Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 30, 2012, 05:07 AM   #1
GUCCIMAN
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Jailbroke ipad 3, stuck at apple logo screen?!

Hi everyone, So i'm kinda panicking...

i jailbroke my ipad using absinthe and it worked great for a few days.. until just now i installed something off cydia and it made my ipad stuck on the apple logo when i try and restart...

basically i can't access my ipad at all, i plug it in and try to restore, itunes says it can't locate ipad after the package is validated or whatever..

i try and enter it into DFU... plug it into itunes and i get 1600 error..

what can i do

i used tinyumbrella to try and enter/exit recovery too no dice

Last edited by GUCCIMAN; May 30, 2012 at 05:09 AM. Reason: *Crap. thought i put this in the right subforum. :( sorry.
GUCCIMAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 05:15 AM   #2
Dane9
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Be carefully installing things from cydia , it can brick your iPad if you don't do the things correctly
Dane9 is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 05:17 AM   #3
GUCCIMAN
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dane9 View Post
Be carefully installing things from cydia , it can brick your iPad if you don't do the things correctly
once it's bricked.. is that SOL?
GUCCIMAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 05:24 AM   #4
Dane9
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Go to warranty , if iTunes don't recognize ... I think you will not be able to restore
Dane9 is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 05:27 AM   #5
GUCCIMAN
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
when i plug it into my itunes, it under the area where it shows how much space you use it accounts for the space i used in my device, but its not in segments or broken up, its just one yellow bar of used, and another color of unuse :/

if i bring it to apple, would they know i jail broke it?
And it's already been past 14/15 days since i bought the ipad, do i still have warranty?
GUCCIMAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 05:39 AM   #6
Ccrew
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUCCIMAN View Post
when i plug it into my itunes, it under the area where it shows how much space you use it accounts for the space i used in my device, but its not in segments or broken up, its just one yellow bar of used, and another color of unuse :/

if i bring it to apple, would they know i jail broke it?
And it's already been past 14/15 days since i bought the ipad, do i still have warranty?
You have warranty for a year. Two if you buy Applecare +. If it's bricked and they can't get it to come up they'll probably never know it's jb'ed, but always keep in mind (and be sure to neglect to mention when taking in for service ) that jailbreaking does indeed void the warranty
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 05:46 AM   #7
GUCCIMAN
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
is there anything i could do to wipe the ipad 3? (besides restore in itunes)
GUCCIMAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 05:58 AM   #8
taipan61
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: corner starbucks
with everything you've said you tried i doubt that you'll be able to wipe it, just take it in to apple and show them it's stuck on the logo screen, see what they'll do for you
taipan61 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 06:06 AM   #9
Donka
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUCCIMAN View Post
Hi everyone, So i'm kinda panicking...

i jailbroke my ipad using absinthe and it worked great for a few days.. until just now i installed something off cydia and it made my ipad stuck on the apple logo when i try and restart...

basically i can't access my ipad at all, i plug it in and try to restore, itunes says it can't locate ipad after the package is validated or whatever..

i try and enter it into DFU... plug it into itunes and i get 1600 error..

what can i do

i used tinyumbrella to try and enter/exit recovery too no dice
Try DFU and plugging into iTunes again. 1600 error is not terminal, iti s usually a temporary issue. Try another USB port for example.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
Donka is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 07:18 AM   #10
orisonmarden
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
If u have windows, try to restore it from windows. Works for me
orisonmarden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 07:57 AM   #11
Mercury6
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lebanon
Restore in itunes then jailbreak again.
__________________
Mercury6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 08:42 AM   #12
MythicFrost
macrumors 68040
 
MythicFrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Keep trying to restore from DFU.
MythicFrost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 08:47 AM   #13
ZipZap
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dane9 View Post
Be carefully installing things from cydia , it can brick your iPad if you don't do the things correctly
Its is 99.999% impossible to brick a device.
ZipZap is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 09:45 AM   #14
PrayForDeath
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZipZap View Post
Its is 99.999% impossible to brick a device.
This

Worst case scenario, you'll have to restore and re-jailbreak. If you can't restore, look up the itunes error online and see how to fix it.
PrayForDeath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 07:04 PM   #15
arterio
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Try this. Start with you iPad powered on and unplugged from your computer.

1) Press and hold both the power and the home button until the screen goes black.

2) Launch iTunes

3) Connect the iPad to the computer

4) When the iPad appears in iTunes select it and press the restore button

This should get you started with the restore process.

Your iPad is not "bricked". It's basically impossible to do that. If you can't restore it on your computer, try another computer that hasn't jailbroken a device in the past. Sometimes the hosts file gets messed up and causes issues restoring firmware.
arterio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 07:16 PM   #16
xraytech
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUCCIMAN View Post
Hi everyone, So i'm kinda panicking...

i jailbroke my ipad using absinthe and it worked great for a few days.. until just now i installed something off cydia and it made my ipad stuck on the apple logo when i try and restart...

basically i can't access my ipad at all, i plug it in and try to restore, itunes says it can't locate ipad after the package is validated or whatever..

i try and enter it into DFU... plug it into itunes and i get 1600 error..

what can i do

i used tinyumbrella to try and enter/exit recovery too no dice
Is that the 1st time you hav used TinyUmbrella?
xraytech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 07:42 PM   #17
dieburnbot
macrumors 6502a
 
dieburnbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CA
Hold Volume Up while it boots.

That will bypass mobile substrate and and hopefully let you get in with the bad extension disabled.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus 128GB SilveriPhone 5 64GB WhiteiPhone 4S 64GB WhiteiPad 3rd Gen 64GB AT&T BlackiPhone 4 32GB BlackiPhone 3G 8GB
dieburnbot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 08:00 PM   #18
Night Spring
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Check your hosts file, as per #2 in the following tutorial.
http://www.ipadforums.net/jailbreaki...rsion-ios.html
Night Spring is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 09:18 PM   #19
AshtonTS
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
You could download iexplorer and delete the files from the package u installed. I had to do this once on an old iPod touch
AshtonTS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 08:54 AM   #20
XxGoldengrimxX
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
dude thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dieburnbot View Post
Hold Volume Up while it boots.

That will bypass mobile substrate and and hopefully let you get in with the bad extension disabled.
but now how do i load up my extentions so i can locate the bad one im able to launch cydia and respring without issue but i just would like back my things
XxGoldengrimxX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 09:09 AM   #21
TriJetHero
macrumors 601
 
TriJetHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: World
in safe-mode install sbsettings

in SBsettings go to more/mobile substrate Addons

disable all addons,
now restart phone normally

again go in to sbesettings more/m s a
1 by 1 turn on the addons till you find the bad 1

when you have found it, go into safe mode again, turn it on and tahn delete it
__________________
iPhone 6 iOS 8.0 Stock
iPhone 5 iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 4 3G iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 2 WIFI iOS 8.0 GM
TriJetHero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 09:46 AM   #22
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Start with removing the last Cydia hack you installed before it failed to boot.
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: jailbroken iPhone 4 with Apple logo stuck on screen shota Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 18 May 8, 2013 02:34 AM
Stuck On White Screen And Apple Logo danefc98 MacBook Air 4 Apr 9, 2013 08:52 PM
iPhone: Jailbroke fine, installed bitesms and now i just rebooted now stuck at apple logo shenan1982 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 33 Feb 5, 2013 12:07 PM
Stuck on Apple logo screen w/ spinning eisis MacBook 1 Jun 28, 2012 08:21 PM
iphone 3g stuck on green screen and apple logo blueezee78 iPhone 2 Jun 8, 2012 12:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC