Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 25, 2012, 12:37 PM   #1
Jonnymyles
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Macbook pro retina not sleeping

Sometimes when i close the lid on my RMBP the apple light on the back stays on, then when i open the lid back up it is a black screen with the cursor still on and able to move, this then causes me to have to restart the machine. is this a know issue?

cheers
Jonnymyles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 12:38 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
You may find some useful ideas here:

Mac OS X: Why your Mac might not sleep or stay in sleep mode
Determine why your Mac wakes up from sleep
One sleep problem caused by printers - solved ... and another
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 12:46 PM   #3
Jonnymyles
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
thanks but it doesn't seem to be any of them, i have nothing running when i put it to sleep, and as i said when i open the lid the screen is black and it just has th cursor! i have to force a shut down before it will work again
Jonnymyles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 12:48 PM   #4
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnymyles View Post
thanks but it doesn't seem to be any of them, i have nothing running when i put it to sleep,
There's always something running.
  1. Launch Activity Monitor
  2. Change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes"
  3. Click on the CPU column heading once or twice, so the arrow points downward (highest values on top).
  4. Click on the System Memory tab at the bottom.
  5. Take a screen shot of the whole Activity Monitor window, then scroll down to see the rest of the list, take another screen shot
  6. Post your screenshots.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 12:56 PM   #5
Jonnymyles
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I think i might have narrowed down the problem to gfxstatus, i have removed it and but my mac to sleep 10 times now with out a problem. thanks for your help though and i will post again if i have any more issues with it

cheers
Jonnymyles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 12:58 PM   #6
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnymyles View Post
I think i might have narrowed down the problem to gfxstatus, i have removed it and but my mac to sleep 10 times now with out a problem. thanks for your help though and i will post again if i have any more issues with it
Glad you got it resolved (hopefully!).
GGJstudios is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 01:09 PM   #7
Jonnymyles
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
sadly not solved here is a screen shot of what is using any cpu
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-06-25 at 19.06.54.png
Views:	207
Size:	270.8 KB
ID:	345003  
Jonnymyles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 01:11 PM   #8
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnymyles View Post
sadly not solved here is a screen shot of what is using any cpu
Your screen shot cuts off useful information. Please capture the entire Activity Monitor Window.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 01:16 PM   #9
Jonnymyles
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
that better? cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-06-25 at 19.14.15.png
Views:	86
Size:	882.7 KB
ID:	345005   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-06-25 at 19.14.22.png
Views:	28
Size:	872.9 KB
ID:	345006   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-06-25 at 19.14.26.png
Views:	32
Size:	873.2 KB
ID:	345007  

Jonnymyles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 01:20 PM   #10
Jonnymyles
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
This says there is nothing stopping it going to idle if that helps?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-06-25 at 19.17.58.png
Views:	218
Size:	2.20 MB
ID:	345009  
Jonnymyles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 01:27 PM   #11
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnymyles View Post
that better? cheers
Much better and far more useful, even though the System Memory tab isn't showing. I don't see any obvious culprit, based on those shots. Have you verified there's nothing in a print queue, as described in the other links I posted? You might also look at Console.app to see if there are any log messages that might point to the problem.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 01:40 PM   #12
Jonnymyles
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
just found 25/06/2012 17:47:23.000 kernel: Sleep failure code 0x00000000 0x31000000
in console?
Jonnymyles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 01:45 PM   #13
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnymyles View Post
just found 25/06/2012 17:47:23.000 kernel: Sleep failure code 0x00000000 0x31000000
in console?
I'd do some Googling to see if others have reported problems/resolutions. Here's an example of what I found by searching for "sleep failure code Mac". I didn't read it all, but it may be helpful.

Sleep failure code 0x00000000 0x1f006900: Apple Support Communities
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 02:15 PM   #14
Jonnymyles
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
couldn't really find a lot, i think if it continues i will just take it in to the apple store!
Jonnymyles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 02:16 PM   #15
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnymyles View Post
couldn't really find a lot, i think if it continues i will just take it in to the apple store!
That sounds like a good plan! Good luck with it!
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 04:51 PM   #16
Tibits
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnymyles View Post
Sometimes when i close the lid on my RMBP the apple light on the back stays on, then when i open the lid back up it is a black screen with the cursor still on and able to move, this then causes me to have to restart the machine. is this a know issue?
I am having the same issue. It takes up to 30 seconds to fully sleep with the black screen and cursor on. However, it does wake from sleep instantly.

I am going to look into this tonight. Of course I didn't notice this until I had transitioned the MBPR to be my primary machine. Grrrrrrr....

Interesting that I also have gfx installed.
Tibits is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 07:52 PM   #17
Tibits
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
My Issue Solved!

I was able to isolate the file (com.seagate.SeagateStorageGauge.plist) in the following location Go Menu > Computer >Macintosh HD > Library > LaunchAgents folder. I removed the file and my machine sleeps instantly now. The offending file was installed along with software to manage my Seagate GoFlex USB 3.0 external drive. I shouldn't need it.

You can try to reset the SMC (that didn't help me), but it is unlikely this would be the issue in a brand new machine. Otherwise, the issue is most likely in one of the following locations:
  • System Preferences > Users & Groups > Login Items
  • Go Menu> hold Option > Library > LaunchAgents folder
  • Go Menu > Macintosh HD > Library > LaunchAgents; LaunchDaemons: StartupItems folders
Go through these locations, removing items or temporarily renaming the folders one at a time, restarting and testing sleep after each change, to isolate the issue.

Last edited by Tibits; Jun 26, 2012 at 06:02 AM.
Tibits is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 07:24 AM   #18
Jonnymyles
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
ah i will have a look for that later as i use a external seagate drive! cheers
Jonnymyles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 07:35 AM   #19
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Try not to install any garbage like that in the future. You don't need anything extra to manage your single external drives. Dodgy (yet legit) third party software is the number one reason for people having issues in OSX and Windows.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 07:57 AM   #20
Tibits
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeb View Post
Try not to install any garbage like that in the future. You don't need anything extra to manage your single external drives. Dodgy (yet legit) third party software is the number one reason for people having issues in OSX and Windows.
Yep, but sometimes the stuff practically self installs. However you are right, in terms of the simple Seagate external USB it is not necessary. However I do find the utility for my Promise Pegasus RAID fairly indispensable.
Tibits is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 10:52 AM   #21
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
[MOD NOTE]
Please stay on topic and stop the bickering.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 11:16 AM   #22
Jonnymyles
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
had a look, didn't have anything in that folder, i have reset the smc and no problems so far fingers crossed
Jonnymyles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2012, 06:58 AM   #23
psynnott
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland
Having the exact same issues as OP. I have reset SMC but gfxstatus still installed. Will uninstall tonight and reset SMC and see if it fixes it.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD
iPhone 5s 64GB iPad Air Wifi 128GB
psynnott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2012, 08:57 AM   #24
Intenost
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Having a similar issue. In my case when I close the lid or leave it open and use the Sleep option on the Apple menu, the system appears to sleep but the after maybe 10 seconds the fans go full bore and don't stop until I wake the system.

The system wakes slowly. The CPU is pegged and the kernal_task process is using almost 600% of the CPU.

Nothing obvious in the console logs there are no entries while the system is "sleeping" but obviously the CPU is doing something.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
Intenost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2012, 10:43 AM   #25
psynnott
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Belfast, N. Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by psynnott View Post
Having the exact same issues as OP. I have reset SMC but gfxstatus still installed. Will uninstall tonight and reset SMC and see if it fixes it.
update: uninstalled gfxcardstatus and its all working fine now!
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD
iPhone 5s 64GB iPad Air Wifi 128GB
psynnott is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC