help please?
__________________
MacBook Pro 9.1 [Retina] | 2.6 GHz Quad-Core | 16GB | GT650M | OS X [Mountain Lion] + Windows 7 & iP5 5.1.1 JB'ed [T-Mobile]
angrydog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2012, 08:13 PM   #11
ivoruest
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Guatemala
Quote:
Originally Posted by angrydog View Post
I'm having a problem; I removed the drivers and used drivesweeper and then I installed these latest drivers; after reboot, the brightness adjustment buttons are dysfunctional and the option to adjust screen brightness on the bootcamp panel is missing. They work once I rollback to Bootcamp 4.0 drivers; Some help please?
Just try to remove the drivers with the windows tool and re-install the new one. Everything working with mine. I know some older files stay and may not be the best way but in my case it works well.
__________________
Life is tough, then you die...
ivoruest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2012, 09:51 PM   #12
Erasmus
macrumors 68020
 
Erasmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia, Where Omnius can't find me!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbogiant View Post
FWIW I have a 6750m running on WHQL 12.4 drivers and Diablo III gets 40-50 FPS on high textures/physics, low shadows/clutter, and Low FX checked, no AA. No glitches or anything that I've encountered. IDK if the 6770m specifically has the problem though.

James
FWIW I have a 6750M OC'd to 800/900 MHz, and am running Diablo 3 at 1920x1200 (17") with everything maxed. Finished the game, smooth frame rates at all times. Minimum fps high 20's in Act 2, everywhere else mid-high 30's.

I think I'm rollin' WHQL 12.1.
__________________
Had: 450 MHz G4 Cube, then 15" Dual 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro
Have: 17" Quad 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro, Home-built Windows 4.2 GHz, SLI 780 PC
Want: 2014 Retina iPad Mini
Erasmus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2012, 06:03 PM   #13
angrydog
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivoruest View Post
Just try to remove the drivers with the windows tool and re-install the new one. Everything working with mine. I know some older files stay and may not be the best way but in my case it works well.
Did that, and still no go. Another issue I have is I installed Max Payne via bootcamp; It played beautifully on High settings. Well I did a restart and now the game is lagging hard! It worked charmingly after another random reboot. This random jitterness also happened in Tropico 4. I now know why I never bought a ATi card in my life.
__________________
MacBook Pro 9.1 [Retina] | 2.6 GHz Quad-Core | 16GB | GT650M | OS X [Mountain Lion] + Windows 7 & iP5 5.1.1 JB'ed [T-Mobile]
angrydog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2012, 04:53 AM   #14
Raschke
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Hey
Which driver should i download?? And don't know so much abot all this so... Should i pick one from the website u linked http://downloads.guru3d.com/downloadget.php?id=2905&file=1&evp=b2350570a2c443764d6f1558d79a48a6 and which one in there. Or should i get it from a whole other website?? Like AMD's website. I just want this because every time i load BF3 on my mac, it says '' You only have the 11.1 (or something) And the recommeded is 11.7 or higher'' So just link me a website with a good driver that owns playing BF3! (My BF3 isnt that fast anymore and starts crashing... ) And i will follow the 4 steps
Raschke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2012, 12:12 PM   #15
ivoruest
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Guatemala
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raschke View Post
Hey
Which driver should i download?? And don't know so much abot all this so... Should i pick one from the website u linked http://downloads.guru3d.com/download...6f1558d79a48a6 and which one in there. Or should i get it from a whole other website?? Like AMD's website. I just want this because every time i load BF3 on my mac, it says '' You only have the 11.1 (or something) And the recommeded is 11.7 or higher'' So just link me a website with a good driver that owns playing BF3! (My BF3 isnt that fast anymore and starts crashing... ) And i will follow the 4 steps
I recommend downloading it from the link I posted. Those are the certified drivers and the ones I'm using now. They work pretty well.

It is not possible to download them from the AMD site because it will download a tool that won't let you. Good luck and any questions feel free to ask.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by angrydog View Post
Did that, and still no go. Another issue I have is I installed Max Payne via bootcamp; It played beautifully on High settings. Well I did a restart and now the game is lagging hard! It worked charmingly after another random reboot. This random jitterness also happened in Tropico 4. I now know why I never bought a ATi card in my life.
1- Uninstall the game. Make sure it left no files behind.
2- Reboot.
3- Uninstall the drivers again with the windows tool.
4- Reboot.
5- Make sure no trace of the drivers is left in the computer. Driver sweeper can help here.
6- Reboot.
7- Re install the drivers (12.4) and make sure Windows recognizes them. GPU-Z can help you with this.
8- Reboot.
9- Then Install the game. This way it should work.

Good luck.
__________________
Life is tough, then you die...
ivoruest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 02:03 AM   #16
azael
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by angrydog View Post
Did that, and still no go. Another issue I have is I installed Max Payne via bootcamp; It played beautifully on High settings. Well I did a restart and now the game is lagging hard! It worked charmingly after another random reboot. This random jitterness also happened in Tropico 4. I now know why I never bought a ATi card in my life.
Any luck with that? I got the same issue with GTA IV - first run 40fps on high details, reboot and second run 8fps on the same settings, 17fps on very low settings...

I didn't touch my drivers since last month.
azael is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 02:10 AM   #17
w00t951
macrumors 68000
 
w00t951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 116th & Broadway
Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 seem to hate my AMD 6750M with 12.4. It's quite irritating that I must hunt for cracked drivers as AMD is too lazy to add the 6750M's hardware profile to their driver packages.

I tried running those games and, even with low/medium settings and no AA/anisotropic filtering, I get 20-30 FPS. It even does so with an over clock.

What temperatures are you guys getting? My GPU seems to be hovering around the mid to high 80C point.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" Retina, Nexus 5, Nugget of Power (i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, GTX 780 @ 1202/6800MHz)
w00t951 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 02:15 AM   #18
angrydog
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by azael View Post
Any luck with that? I got the same issue with GTA IV - first run 40fps on high details, reboot and second run 8fps on the same settings, 17fps on very low settings...

I didn't touch my drivers since last month.
It honestly works soo randomly. I restart, I open a video file and then go play the game and all is well 'sometimes'. I really need to trace down the root of the problem once I get some spare time. Glad but not really glad, to see I'm not the only one with the problem as I haven't seen the problem reported any where else.
__________________
MacBook Pro 9.1 [Retina] | 2.6 GHz Quad-Core | 16GB | GT650M | OS X [Mountain Lion] + Windows 7 & iP5 5.1.1 JB'ed [T-Mobile]
angrydog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 08:46 AM   #19
azael
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by angrydog View Post
It honestly works soo randomly. I restart, I open a video file and then go play the game and all is well 'sometimes'. I really need to trace down the root of the problem once I get some spare time. Glad but not really glad, to see I'm not the only one with the problem as I haven't seen the problem reported any where else.
I got the same issue with Bastion an LIMBO. For Bastion I have to force windowed mode without border (so it is like fullscreen actually when you have window with monitors resolution) and for LIMBO in ATI card preferences I set that everything is controlled by application (in other options I set 'performance' instead of 'quailty') and these games works fine.

Sadly I have no idea what to do with GTAIV...
azael is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 12:25 PM   #20
angrydog
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivoruest View Post

1- Uninstall the game. Make sure it left no files behind.
2- Reboot.
3- Uninstall the drivers again with the windows tool.
4- Reboot.
5- Make sure no trace of the drivers is left in the computer. Driver sweeper can help here.
6- Reboot.
7- Re install the drivers (12.4) and make sure Windows recognizes them. GPU-Z can help you with this.
8- Reboot.
9- Then Install the game. This way it should work.

Good luck.
I did all that and 3 times and used driversweeper too on the 4th try. At the end, it was so bad that the drivers would not install; only the cataylst control panel would install. Then I tried the AMD Rage Performance Driver and all was well, but I want to use the latest drivers (not some from Oct. 2011) so I then used your linked drivers and finally upgraded. Now I think the problem seems to have disappeared as Tropico 4 opens up fine now.
__________________
MacBook Pro 9.1 [Retina] | 2.6 GHz Quad-Core | 16GB | GT650M | OS X [Mountain Lion] + Windows 7 & iP5 5.1.1 JB'ed [T-Mobile]
angrydog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 06:54 PM   #21
ivoruest
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Guatemala
So I haven't been playing a lot because I've been busy a lot. But last night I did had some small lagging with GTAIV. My settings are not to high but still the game doesn't run as it should. I do think the 6770m 1Gb paired with Core i7 Sandy Bridge @ 2.4Ghz and 8Gbs of ram should be more than enought to run this game. But still it won't run as it should. I've read this game isn't very well coded and many complain about it. Other games so far have run very good. I've tried Portal 2 and Starcraft both on High settings. The Macbook Pro does get pretty hot indeed but still can handle this two very nicely. I don't understand what is the problem.

Drivers are working even better than on OS X Lion. To prove this I run Unigine Heaven Benchmark on both Mac OS X and on Windows. I put both on OpenGL rendering to make them the most alike and I got about 2-10 more FPS on Windows with Catalyst 12.4 than on OS X. I know its not a lot but it was fairly constant. So it does make a difference.

** I know the comparison is not the best nor the most fair between OS but it can give you an idea.
__________________
Life is tough, then you die...
ivoruest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2012, 09:41 PM   #22
nudoru
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
This didn't work for me. I uninstalled the Bootcamp drivers and then rebooted, windows installed the standard VGA drivers. Installed the ATI ones but the computer wouldn't detect them - I couldn't get it off of the VGA driver mode. Is there a trick?
nudoru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2012, 12:05 PM   #23
azael
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
GTA IV is working well again (and I hope it will work as long as possible).

I've installed AMD Catalyst 12.6 Beta (8.98 June 4) and everything works fine (at least for now).
I won't put a link here, because it's beta, so you're installing it on your own risk.

Thanks for all the previous tips!
azael is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2012, 01:40 PM   #24
Jens Engels
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by azael View Post
GTA IV is working well again (and I hope it will work as long as possible).

I've installed AMD Catalyst 12.6 Beta (8.98 June 4) and everything works fine (at least for now).
I won't put a link here, because it's beta, so you're installing it on your own risk.

Thanks for all the previous tips!
I have exactly the same problem, after updating to 12.4 drivers, sometimes fps is around 40, and after a reboot, it's all laggy. randomly changes. i hope the new 12.6 goes out of beta soon , will you let us know ?

what are your overclock settings?
Jens Engels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 04:53 AM   #25
riderword11
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Help Please

I really need some help guys.
I know it may be a stupid question but how do I uninstall the drivers? After I go to Device Manager what do I do?
riderword11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Tags
drivers 6770m, macbook pro 15"

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Underclock/undervolt discreet gfx? (AMD Radeon HD 6770M) canhaz MacBook Pro 11 May 2, 2013 06:36 PM
AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512MB video card hackletip iMac 5 Sep 25, 2012 07:27 PM
AMD Radeon HD 6770M with 512MB performance? MagicThief83 iMac 38 Jul 5, 2012 03:23 PM
15" MBP 2.40Ghz i7, 4GB, 750GB HD, Radeon HD 6770M 1GB - 160 off - Buy it or wait? leelum MacBook Pro 6 Jun 6, 2012 08:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC